Customer Reviews for

Heart Failure

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I have read almost all of Dr. Mabry books and he quickly has bec

I have read almost all of Dr. Mabry books and he quickly has become one of my favorite authors,  I had no doubt that I would enjoy this book and I was not let down at all. 




Dr. Carrie Markham never thought she would fall in love again after the death of her husband....
I have read almost all of Dr. Mabry books and he quickly has become one of my favorite authors,  I had no doubt that I would enjoy this book and I was not let down at all. 




Dr. Carrie Markham never thought she would fall in love again after the death of her husband.  Two years later she finds herself in love and happier than she though was possible.  Adam Davidson has a big secret that he has not shared with his new fiancé Carrie.   Within the first few pages, you will be hooked---Carrie and Adam are leaving the local theater and next thing you there is an attempt on their lives with a drive-by shooting. Adam realizes that he must tell Carrie his secret.  Adam is not his real name, he is really Keith Branson and that he is on the run as some very bad people are trying to kill him so he had been placed in the witness protection program. 




Carrie is hurt as she is no longer sure who she is engaged to and calls the engagement off.  After agreeing to talk with 'Adam', Carrie knows that deep down she really does love him and puts the engagement on hold while they figure out things.  Little did Carrie know that they would have to deal with more life threatening situation since the drive-by that started the roller coaster when Adam revealed his true identity. 




This story has it all--suspense, romance, action, lots of twist, a great plot. Both the main characters are very believable and I found myself rooting for them to make it through everything and to be able to have their very own happily ever after with each other. This story reminds us that The Lord is in control of everything and to never give up your faith in him. 




Dr. Mabry does a wonderful job of telling the medical.  He does not use medical jargon that most people do not understand.  Instead he explains things in layman's  term so as you are reading you have an understanding as to what something is.  When I read my first book by him, Code Blue, #1 in the prescription for trouble series, I knew that I had read more this author.  I think with his background in medicine and his style of writing, that he does an incredible job of explaining things to those not in the medical field. 




For anyone who is looking for an great clean suspenseful medical book with some romance--this is your book.  You will not be let down.  Medical suspense books are one of my top genre go to books after reading Dr. Mabry books.  I want to and look forward to reading a lot more by him.  His books are ones that I have recommended to many other people. 








Disclosure:  I was given a copy of this book by the author.  In return I am giving my honest, unbiased review.

posted by 4smom0 on December 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

Please bn, do something with these plot spoilers who consistently reveal every detail of the book, then brag how they got their book for free for their so cslled honest and unbiased review. It is not honest or unbiased nor is it a review when it is a reveal of the entir...
Please bn, do something with these plot spoilers who consistently reveal every detail of the book, then brag how they got their book for free for their so cslled honest and unbiased review. It is not honest or unbiased nor is it a review when it is a reveal of the entire plot line. The rest of us have to buy our copy of the book, and we do not like these no good plot spoilers ruining the book for us. Please cant you do something about this?????

posted by 8888649 on February 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Plot spoilers

    Please bn, do something with these plot spoilers who consistently reveal every detail of the book, then brag how they got their book for free for their so cslled honest and unbiased review. It is not honest or unbiased nor is it a review when it is a reveal of the entire plot line. The rest of us have to buy our copy of the book, and we do not like these no good plot spoilers ruining the book for us. Please cant you do something about this?????

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    I have read almost all of Dr. Mabry books and he quickly has bec

    I have read almost all of Dr. Mabry books and he quickly has become one of my favorite authors,  I had no doubt that I would enjoy this book and I was not let down at all. 




    Dr. Carrie Markham never thought she would fall in love again after the death of her husband.  Two years later she finds herself in love and happier than she though was possible.  Adam Davidson has a big secret that he has not shared with his new fiancé Carrie.   Within the first few pages, you will be hooked---Carrie and Adam are leaving the local theater and next thing you there is an attempt on their lives with a drive-by shooting. Adam realizes that he must tell Carrie his secret.  Adam is not his real name, he is really Keith Branson and that he is on the run as some very bad people are trying to kill him so he had been placed in the witness protection program. 




    Carrie is hurt as she is no longer sure who she is engaged to and calls the engagement off.  After agreeing to talk with 'Adam', Carrie knows that deep down she really does love him and puts the engagement on hold while they figure out things.  Little did Carrie know that they would have to deal with more life threatening situation since the drive-by that started the roller coaster when Adam revealed his true identity. 




    This story has it all--suspense, romance, action, lots of twist, a great plot. Both the main characters are very believable and I found myself rooting for them to make it through everything and to be able to have their very own happily ever after with each other. This story reminds us that The Lord is in control of everything and to never give up your faith in him. 




    Dr. Mabry does a wonderful job of telling the medical.  He does not use medical jargon that most people do not understand.  Instead he explains things in layman's  term so as you are reading you have an understanding as to what something is.  When I read my first book by him, Code Blue, #1 in the prescription for trouble series, I knew that I had read more this author.  I think with his background in medicine and his style of writing, that he does an incredible job of explaining things to those not in the medical field. 




    For anyone who is looking for an great clean suspenseful medical book with some romance--this is your book.  You will not be let down.  Medical suspense books are one of my top genre go to books after reading Dr. Mabry books.  I want to and look forward to reading a lot more by him.  His books are ones that I have recommended to many other people. 








