Customer Reviews for

Heart Divided, A: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Characters that Grip your heart and a story of how love and faith can bring an end to bitterness and strife

A Heart Divided has just launched a new must read author for me. Although romances can get sappy and boring with the same old plots wrung out and ironed into a "new" book. Kathleen has proven with A Heart Divided that there are authors who have unique ideas and write a ...
A Heart Divided has just launched a new must read author for me. Although romances can get sappy and boring with the same old plots wrung out and ironed into a "new" book. Kathleen has proven with A Heart Divided that there are authors who have unique ideas and write a story that will draw readers in as well as hold their attention. Sarah, Danny, Nic, Cord and the staff at Castle Mountain Ranch quickly found a new home in my heart as characters I look forward to following in the future and it looks like I won't be disappointed by this turning out to be a standalone book. Kathleen first carries us back to the day Sarah's father tried taking back the land he lost in a poker game. Following this lead in to the feud which wouldn't end, readers are transported nearly two decades forward. Sarah now 18 has become mother hen to her family of stubborn men since her mother's loss but can't seem to convince them that moving on instead of continuing to cultivate a bitter root would make their lives much more peaceful. Morgan develops not only the continuing feud but maneuvers her characters into a love triangle between the Wainwright brothers and Sarah. As the story continues to develop Sarah finds herself caught between two more stubborn men when neither will admit their feelings but each has decided the other should have her. You'll have to get your own copy of this book to find out whether Sarah manages to win over any of the stubborn men she has to put up with in this book and how the events this novel spans can renew the characters' stumbling faith.

posted by ForstRose on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Blank

I really enjoy Kathleen Morgan and was looking forward to reading another one of her books. I was very disappointed when it turned out to be all blank :(

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Characters that Grip your heart and a story of how love and faith can bring an end to bitterness and strife

    A Heart Divided has just launched a new must read author for me. Although romances can get sappy and boring with the same old plots wrung out and ironed into a "new" book. Kathleen has proven with A Heart Divided that there are authors who have unique ideas and write a story that will draw readers in as well as hold their attention. Sarah, Danny, Nic, Cord and the staff at Castle Mountain Ranch quickly found a new home in my heart as characters I look forward to following in the future and it looks like I won't be disappointed by this turning out to be a standalone book. Kathleen first carries us back to the day Sarah's father tried taking back the land he lost in a poker game. Following this lead in to the feud which wouldn't end, readers are transported nearly two decades forward. Sarah now 18 has become mother hen to her family of stubborn men since her mother's loss but can't seem to convince them that moving on instead of continuing to cultivate a bitter root would make their lives much more peaceful. Morgan develops not only the continuing feud but maneuvers her characters into a love triangle between the Wainwright brothers and Sarah. As the story continues to develop Sarah finds herself caught between two more stubborn men when neither will admit their feelings but each has decided the other should have her. You'll have to get your own copy of this book to find out whether Sarah manages to win over any of the stubborn men she has to put up with in this book and how the events this novel spans can renew the characters' stumbling faith.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Great book!

    This is an awsome book!! I love all the books by this author, full of exitment with a great message

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Blank

    I really enjoy Kathleen Morgan and was looking forward to reading another one of her books. I was very disappointed when it turned out to be all blank :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Loved it

    It was so nice to read this book becuase it was a Clean romance but i loved this book even though at times it would get a teany bit boring, i loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Would not show words

    Bought this so wanted to read but was blank!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Amazing

    Awesome !!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Tender Story of Forgiveness!

    I loved this book. It is such a tender and moving book, written by such a talented lady! The time period instantly pulled me into the story, and I imagined myself in the dress and ankle high boots. I could hear the carriage wheels a turnin' and the horses hooves a cloppin. I love that!

    The characters in this book are wonderful. Oh, I didn't like Edmund and Jacob, no. They were feuding and really, it reminded me a lot of the Cartwright's on the show, Bonanza....always feuding with someone! I love that show by the way. I could feel the book come to life in front of me, just like watching an episode on TV.

