Customer Reviews for

The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter

Average Rating 4
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful work of art.

I read this book sophomore year in high school for my English honors class, and at first I was skeptical, but the characters grew on me, with complex, developed personalities, and although it has a depressing touch, I fell utterly in love with this book, and Singer. Thi...
I read this book sophomore year in high school for my English honors class, and at first I was skeptical, but the characters grew on me, with complex, developed personalities, and although it has a depressing touch, I fell utterly in love with this book, and Singer. This book made me cry, laugh and think about life in a different perspective. I recommend this book to teens and adults. You won't regret it.

posted by 9268302 on December 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - Must Read

The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers is the 2013 selection for the Big Read project that is sponsored by the NEA to encourage reading in communities throughout the US. In an interview, the author, McCullers, stated that the form for this book is inspired by ...
The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers is the 2013 selection for the Big Read project that is sponsored by the NEA to encourage reading in communities throughout the US. In an interview, the author, McCullers, stated that the form for this book is inspired by a musical form,the fugue. A fugue contains a single motif or several motifs that are repeated over and over again throughout the piece. In the novel, the motif is loneliness which is acted out by the central character John Singer who is deaf and mute. The other main characters, Biff, Mick, Dr. Copeland, and Jake struggle with their individual form of loneliness and seek out Mr. Singer who, ironically, is the only person with whom they can communicate and the only person who also understands them. Set in an unnamed Georgia Mill town, the novel opens up a door to another time and place where attitudes towards people with disabilities, different religions, different ethnicities,and surprising political views are dramatically different from today. Published more than 70 years ago, this book is worth taking a look at in 2013.

posted by eliza_c on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Too sad for me

    I saw the 1968 film w/ Alan Arkin and Sandra Locke years and years ago. I remember it being a sad story but I did enjoy it. The novel is much more in depth and has many more characters than I remember from the movie. The book was just very very sad and depressing. I found it hard to get through and found myself skimming the last half just to be done w/ it and/or looking for a bright spot that might be uplifting. Too much sadness and for what purpose?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2014

    Unusual

    This book is a classic, but rather dull. Hard to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    dated and over rated perhaps because of age and gender of writer.

    No mention since about being on required reading lists? Southern angst was in at that time . remember a lot of authors were writing southern williams fauker mitchel. there was a movie of this name tab hunter? Same? If you read as a first try by a young writer it is very uneven and immature and could have had better editing . Lauding as a classic does writer and the reader a diservice especially when blurb says its the best of her writings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    The Heart is a Lonely Hunter is the first novel by Carson McCull

    The Heart is a Lonely Hunter is the first novel by Carson McCullers, she rose to fame with it at the young age of twenty-three in 1940. It's considered a masterpiece, and her finest work. I didn't get it. Truthfully, I marked it as "did not finish" and went on to other books. I came back to it because of the reviews, thinking maybe the ending was spectacular.

    The book depicts small town America in the 1930s. Noone has much money, nothing exciting goes on. Everyone has big dreams that don't come true and they end up bitter and disappointed. The story is dark and depressing, which may have been the author's intent, but it made the book very hard to read.


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    >.<

    The book was okay. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. I didn't understand the whole purpose of the book but it did keep me interested enough to read the whole thing so . . . yeah(:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    very slow

    Good start and kind of interesting. Tedious and slow and preachy in the middle. Skipped some towards the back and read the last few pages. I've been wanting to read this for a couple of years, but it was disappointing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    And so....

    As Oprah always begins, 'And so...' I love to read. I have read thousands of books, but this book is so boring! Usually, I won't stick with a book if I find it dragging at a slow pace. But since Oprah said it was great, I stuck it out. After finishing it, I closed the book and said 'That was it?!' Sure, the characters in the book were sad, depressed, and going through life dreaming of other things. They had their own desires, ideas, values, etc. But could we make something happen?! It was so slow!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Between the lines

    When I first read this book for my English class, I found it completely boring and pathetic. I still today, feel the same way. However, once I started applying the hidden meaning to real life, it made complete sense for once. Though it seems confusing at times, I think the meaning is better than the book itself, because it is so true. You'll have to read it to find the meaning though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    Hard to read

    I started reading this book about four years ago and never finished it. When Oprah chose it I decided to give it another go. Now that I have finished it I remember why I stopped reading it the last time. There must be something I'm missing because this book really left me confused and thinking 'is this all there is?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2004

    Do you have to be from the South for this to be good?

    I guess I expected that she had a reason for writing this book, but shouldn't that have been conveyed by the books plot? I wanted to hear the story of all the characters, She did give me that, they were brought to life, but in the end I couldn't see why I had read the entire book when reading only half would have left me in the same place. I'm 23, I certainly can't write a novel but when I write anything it is for a reason. My reason for writing this: I WANT TO KNOW WHAT ALL THE HYPE IS ABOUT!! One thing I did take away from this book, Thank God I was not alive at this time and place...hot and gritty and aimless is not my idea of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    Needds more heart

    I tried to read this, but I guess this is a girls book because I didn't like it much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1