Customer Reviews for

The Heart Mender: A Story of Second Chances

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    Book is good but my opinion of B&N isn't nearly as good as it used to be.

    I just downloaded this book in english. I started to read it and at the very begining I discovered that it had been published before under the name of Island of Saints. I had read Island of Saints a few years ago and enjoyed it very much but did not want to read it again under the name of The Heart Mender. I called Barnes and Noble to tell them what happened. They admitted that this was true but refused to give me a refund because I had already downloaded the book. I tried to tell them that downloading the book was how I found out that it had been released before under a different name. I am sure Barnes and Noble makes enough money that they do not need my $10 AGAIN. My review of the book is good but Barnes and Noble gets zero stars. I wish I had bought a Kindle so they couldn't get any more of my money!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    highly recommended!

    Andy Andrews' The Heart Mender is an inspiring story about the power not just of love, but of forgiveness, community and faith. Intertwined with the love story of an American woman and a German soldier during World War II (and with the stories of their friends and neighbors) is a bit of the author's own story, as he uncovers the clues that lead him to discover the romance.

    Andrews is a skilled storyteller, and weaves dialogue and description to create vivid and believable characters. The issues with which the characters struggle are real, and the answers to which they come are hard-won - but throughout the book is a firm and unyielding hope and confidence that love will, in the end, triumph. From beginning to end, the storylines illustrate the truth that bitterness and resentment do nothing but continue to wound, while making the choice to forgive can do everything towards bringing healing and hope to a broken heart.

    One of the things I most appreciated about this story is that while it is a love story, it doesn't happen in isolation. It blossoms in the context of a community, and affects - and is affected by - that community. I love that. It makes the entire book feel even more true - because in real life, relationships do inevitably happen in the context of community.

    I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Andy Andrews has a way of weaving fact and fiction together to make a very readable and enjoyable book. This book shows the power of forgiveness and second chances. Wonderful story of the best of people and the worst of people. It tells of how a young woman helped a man whom she thought to be her enemy but because of her actions became so much more to her. Without revealing too much of the story line, it shows that we never know when we have the opportunity to change a life forever, maybe even our own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    highly recommend you read this book

    I especially appreciated the "forgiveness " aspect.
    Who are we not to regive, when the Lord forgave our sins and
    died on the cross for us.
    My book club gave this book on average a 9 out of a 10 top rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Excellent story of love and learning to forgive

    I really enjoyed this book. The historical accuracy was certainly a plus. I loved the learning how to forgive lesson and how eventually love was able to blossom through all the pain. Good certainly triumphs over evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    A lovely book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Mr. Crin

    Yeah, forget it....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Great read

    I read this book for school and loved it, i would recomend this to book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Fabulous

    I just don't think you can go wrong with Andy Andrews. My daughter (17) and I both devour every book of his that we can get our hands on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Loved this book

    I thought book was an incredibly easy book to read with a heart warming message. I connected with the characters and laughed and cried along with them. Andy Andrews is a writer that everyone can read, and everyone will enjoy. If you enjoy this book, also check out Andrew's "The Time Travler's Gift." Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Wonderful Blend of History and Fiction

    It is difficult to classify this book, but it is easy to call it excellent. Andy has done it again. He takes truth and mixes it with imagination and weaves them into a story that reads like a novel but feels like an autobiography. It is hard to describe the book without giving away some of the wonders of the story, and I'll not be guilty of writing a spoiler. This is a wonderful, heartwarming book. Read it, you will be pleased you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    An amazing book

    I really enjoyed reading The Heart Mender by Andy Andrews. In typical Andy Andrews style, he has you from the beginning in an engaging story with a great lesson about life. In my opinion, one of the key skills to learn in life is how to forgive and Andy masterfully covers that skill in this great book. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    History buffs, Take note!

    From the first page to the last page I was intrigued! When a book can urge you to continue the pursuit of knowledge, that's when you know you've found a good one. I have shared my love for this book with everyone I can.

    Andy Andrews had his "honey do" list turn into a lesson in history and lesson on forgiveness. When he realizes his family home could have been the site of WWII history he takes his findings to neighbors and friends to find out who the people were that buried a veritable treasure on his property.

    This book made me want to take world history all over again! So much went unknown without the availability of the internet. Andy Andrews pieced together amzing stories.
    So many people that lived in that time frame are not even aware of what was happening and I love this book for what it has taught me.
    This book teaches history, love, patience, forgiveness and so much more.
    It's a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    Captivating from start to end

    When I started reading the book, it surprised me twofold: first of all, it didn't begin with the actual story I had expected, but with a narration of how the author got to write the book, after finding a box containing WWII artefacts and a photo buried in his backyard. Even more surprising, though, I got captivated by it after reading just the first few pages, something many few books achieve so fast.

    After a few chapters exploring the origin of the artefacts, the author begins with the actual story of how Josef Landerman, Lieutenant of a German U-Boat sent to the Gulf of Mexico, ends up at the mercy of Helen Mason. Helen, a widow who hasn't been able to overcome her ill fortune, is thus confronted with the choice of saving the life of someone wearing the same uniform that killed her husband years ago. How did he end up in such a situation? And, even if Helen decides to help him, what will await him so far from home?

    While focused as a romance with strong attention to the topic of forgiveness and second chances, the book doesn't miss its fair share of adventure and it is a pleasurable read. I can only recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    Great read, inspiring story!

