Customer Reviews for

Heart Divided, A (Heart of the Rockies Book #1): A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Characters that Grip your heart and a story of how love and faith can bring an end to bitterness and strife

A Heart Divided has just launched a new must read author for me. Although romances can get sappy and boring with the same old plots wrung out and ironed into a "new" book. Kathleen has proven with A Heart Divided that there are authors who have unique ideas and write a ...
A Heart Divided has just launched a new must read author for me. Although romances can get sappy and boring with the same old plots wrung out and ironed into a "new" book. Kathleen has proven with A Heart Divided that there are authors who have unique ideas and write a story that will draw readers in as well as hold their attention. Sarah, Danny, Nic, Cord and the staff at Castle Mountain Ranch quickly found a new home in my heart as characters I look forward to following in the future and it looks like I won't be disappointed by this turning out to be a standalone book. Kathleen first carries us back to the day Sarah's father tried taking back the land he lost in a poker game. Following this lead in to the feud which wouldn't end, readers are transported nearly two decades forward. Sarah now 18 has become mother hen to her family of stubborn men since her mother's loss but can't seem to convince them that moving on instead of continuing to cultivate a bitter root would make their lives much more peaceful. Morgan develops not only the continuing feud but maneuvers her characters into a love triangle between the Wainwright brothers and Sarah. As the story continues to develop Sarah finds herself caught between two more stubborn men when neither will admit their feelings but each has decided the other should have her. You'll have to get your own copy of this book to find out whether Sarah manages to win over any of the stubborn men she has to put up with in this book and how the events this novel spans can renew the characters' stumbling faith.

posted by ForstRose on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Would not show words

Bought this so wanted to read but was blank!!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    How Love Changes your view on life

    I really enjoyed this tale. You could really feel how torn Sarah was between her family and the family who captured her heart. Cord was so eager to deny his love for Sarah, but in the end could not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Great Book

    This was a touching and well written story of love and family. I've read a lot of Kathleen Morgans books and she has never disappointed me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Enjoy all of her books. Wish the ending wasn't so abrupt. The who done it was known well before ending & rest of storyline never got written about that readers would want to hear (love story, birth, etc). Either as epiloge or maybe another book that I don't think exists. Overall really enjoyed and highly recommend. Look forward to other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    This story just captures you and you can't stop reading it as yo

    This story just captures you and you can't stop reading it as you got to find out the truth to whats going on. I really enjoyed how Nic and Sarah became such great friends from the moment they meet. I enjoyed how Cord tried to deny his feelings for Sarah, but in the end his feelings for her won.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Heart Divided

    Kathleen Morgan brings readers a tale of love and betrayal in her latest novel, A Heart Divided. This book is the first in the new Heart of the Rockies series, set in the late 1800's. Morgan has a knack for creating books that touch and inspire readers. Once a writer of general fiction, Morgan has added her voice to the Christian Fiction genre and made her mark with the Brides of Culdee Creek series and the Highland Hills series. Readers will love her fresh, heart-felt writing style and commitment to spreading a message of forgiveness and hope. Being from Kentucky, I was very familiar with the idea of feuding families when I began this book. The small town I live in was once the sight of a deadly family feud that lasted almost 75 years. Kathleen Morgan does a remarkable job of describing the situation between the two feuding families in this book. She gives credence to the concerns and opinions of both families and details how this type of thing gets started and how it continues through generations. I loved the way she was able to show the deep rooted feelings of both sides of the argument. Morgan has a penchant for detail. Her descriptions of the area and the everyday practices in a frontier town are vivid and come across as very authentic and believable. I enjoyed the way she sets the scene for the reader and makes them feel a part of the story. You can almost see the dust rising from the streets and feel the wind in your hair. Morgan's style is descriptive both to the senses and the emotions. Sarah's misgivings about distracting Cord are almost palpable and her regret when she learns who he is felt deeply by the reader. A writer has accomplished a great feat if they are able to make the readers feel strong emotion when reading and Morgan has certainly done that in this book. The overall theme of forgiveness comes across as honest and heart felt in this book. Though the book is a Christian fiction title, the message is not overpowering and I believe that opens it up to a greater audience. It isn't preachy and does not try to hit the reader over the head with it's message. Morgan uses the story to show the forgiveness of God as well as the forgiveness between people. I think she did an excellent job of showing readers what a toil betrayal and vengeance can have on a family. It certainly made me rethink even minor disagreements with others. I recommend this book to Christian fiction readers as well as mainstream romance readers. At it's core this book is a historical romance that has a greater mmessage. This would be a great weekend read, cuddled up in front of the fire or sitting in the front porch swing with a cup of coffee in one hand, book in the other. Available May 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Great story!

    A Heart Divided is a wonderful story of Sarah Caldwell and Cord Wainwright. Each raised by fathers who were feuding long before either of them were born, yet both expected to carry on the family tradition of vengeance against the other. Feeling a strong sense of devotion to their own families, while longing to rid themselves of the bitterness that is destroying those they love, can they ever leave the past behind and move to a happier future? Kathleen Morgan did an excellent job in showing both sides of the story. I found myself struggling right along with the characters as they were torn between honoring family wishes, or choosing to forgive and trust God. I had a hard time putting the book down as I went from supporting one family and then the other. It was truly filled with emotion as the story played out. I enjoyed the supporting characters as well. A great mix that rounded out the story. Romance, love, faith, and forgiveness... even a little action and mystery. This is the first book in the Heart of the Rockies series. You won't be disappointed. I can't wait to read the next one! *Revell Books and Baker Publishing Group have provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review. ~ Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Good historical romance

    It's the Hatfields and McCoys and Romeo and Juliet all rolled into one! Well except for there is no tragic death of the hero and heroine..lol. :) Though there is some emotional, tragic things that happen in the book.

