Customer Reviews for

Hear No Evil: My Story of Innocence, Music, and the Holy Ghost

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    A quick read, yet funny!

    Honestly I was not sure what to except from this book. I was not entirely sure I would like it. It was a nice read though, and I loved that it had me laughing in spots. Nothing like a good book that gets you laughing. (especially when you are in a doctors office and everyone stares at you) It is a fairly quick read as well. I was able to finish it after a couple time of waiting at appointments. I have always found music to play a big role in my life. So it was nice to hear someone else feel the same. Do you ever feel like music is talking to you?

    I blog for WaterBrook Multnomah Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    not my cup of tea for sure

    I would like to be able to tell you that this was a great book and that I enjoyed reading it. However, to be totally honest the best part (and my personal favorite) of this book was the end. Because that meant it was over. I highly suggest if you are an Independent Fundamental Baptist; don't read this book. I'm sure he might not have wanted it to seem this way (but then again maybe he did) but it seemed to me like most of the book was about him "bashing" that faith. He grew up in an IFB church. Tie that in with the trip to the bar to have a beer with his "Christian" (very loosely using that term) buddy; this book really did not set well with me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny Yet Faith-Building

    I loved this book. I read all the good parts aloud to my mate, which was pretty much the entire thing. While I wasn't raised in a fundamentalist Christian church, I was surrounded by enough people who were that I could relate to Matthew's bewilderment over arbitrary restrictions and the apparent inability of the adults in the church to answer his belief and faith questions with any words beyond:

    * "Because I said so."
    * "This is the way we've always done it."
    * "Just do as you're told."

    And no matter what our religious backgrounds, we can all relate to the inconsistencies between church politics, church leadership, and church doctrine. Matthew highlights what is good and bad in religion today and does so with wry-wit, compassion and grace. More often then not, Matthew pokes fun at himself and his own search for truth, and through it all, he talks about how contemporary Christian music moved him from salvation through legalism to salvation by grace. This is a great book.

    This is a great book. I recommend it for both entertainment and spiritual growth. I would like to thank the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for providing me with a free copy of this book for my review. All opinions are 100% mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Hear No Evil by Matthew Paul Turner might as well be the story of my own childhood in a fundamental Baptist church. As he related his stories about secretly listening to Sandi Patti and his joy upon finding a similar person in his church, I recalled my own days of hiding Steve Green cd's under my bed when friends from church came over. Not only was Hear No Evil a trip down memory lane for me, but a reminder of the grace God showed to me in removing me from that situation.

    I laughed through many chapters and fought back tears through others. Turner's writing is real, witty, challenging without being preachy, and has an infusion of his experience of grace. Hear No Evil is a quick, enjoyable read bound to make you reflect on not only music, but what it means to be a believer in Jesus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    Inviting look into Turner's spiritual journey

    I will be honest,I was a little hesitant to read this book. Christian Living is not the usual genre I choose to read. I don't have anything against it, just not always interested. Then I read the summary and thought it sounded interesting and not too "churchy". I am glad I gave it a shot.


    Hear No Evil is a beautifully written memoir that invites you into the author's life. His writing is smooth and natural, it like I was having a conversation with him rather than reading his memoir. Turner has a great sense of humor and successfully told his coming of age story in a way that was entertaining and honest. While it is about his spiritual journey, there is never a feeling of preaching or the "churchy" feeling I was worried about. Readers of all faiths and spiritual backgrounds would enjoy this entertaining and light hearted memoir.


    I mean, who wouldn't want to read a story about a guy, who at the age of 11, thought God was calling him to become the "Michael Jackson of Christian music"? That image alone was enough to pique my interest!


    Turner's experience in the Christian music industry lends an insider look into the relationship between music and spirituality. His insights and reflections on his own musical/spiritual journey are very humorous and humbling. Turner's storytelling ability easily transports the reader back to various points in his life where music played a key role in becoming the person he is today.


    I highly recommend Hear No Evil to anyone looking for a quick, humorous read about life and music. It truly was a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So funny and insightful

    I read this wonderful book in two sittings! It was so good, so funny, and very insightful. As a music lover myself, I really could relate to how music plays such a huge part in our lives. I laughed so hard at some of the stories he told about his growing up years and the music he did or didn't listen to.

    When he follows a direction that he's certain God has told him to go, it's hilarious. We all know it's not going to work, but he's certain as a young man that it will. The experiences he encountered while pursuing his music are both funny but help him to grow at the same time.

    Even though I grew up in a different era than Mr. Turner, I could relate to his feelings about how music influenced his life and how it was such a vital part of his life and continues to be so. The right kind of music can even help us to grow closer to God.

    I highly recommend this book. You'll love it because it's so insightful and so funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1