Customer Reviews for

A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This has been one of my favorite Bible study reads of the last c

    This has been one of my favorite Bible study reads of the last couple years.
    It has quite a few things that make it stand out. One is that I like Beth Moore's style. She takes any subject and makes you feel as if you're sitting in her living room and talking about it with just her and maybe some snacks and a nice cup of coffee or tea. She has a conversational approach that I like.

    She also has great subject matter. The life of David shows the best and worst of man. It gives us this wonderful example of how we can seek God in good and bad times and how God can use us in spite of our weakness - and oftentimes because of it. There is so much treasure to learn from how David honored God and how he failed as well.

    Even the way the book is organized is brilliant. The chapters are short so you can easily fit them into any busy schedule. She has included any necessary Bible verses so you don't need to have anything but the book in order to do the study (though she encourages you to use your own Bible to read more passages). I also love how the study is arranged in order by how the events played out historically - so you can see how one decision led to another and so on.

    This is the kind of study that is approachable and useful for Christians in many stages of their walk with Christ. It is straightforward and simple enough for new Christians, but there is enough meat and challenging material for those who have loved the Lord for many years. I want to thank the publisher for providing my copy. It did not influence my review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    A Heart Like His

    This book is a five star. I have not joined any bible study groups but if you have been reading this blog, you know that I have read a few Christianity themed books. Some are fiction that added God subtly, others preaches and uses fear like you will go to hell or be left behind if you don't believe. In this book Beth Moore, an American evangelist, teacher, author and founder of Living Proof Ministries have a writing style that makes it sound like she is talking, discussing and teaching you about the life of David through different bible scriptures and her personal experiences.


    A friend at church once asked casually if I know David and I answered no because all I know about David is that he was the shepherd who sling shot Goliath and became the King of Israel. I don't have any in depth knowlege about him. So when I was contacted by Shelton Interactive if I would like to review this book, I agreed right after I read what the book is about.


    Here Beth Moore will tell us about Eli, Samuel, Hannah, King Saul and Jonathan. She will discussed how a harp player shepherd will become the anointed one and be the second King of Israel. How he survived being persecuted by King Saul and his relationship with Jonathan. How he rose to be King and ruled over Israel. We will learn his family life. That even being the chosen one, David was still human and sinned against God repeatedly. She describes the ups and downs in Davids life until his last breath at the age of 70, a King who have ruled for 40 years and was succeeded by Solomon, his son with Bathsheba.


    I would recommend this book to anybody, any age who would like to learn more about David. The last part of the book is a list of review questions great for bible study groups or anybody who would like to reflect on the Life of David.


    I got this book free from B&H Publishing through Shelton Interactive in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    David was always my favorite character in bible stories. His sim

    David was always my favorite character in bible stories. His simplicity as a boy and shepherd, his determination as an anointed by God, his complexity as a king, and above all, his love for God, those characteristics made him a very special person. And author Beth Moore capture all details of his personality in this wonderful and well written book. We clearly note the passion that Beth has for David and how well she introduce all stories related to this character, his Back Story, his friendship with Jonathan, his fight for survival from Saul's persecution, so every aspect of his life is described in details and in such a passionate way that we would have to cheer for David even if we did not like him. Although his life is full of struggles, he always kept his love for God.
    The book is divided in 9 parts for a total of 52 chapters. Each Part has a Psalm as a theme and the chapters for that part develop the main theme or that part of David's story.
    At the end of the book we find some Review Questions for us to meditate on the reading, and possible use them in a bible discussion group.
    This was a magnificent effort from the author who put together this excellent book with a strong message, and I recommend it to the permanent library of any person who enjoys a good reading of biographical nature on a fascinating character. This book was written by Beth More and published by B&H Publishing Group originally in 1999, and was republished in 2003 and 2012, with the same name. The author was kind enough to provide me a copy for reviewing through Shelton Interactive and I was not asked to provide a positive feedback. Opinions here are my own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2000

    IS YOUR HEART LONGING FOR MORE . . . ???