    Most of the Christian Romance books I have ever read always has some sort of underlining theme and the hero or heroine, or sometimes both have to get past this certain thing before they can be together. In A Heart Divided the message is about forgiveness.

    Ever since the day the Edmund Wainwright won Jacob Caldwell's home in a gambling match there has been a feud between the two families. Instead of it being a feud between just those two men they have both manipulated their children into it. Which is a very horrible thing for fathers to do to their children.

    Sarah Caldwell is eighteen and really wants nothing to do with the feud but her father talks her into doing something wrong for the sake of her little brother Danny. Sarah is very strong willed, and in Cord's eyes down right feisty and a bit of a hand full. She also has a tender, sweet side and Cord can't help but fall for her.

    Cord is handsome, strong and stubborn and every bit a cowboy even though he went away to New York and became a lawyer. He has come back to help his father with his ranch but there is a lot of tension between Cord and his father. When the Caldwell's rob the Wainwrights and Cord takes Sarah into custody awhile waiting for the sheriff t return, he begins to see how this feud is affecting Sarah. He knows its not her fault that their fathers act like they do and something in him gets protective.



    I love some of the secondary characters in the book as well as the main characters. Nick is Cord's brother who was shot by Jacob Caldwell a long time ago on accident. Now he is in a wheelchair and quite taken by his 'Angel' (Sarah), but he knows she only has eyes for Cord. Emma is the spunky housekeeper who is not afraid to speak her mind when it comes to Cord and Nick.

    Even though it is a Christian book I felt that the religious aspects of the book did not override the storyline of the book. I have never liked a preachy book and I believe that this book is not in anyway preachy. It is a story about forgiveness and how God can help you to forgive those who have heart you, its a book about healing hearts so they can be open to love. I recommend this book to anyone who loves historical romance books because all together it was a very nice, clean, fun romance book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So much more than a simple romance book!

    Sarah Caldwell reluctantly agreed to her father's plan for her to distract a ranch hand while he and her brothers rob the Wainwrights. However, when she realizes that the ranch hand is Cord Wainwright, one of the heirs of the ranch, Sarah knows the stakes have escalated and barely manages to rationalize her family's actions. Unfortunately, Cord isn't feeling so rational. A quick trip into town finds Sarah under citizen's arrest by Cord. Living as his prisoner is terrible, but as the days pass, she begins to see Cord as more than an angry rancher. Growing affection between the two complicates their lives. Having a relationship would mean betraying their families. Are they willing to give up their families in the name of love? As Cord comes to terms with his father and Sarah begins to realize how unhealthy her family is, there seems to be a hope for their future. However, when Cord's cattle begin to disappear, they both struggle in the newfound relationship. Will their relationship survive? Or will they continue the patterns set by their families so many years ago?

    When I read the back cover of A Heart Divided by Kathleen Morgan, I thought it was going to be a Christian version of Romeo and Juliet with a happy ending. I am happy to say that it is far more than a simple story of two people from feuding families who fall in love. The plot included plenty of romance fused with character development and spiritual lessons. I appreciated the author's realistic depiction of a dysfunctional family. I have personal experience with dysfunctional families and I can say the author was right on target with her depictions. To someone outside of a dysfunction family (i.e. Cord), Sarah's love and actions may seem irrational. However, in a family like Sarah's, her actions and emotions make complete sense. The way the author brought Sarah around to a healthy mindset was perfect. I really connected with Sarah's character and in a way the book reaffirmed some personal decisions I have made. I will definitely be keeping this book and reading it again!

    I can recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Christian romances.

    Available May 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers as part of a blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Feud, A Romance, Danger And Healing Equal A Great Read!

    Kathleen Morgan in her new book, "A Heart Divided" Book One in the Heart Of The Rockies series published by Revell takes us to the Colorado Rockies in 1878.

    Sarah Caldwell is a beautiful woman. Cord Wainwright is a handsome man. When these two meet sparks fly; bullets too. See the Caldwells and the Wainwrights have been feudin' families for decades and the feud is supposed to continue on between them but their hearts have other ideas.

    Families at war with each other who also have members who fall in love with each other is a storyline that has been around forever. "Romeo and Juliet" as well as "West Side Story" are classic examples. Their problem is either both or one of the lovers die in their stories. This way is nicer. In those other stories God has no part. In "A Heart Divided" Kathleen Morgan has given God a major role. Neither Sarah nor Cord can heal the pain, bitterness and anger that fills their hearts. For their romance to work they need God to step in and change everything. Ms. Morgan is an excellent writer and makes all her characters believable and you care deeply for them as she deftly unfolds the plot before us. This is a nice romance with great themes. Ms. Morgan has given us a great beginning to a wonderful series. I am looking forward to the next book.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available May 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3