    My heart truly went out to Sarah and Cord. They were pulled together by God's will, yet had the turmoil on their hearts of the feud between their fathers Edmund and Jacob. It really caused such a strain between the two. I loved watching Cord's brother Nick play a part in helping God's love to shine through. He helped to make some VERY hard headed characters understand their need for God's guidance and love, no matter what may have happened in the past! Though, at first, I didn't like Caleb and Noah, Sarah's older brothers, in the beginning, I grew to love them as much as Cord and Sarah, for they helped the mystery aspect to the story. But one character I truly and utterly despised, was Allis. Oh, I wanted to bop her a good one more than once!

    All in all, this was a truly fantastic story of sacrificing, letting go, and forgiveness. Whole hearted forgiveness. Learning right from wrong and seeking redemption brings these wonderful characters and God's love to the center of my heart! I highly recommend this book with a high 5 star praise and I can't wait for book 2 of this fantastic series to release! I'm anxious to see who's story Kathleen writes about in that one.... Well done, Kathleen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this book!

    Set in the late 1800's A Heart Divided is a story of old, feuding over land. Feeling slighted and cheated out of his land Jacob Caldwell is determined he will never end the feud with the Wainwrights. He is even willing to use his daughter as bait to distract the only person on the ranch while he and the boys rob the house. What he doesn't know is that Sarah will end up paying for his reckless behavior when Cord Wainwright, the man she was distracting catches her in town while she was getting medicine for her younger brother. These events set off a story that is tumultuous in every bend and corner of the story. Unforgiveness, hatred and revenge is the theme of the story, but on the sidelines is Nick Wainwright and Sarah Caldwell who are trying hard to bring an end to the old feud, who are trying hard to show those feuding that forgiveness is the only way to end this madness. Who knew that Sarah would loose her heart and fall in love with Cord Wainwright and he with her. A story that kept me intrigued from beginning to the end, I was sure that there was more to the story than the Caldwell's just rustling cattle and causing problems and I was right, no spoilers here but don't be surprised to find a wasp stirring up the nest in this book! Kathleen Morgan has given us a great story! 329 pages US $14.99 4 stars. This book was provided for review purposes only by Revell, no payment was received for this review. Available May 2011 from your favorite seller of Revell Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Sarah was taking care of her brother, Danny when he was havingg his asthma attack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Wonderful story of forgiveness and love!

    This story will keep your attention throughout. The plot contains hardship, crime, revenge, humor, mystery, adventure and love. It is an excellent story about forgiveness--both of others and yourself. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Leave religion out if it!

    Was good until the author threw their religious preference into it. I had to stop reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Good plot

    I was surprised how each of the characters found their way to God and I enjoyed the love story between characters. I like Nick's character very much! A good read and a Christian author I would read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Disappointed

    Got the book and was ready to read but it was blank? Love the author so disappointed could not read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended for all, especially for Book Club discussions

    What a delightfully 'clean' story!
    Although in an earlier era of time, this portrays how often we must make difficult choice of the heart.
    Many times we have to alienate those we love for a higher purpose. One often has to decide where their true loyalties must lie.
    In this great story, prejudices are put aside in part, and the characters are made to see how unjust prejudice often is.
    Still, where love is involved, it is still difficult to sometimes know of a certainty which path to choose.
    The author has brought a variety of emotional situations to the forefront and it would be a great book for Book Club discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely loved it. Have enjoyed all of her books so far!

    Absolutely loved it. Have enjoyed all of her books so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Emotional ride

    Cord and Sarah's story takes us on an emotional journey that starts with a family feud and ends with the forgiveness that only the peace of God's love can give. This 253 page clean story covers just about every emotion there is and makes it hard to put down. A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    You must read

    The story is set in the west and has both mystery and romance. I couldn'tput it down until I finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Highly recommended

    A great story line with religious references throughout. It is good to read a book without all the vulgar words to skip over. I will be looking for other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    A Beautiful story

    A very deep read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A real delight to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3