Customer Reviews for

The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful work of art.

I read this book sophomore year in high school for my English honors class, and at first I was skeptical, but the characters grew on me, with complex, developed personalities, and although it has a depressing touch, I fell utterly in love with this book, and Singer. Thi...
I read this book sophomore year in high school for my English honors class, and at first I was skeptical, but the characters grew on me, with complex, developed personalities, and although it has a depressing touch, I fell utterly in love with this book, and Singer. This book made me cry, laugh and think about life in a different perspective. I recommend this book to teens and adults. You won't regret it.

posted by 9268302 on December 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

the heart is a lonely hunter

honestly i read this book after watching "a love song for bobby long" in which scarlett johansson's character reads it. i know, not really a good excuse for picking up a book. but it was also on a booklist of books every person should read before they die. so i was real...
honestly i read this book after watching "a love song for bobby long" in which scarlett johansson's character reads it. i know, not really a good excuse for picking up a book. but it was also on a booklist of books every person should read before they die. so i was really excited to read it.

overall it was a decent book. worth reading once i guess, but definitely not one i'd be likely to pick up again. it had it's moments where i couldn't put it down (towards the end) and then moments where it literally made me want to take a nap after about 10 pages.

posted by overxdramatic on August 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Beautiful work of art.

    I read this book sophomore year in high school for my English honors class, and at first I was skeptical, but the characters grew on me, with complex, developed personalities, and although it has a depressing touch, I fell utterly in love with this book, and Singer. This book made me cry, laugh and think about life in a different perspective. I recommend this book to teens and adults. You won't regret it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Inspired

    This book speaks of the lonely jorney we all take as we try to find that connection with a person who truly understands us, but not just that it goes into each characters dreames, fears and troubles. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What an Amazing Novel!

    I used to attend college in Columbus (at Columbus State University), the city in which McCullers grew up. Our university owns her house and we often times host events their. We have her books all around the house and I finally decided to read one. I chose The Heart is A Lonely Hunter because I had heard that it was the best representation of McCullers work.<BR/><BR/>It took me a while to get through this particular book but when I finished I was like: Wow, that touched me on a whole other level. Carson McCullers' character development is extraordinary. At the end I really cared for the characters and their ultimate fate. Also, McCullers' dialects, that are present in the novel, proves her strength as a writer. <BR/><BR/>Author Mylene Dressler spent some time living in McCullers' home as part of an upcoming artist program at the university. I have listed some her novels in the "I Also Recommend" section.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    A Very Good Read

    Got this book as a gift from a used book store. I would not have chose it as a read of choice. Now I am glad I did. Sad, but well written. I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    Southern literature has always fascinated me. From Faulkner to Childress I don't seem to be able to get enough. While I enjoy O'Connor enough, I find McCullers so much more accesible. The story of a lonely girl--a coming-of-age-story really--THE HEART is one of my favorite books. The protagonist lives in a boarding house that her mother runs, and upstairs lives a mute. In the town, there are two of the--mutes--and the main character makes, or rather 'tries' to make friends with the one in the house. She plays records for him and we feel her frustration at trying to make him understand what music is. Since he's deaf, he can't comprehend. The girl is frustrated on so many levels: She feels trapped by the small southern town she lives in, she wants to be a musician and really has no outlet for this, even making a makeshift violin out of a cigar box, she has a bratty little brother, and she feels that no one understands her. I would equate this book to other great southern classics such as 'To Kill A Mockingbird' by Lee or McCrae's 'Bark of the Dogwood' as they too are coming of age books, each one totally different. If you have a heart you'll love 'THE HEART IS A LONELY HUNTER.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The disparate lives of five people come together when a gay, dea

    The disparate lives of five people come together when a gay, deaf man takes a room in a boarding house and befriends them all. Set in a southern mill town during the 1930's, The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, explores the desperation that we all experience when we feel that we are alone in the world.

    I first read this book when I was in high school, about thirty-three years ago. Although there were some subtleties that I didn't pick up on (such as the fact that the character John Singer is gay), I was profoundly moved by the lives of each character and the loneliness and hopelessness they all felt. For a book in which very little happens, the story is gripping. Every character - from an elderly African-American doctor to a thirteen-year-old white girl - is written with such compassion and insight that I felt that I knew them all intimately.