    This book is beyond the Star-Rating System. Beth is passion personified when it comes to the things of the Lord. I've heard the story of David and studied his life for many years. It amazes me how God continues to give insight, to convict, to encourage, and to challenge my heart with David's life. This is one of those books that will touch your life no matter who you are, where you are or what you are going through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    Although I have "flirted" with Beth Moore books and Bi

    Although I have "flirted" with Beth Moore books and Bible studies in the past, this is the first time I have ever sar down and read one of her books in its entirity. My mom has been through several Beth Moore studies, and allusions are always made to this fantastic Bible teacher. And all I can say is that this book more than fulfilled my expectations. I can assure you that this will not be the only time I ever pick this book up. This is a keeper!

    I grew up in the church, and I am a Bible college graduate. But even I had not considered some of the aspects of David's life that Beth Moore draws out of the Scriptures. This book is not a light read. I recommend taking your time and really letting the Word and its message soak into your soul. I am just a little bit overwhelmed since I read the book in under a week. But even in my reading of it in that time frame, I can highly recommend it.

    The true merit of a book that is written to be used as a Bible study is whether it touched my heart and soul. I am happy to say it did. Seeing ho2w many times David messed up but always came back to God gives me great hope. It shows just how much mercy God has to give out even in the Old Testament.

    I was most touched as I read about how David continued to trust even when he did not understand or things did not make sense. It is a message that God has been "pounding into my brain" lately. Tears came to my eyes as I read about how even unjust humiliation and misunderstanding does not mean that you have stepped out of God's will. It may not make sense, and we may never understand why things happen just as they do. But we have to trust that God knows what He is doing. Thank you, Beth, I needed to hear that. I too long for a heart like David. And even in my weaknesses and failings, God can use me!

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100% mine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book takes the life of David and goes in depth, drawing lif

    This book takes the life of David and goes in depth, drawing life lessons in each chapter. I’ve read books by Beth Moore before and enjoyed them. This was another great book. The title describes the book well. It’s hard to write non-fiction and make it interesting to the reader. Beth Moore has that talent. I was impressed and inspired. I learned some new things and was reminded of how much my Saviour loves me.

    Another great feature is the review questions in the back. It’s great for deeper thoughts or could even be used for a Bible study guide. I would definitely recommend this book.

    I received this book free of charge from Shelton Interactive in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Amazing

    So much to take in when reading about the man who loved God so fiercefully! Absolutely loved the book. Reminds us that even as sinners we can be a people after the heart of God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    Seeking a heart like his (David)

    David's life is intimately portrayed and the reader can definitely relate to his struggles and desire to have a better relationship with God. You will develope a deeper understanding of how God works and controls your life. Beth Moore truly has a unique gift for writing and I was deeply touched by her presentation of David's life and what I learned and understand from this study is applied daily in my life. Your attitude and relationship with God will only be strengthened by reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    David, no one was greater

    Even through ALL his mistakes and valleys, the only thing he was able to do is look up. He could have stayed but GOD meant more to him even through his failure.
    I'm not perfect but I need to try my best to please God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Beautiful study on King David

    Who needs movies and entertainment when you can read all the drama and scandal in the Holy Bible!? :) "A Heart Like His" is an enjoyable and thought-provoking study on King David's (drama-filled, crazy, oh-no-he-didn't) life - it helps shed light on King David's heart, faults, and, most importantly, passion for God. I highly recommend taking Beth Moore's advise in the book to read the scriptures as highlighted in the header of the chapter; I did this and it made the study more meaningful and revelatory for me. As with any study, don't expect to speed though this book - along with reading the scriptures, each chapter gives a lot to digest with enlightening information and applicable life lessons. For me, this book fell just short of 5 stars because, although beautifully written, Beth Moore's writing style in some areas may be a little to gentle for my shoot-it-straight personality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Wonderful!

    Wonderful!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Wonderful

    Great book. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly recommend

    I have been reading biblical history all of my life, and just when I thought I remembered it all..........Very easy reading. I am loving the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Wow really serously u didnt just write me

    Who is ip for chit chattttt

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Love

    If you really love somebody this should be a good book for all the ladies who aare in love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    The Nook book available for purchase here is NOT the same as the

    The Nook book available for purchase here is NOT the same as the book advertised!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2