    Disclosure:  I was given a copy of this book by the author.  In return I am giving my honest, unbiased review.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    The story tries to include too many genre combos

    They just dont work. Mystery romance christian hospital just becomes a muddle neither one or the other pass unless a freebie

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    ZERO STARS

    NOT ENOUGH SEX

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this Christian fiction suspense novel. The characters

    I enjoyed this Christian fiction suspense novel. The characters are believable, and the plot is fast-paced. There's just enough connection between Carrie and Adam for those who would choose a romance novel. Suspense kept this reader turning the pages. I finished the book in two days. The ending came as a surprise to me.

    The fact that the author is a physician helps the medical parts come alive. I liked learning medical school tidbits like "When you hear hoof beats, think horses, not zebras" (137) when diagnosing a patient. I know that I'm not fully explaining it here, but when you get the book, you'll see for yourself the wisdom in this statement.

    The book is almost perfect. The second paragraph on page 114, Carrie has a "d" on the end of her name. A simple mistake, but a jarring one.

    Nonetheless, I highly recommend this book. Includes Reading Group Guide.

    Thank you to Booksneeze and Thomas Nelson Publishing for my copy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    A Great Read Dr. Mabry brings his medical background into a li

    A Great Read

    Dr. Mabry brings his medical background into a lively and entertaining suspense/mystery novel.
    I have read all his books and enjoyed every one of them. If you want cursing and depravity go elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Good

    Great book! Great plot and characters! Very PG. But I enjoyed the story, it was a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    You've got to read this one!

    All of Richard L. Mabry's books are brilliant...if you've not read his works before and you like mystery set in the medical world, then this is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Anonymous

    When reading this book the term "corny"comes to mind. Even one of the main characters laughed at himself once. Even so, this was a quick, entertaining escape for me. I couldn't guess the ending, and that's a sign of a good book. I also could appreciate the Christian references.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    Really boring. Didn't finish the book.

    Really boring. Didn't finish the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    Easy read. Highly recommend.

    I like the author's writing cadence. Storyline flows nicely, and keeps you guessing. I plan to buy more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Don't bother. The praying in the book comes at strange times, no

    Don't bother. The praying in the book comes at strange times, not necessary. Too many characters from Chicago who come to live in this small Texas town. Really?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Boring

    Do not waste your time. Christian influence is forced and unrealistic. Plot can be guessed early on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Preachy, boring and stupid. I don't want a detailed description

    Preachy, boring and stupid. I don't want a detailed description of why some random guy is in heart failure, and the incredibly boring work days in the clinic were totally unnecessary to the story. The only thing that makes this a Christian novel was the characters constantly saying they need to pray about... Whatever. This had nothing to do with faith or Christianity. And constantly having people who want to talk or meet with the main characters and put off until later (to try to build suspense?), did NOT work for this story. It was stupid. 
    This story could have been told better in about half the length. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    HEART FAILURE

    I really enjoyed this book.the author was new to me but kept me guessing as to who the killer was,I liked the way it showed how God always cares for us.showed the human side of life.Will definately want to read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    ---

    ••••):

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    horrible dont read it!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Not worth your time or your money its the most horrible terrible book i have ever read dont read it if an option was zero stars i would put zero freakin stars worst book evet the end was horrible it made me wanna barf

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Great book

    Really enjoyed reading. Second book I've read by this author and I really enjoy his stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    This book hooked me from the first page. Wow! What an opening. T

    This book hooked me from the first page. Wow! What an opening. This medical suspense/love story is one of the best. I have read several 
    of Dr. Mabry's books and they are all good. They are clean and captivating. I like the suspense most. Just when I thought I had figured it out
    it changed directions and I followed clearly and without regret. This is one I will read again. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Richard L. Mabry, M.D. in his new book ¿Heart Failure¿ published

    Richard L. Mabry, M.D. in his new book “Heart Failure” published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Dr. Carrie Markham.




    From the back cover:   When her fiancé’s dangerous secrets turn her work upside down, a beautiful doctor must choose between her own safety and the man she loves—and thought she knew.




    Dr. Carrie Markham’s heart was broken by the death of her husband two years ago. Now, just as her medical practice is taking off, her fresh engagement to paralegal Adam Davidson seems almost too good to be true . . . until a drive-by shooting leaves Carrie on the floor of his car with glass falling around her.




    When he confesses that Adam isn’t his real name and that he fled the witness protection program, Carrie is left with an impossible choice: should she abandon the fiancé she isn’t sure she really knows, or accept his claim of innocence and help him fight back against this faceless menace?




    While Carrie struggles to decide whether to follow her heart or her head, the threats against them continue to escalate. Her life—as well as Adam’s—depends on making the right choice . . . and the clock is ticking.




    Without a doubt Dr. Mabry really knows how to write a thriller that will grab your attention and then keep it until he decides to let go.  A witness protection program escapee that just wants his life back.  Bad guys that do not want him to have a life at all.  And Carrie, a widow, who really thought she was going to have a quiet life with her new fiance.  These are the ingredients of “Heart Failure”  The reason for the title is that is what it feels we are going to have as we deal with all the action, mystery and suspense as Carrie and Keith do their best to stay alive and bring the bad guys to justice.  ”Heart Failure” is a complicated mystery thriller as Carrie and Keith’s lives are in danger practically from page one.  Turn off the TV, unplug the computer, put aside the housework you are not going to want to do anything but read this book until the end and enjoy yourself in the process.  Dr. Mabry has written another exciting book that most certainly is a huge winner!




    Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received this book free from Thomas Nelson.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2