    Unfortunately, the book is heartbreaking, and the end leaves the reader with a sense of hopelessness. It's a book that stayed with me back when I was fourteen, and a book that continues to live within me all this time later.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Love Carson McCullers!! I read ""The Heart is a Lonely

    Love Carson McCullers!! I read &quot;&quot;The Heart is a Lonely Hunter&quot;&quot; many moons ago and it is still one of my all time favorites. Def a 5 Star Rating for me!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Now one of my favorite books. I probably wont read another of h

    Now one of my favorite books. I probably wont read another of her books as I'm not sure if her others have such a powerful impact as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Underrated

    Certainly belongs in the 100 greatest novels of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Magnificent

    McCuller's narrative is profound and unique. This novel is a real gem, as are the rest of her works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Heart is a Lonely Hunter

    I recently read a young adult book that was enjoyable in a non-action retrospective way. It was a book on tape and when it was finished I popped in Carson McCullers' classic. What a difference! They are similar books with young girls as protagonists and are leagues apart in the quality of the writing. Both books are well narrated . . .but again the narrator of McCullers' book is outstanding. This jewel of a story is nestled in the small town south just after the worst of the depression and right before the U.S. involvement in WWII - a window on an era. This is a master class in brilliance of writing and thought. Published in 1940 it is an honest portrayal of time and place without the need to be PC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers is one of the best books I have read. I was forced to read this because it was either McCullers or Sense and Sensibility, which my mom labeled as a ¿Girly book¿. Once I started reading the book I was hooked by Carson's messages hidden within the stories of five main characters, all linked to one deaf-mute who lost his one and only friend. Although this book lacks metaphors and similes, McCullers still draws the reader with the appeal to pathos by telling the depressing story of the main characters. While I was reading this book, I wanted to stop because it was so dramatic and depressing, but the individual stories of the characters gave me an urge to continue reading. I connected with this book because it mainly dissects the life of John Singer, a deaf-mute, and through his hardships, I saw a new concept of love and friendship that strengthened my connection with my friends. Although I have never read Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen, I am grateful that I chose The Heart is a Lonely Hunter. I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good read because it has definitely helped me appreciate my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    White hot good

    read THE HEART IS A LONELY HUNTER years ago in high school and loved it. For those interested, there's also a movie--excellent. This is a touching tale, but without melodrama or sappiness. Excellent writing and one of the true southern novels, the story can't help but captivate. From the first sentence, 'In the town there were two mutes,' to the heartbreaking ending, you'll be in love with this novel--the best thing Carson McCullers ever wrote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    The Herat Is A Lonely Hunter

    Realistic, pure, thoughtful. What makes this book very convincing is its objetivity to life. The author does not have a argument she is proving, she does not have a message she wants to force onto the reader. It is pure expression. In some ways, this book reminds me of The Catcher in the Rye. I enjoyed reading this book. Unlike the title suggests, this is not a sentimental novel its not the touchy-feely kind of story, though it has remarkable depth. This is one great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    Superb!

    Though I won't say it's perfect, not like The Ballad of the Sad Cafe, I did love this book. As a fan of Dostoevsky (especially Crime and Punishment) and his smart strategy of doubling characters up, so that what the writer says of one character can be applied to the other--a subtle way for the writer to suggest insights and reasons and forecasts by doing it indirectly. Take a close look at The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter, and you'll see the same: Jake = Singer, Doctor Copeland = Jake, Biff = Singer, etc. Also, the prose is elegant. For example: 'And by habit they shortened their thoughts so that they would not wander out into the darkness beyond tomorrow.' Also, a great title to capture what we have throughout: longely, tragic figures on an ancient Greek scale. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    A BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN BOOK ON HUMAN NATURE

    Holy crack. yeah so I read this book for summer reading in high school and i loved it. Sure it was a long read and some of my friends hated it but the characters grow on you. There are like 5 or 6 central characters and each one has a trait that you can directly relate. If you're only interested in book for mystery or adventure then i guess you shouldn't read this book. If you want a really beautifully written book about one of human nature's greatest truths, then i highly reccommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    A MOVING STORY

    It certainly is a masterpiece. The setting of the story is down south in Georgia. The era is during the Great Depression. This was an era of racial tension especially in the south, but as is often the case in the novel, music proved to be a strong source of solace and passions are stirred to add vigor to the romantic side of things. Even though they lived in a delicate world of their times, the characters live their lives oblivious of the constraints around. The strength of spiritual isolation is strong and mirrors the reality of mankind. The novel portrays the purpose of man in his God-given role on earth. This is a novel that will be enjoyed by generations to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    The beauty of sadness

    McCullers unfolds her tale of five people who have an enormous depth of sadness begat by their isolation. She accurately and beautifully depicts the actions people take in order to alleviate their feelings of lonlieness and misunderstanding. McCullers has a profound ability to make her characters so real, it is almost surprising that she wrote this masterpiece at the age of 23. There is a simplicity and honesty in her work that is so clear that the reader has no problem relating with what her characters feel and understand them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2005

    Small Town America

    A book such as McCullers' masterpiece Heart Is A Lonely Hunter is the greatest extrapulation of small town Americana that I have ever read. All the characters live in a tangled web of love, alcoholism, racial tension, and colloquial talk. The most haunting literary character I have ever read about (exempting Jesus of Nazareth) is John Singer, an almost Shakespeareanly complex individual that you never really get the idea of who he is. Brilliant Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    Breathtakingly Beautiful!!

    Carson McCullers' The Heart is a Lonely Hunter had me from the first page! My love for this work of art is indescribable. A timeless classic of monumental proportions,really!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4