    This is a wonderful book, I fell in love with it after the first few pages and it was hard to put down! A historical book that will grab the attention of history buffs like me and the average non-fiction reader alike. I loved how the flow of the book went, taking you from present day when the author was digging in his backyard, back to World War II and back to present day. For me this was a story of love first and foremost, and forgiveness.

    The book starts out with the author digging in his yard where he finds some old artifacts, he then proceeds to ask around to figure out what they are. Soon the author figures some of it out and we find out about Helen Mason a war widow who finds an injured solider on the beach, nursing him back to health, even after finding out he was a Nazi. You follow Helen in her world where she worked as a waitress, and how her and Josef's relationship bloomed.

    This was a wonderful book, always keeping you on your toes and trying to guess what would happen next. The historical data in it was wonderful, and knowledgeable, and down right interesting. The story of forgiveness and love throughout the book was wonderful and got me thinking about my own life as well as Helen's. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone, I believe this book has something in it for everyone to learn from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Inspirational Masterpiece

    I recently read The Heart Mender by Andy Andrews and was overall very impressed by what I read. The Heart Mender is a story of love, war, friendship, and forgiveness. Helen Mason is a young widow during WWII. Helen is alone with no family and bitter and angry at the Nazi's for taking her husband's life. She works as a waitress during the day and feeds her bitterness at night, allowing her anger to shadow who she is. The story then takes us to the other side of the world where we meet German U-boat officer Lt. Josef Landerman. Overcome with grief over his family's death, he is betrayed by his own country and left for dead where he washes up on Helen's doorstep.

    Although I found this story a little hard to get into, I was intrigued by the details of war that I had never heard of before. Andy Andrews gives you an inner look to the life of early America as well as the inner war between the Nazi's and the "true Germans". The story is based on true history as well as true characters whose names were changed to protect their privacy and anonymity. This gives it a ring of truth and reality that make it impossible to put down. For a Christian Fiction novel, there was very little talk about God. Although I appreciate the fact that this makes the book more applicable to the average person, I was also a little bit disappointed and felt that it made it lacking somehow. If this book were to have a 'moral of the story' it would definitely be about forgiveness and the healing power of love. At the end, Andy adds a "Where are they now?" portion as well as a readers guide that gives the reader further insight into the character's true lives.

    I would most definitely recommend The Heart Mender: A Story of Second Chances to my readers. If you like romance, war, or historical fiction, you will love this book.

    **I received a free copy of this book through Thomas Nelson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Moving True Story

    When digging up a withering wax myrtle tree, Author Andy Andrews stumbles upon an old metal container. He finds inside it several Nazi artifacts and pictures, believed to have belonged to Lt. Josef Landermann. Being an author, Andy wants find out more about this man. He discovers that Josef died during WWII when a German U-boat went down in the Gulf of Mexico.




    Andy puts his other writing projects aside and begins interviewing people about Josef. Surprisingly, he stumbles upon a startling truth, Josef Landermann is still alive.




    Andy Andrews has cleverly written this delightful true story. I was instantly hooked to this intriguing tale of life, sacrifice and forgiveness. This is a must read.







    I would like to thank Thomas Nelson for sending me this copy to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    Absolutely Captivating!

    The raging Second World War in 1942 and its shocking venture up to the Gulf shores of Alabama. A torn American soul forever hostile to a world depleted of her husband killed in voluntary work overseas, and a shattered German officer left without any reason to live. Both lives cross in unbelievable circumstances, only to mend each other's broken hearts and create a new single path on their journey. Dramatic and horrifying, the fear of Nazi invasion and influence terrorizes throughout the breathtaking tale of The Heart Mender.

    Prepare to be swept away. This story will linger in your heart and braid itself with your spirit permanently. The tensions between the opposing forces within the War are attempting to manifest between the lead characters of Josef and Helen. The beauty of their relationship unfolds over a tapestry of reasons in need of forgiveness. It is enough cause for the reader to examine one's own state of mind regardless of how petty or severe the circumstances may be.

    Andrews brilliantly divides up his storytelling with the introduction, conclusion...and tale in between. The account is mesmerizing to say the least. The fact that this is a true story is the icing on the cake. The book concludes with a Where Are They Now? followed by a helpful Readers Guide. The finale will take your breath away. I am absolutely in love with this story. Andrews' words will stand the test of time. The Heart Mender is a lovely, unforgettable blessing.

    This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Reading!

    I couldn't put this book down! It was a great love story and a fascinating history lesson, too. I had no idea that all this went on. It's not something that we ever read about in our history books. It was so interesting to me, that I actually went online and read more about these German submarines in American waters so close to where I live.

    This is defintely my favorite book by Andy Andrews. There are some interesting facts about this submarine that connect it to the area of today's terrible oil mess in the Gulf of Mexico. So, that made it an even more timely piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Love and second chances

    Every so often you find a really good historical novel.
    Written by best-selling author Andy Andrews, http://theheartmender.andyandrews.com "The Heart Mender" tells a story of love and loss in a time of war.

    Albeit based on facts mostly unknown by most of us, namely the presence of U boats in the Gulf of Mexico during WW 2, this novel is about the many emotions experienced by people in times of trouble and hardship.

    It is fast paced, well written and has all the ingredients which makes it a story you will not want to put down: love, hate, murder, intrigue, deception and survival.

    This is indeed a compelling story of second chance, of forgiveness and real people (names were changed to protect their privacy) in a small town along the northern gulf coast faced with the realities of war.

    I find it a wonderful read and I heartily give it 4 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4