Customer Reviews for

Heart Of Darkness: An Adventure/Literary Classic By Joseph Conrad!

Average Rating 4
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hear of Darkness

The book to me was okay. I mean if you like a book that sounds like a poem all the way threw it then it's probably going to be a book for you. Other than that the book was good. I like the story of a man who is trying to get a job but ends up fighting for his life. When...
The book to me was okay. I mean if you like a book that sounds like a poem all the way threw it then it's probably going to be a book for you. Other than that the book was good. I like the story of a man who is trying to get a job but ends up fighting for his life. When I first read the title Heart Of Darkness I thought it was going to be about something totally different. But see surprise can be a good thing and in this case it was.

but one thing about the book i liked was that i couldn't really connect with the book. because alot of books i read i can. so maybe it was the fact that i chose a book i dont' usually read to read instead.

posted by zebrakowz on January 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Didn't grab my heart

I'm somewhat torn. The English Major in me would really like to give this book a higher rating. The reader in me has a hard time doing so.

I thought that approaching it a second time as a seasoned English Major would result in a better perspective. Admittedly, I thi...
I'm somewhat torn. The English Major in me would really like to give this book a higher rating. The reader in me has a hard time doing so.

I thought that approaching it a second time as a seasoned English Major would result in a better perspective. Admittedly, I think I got more out of the plot this time and see much more depth and symbolism in the book...but I still found myself struggling to stay awake at times.

What's sad is that this is not necessarily a slow paced or boring book. It's filled with exploration, political intrigue, violent deaths, savage attacks and other moments of suspense and tension. And yet, it is also filled with lengthy monologues on the nature of man and the perspectives of our narrator Marlow (who is actually a secondary narrator if you want to get technical, since he's telling the story to an unnamed narrator who appears very little in the book at all...a very strange setup).

The craft or structure of this novel is intriguing and I suspect is a large reason why this is such a classic. As I mentioned briefly above, the narrative style is a little different. The "official" narrator of the book is an unnamed man sitting on a boat. However, the meat of the story is actually told by another man on the boat (Marlow) who is actually telling this story to our unnamed narrator. There are also segments where Marlow is re-telling something someone else said to him or something he read, thus leaving us three or four times removed from the actual events of the story. His spoken narrative is also sometimes a little disjointed and sometimes conversational as though he's lost his train of thought while telling the story or he's distracted or interrupted by something or someone on the ship with our actual narrator.

The book is full of symbolism and allusion. It can definitely be taken as a commentary on many different aspects of Africa, colonialism, Imperialism, savagery, humanity, principles, beliefs, truths, and many other high level themes. However, the book doesn't seem to come up with any concrete answers about any of these and even leaves us in the darkness as to exactly which commentary we should be paying attention to. Truly, many social commentaries leave off just short of prescribing a plan of action, but they generally make their arguments fairly clear. In the case of Heart of Darkness, I feel like I came away more muddled than when I began. Yes, I acknowledge that oppression of so-called savages is not to be condoned, but I knew that ahead of time...and honestly, I'm not entirely sure that oppression is the core meaning of the novel.

I appreciate that this novel has depth to it that I don't understand. It's definitely a difficult novel that's hard to truly access. It's high level plot and themes are intriguing, but I don't feel that they stand well enough on their own to warrant an outrageous following. In order to truly appreciate this book, I feel that it requires very in-depth study and discussion of weeks or months. Maybe I'm just looking for too much, and if that's the case, then my view of the book goes down even more. Maybe I'm just obtuse and missing the point, which means my review is unfortunately lower than it should be.

Whatever the reason, I don't love this novel and don't anticipate reading it again. If somebody else reads it and loves it and wants to discuss it with me and turn me around, I'd gladly open a discussion, but for now, I stick by my rating.

posted by theokester on June 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't grab my heart

    I'm somewhat torn. The English Major in me would really like to give this book a higher rating. The reader in me has a hard time doing so.

    I thought that approaching it a second time as a seasoned English Major would result in a better perspective. Admittedly, I think I got more out of the plot this time and see much more depth and symbolism in the book...but I still found myself struggling to stay awake at times.

    What's sad is that this is not necessarily a slow paced or boring book. It's filled with exploration, political intrigue, violent deaths, savage attacks and other moments of suspense and tension. And yet, it is also filled with lengthy monologues on the nature of man and the perspectives of our narrator Marlow (who is actually a secondary narrator if you want to get technical, since he's telling the story to an unnamed narrator who appears very little in the book at all...a very strange setup).

    The craft or structure of this novel is intriguing and I suspect is a large reason why this is such a classic. As I mentioned briefly above, the narrative style is a little different. The "official" narrator of the book is an unnamed man sitting on a boat. However, the meat of the story is actually told by another man on the boat (Marlow) who is actually telling this story to our unnamed narrator. There are also segments where Marlow is re-telling something someone else said to him or something he read, thus leaving us three or four times removed from the actual events of the story. His spoken narrative is also sometimes a little disjointed and sometimes conversational as though he's lost his train of thought while telling the story or he's distracted or interrupted by something or someone on the ship with our actual narrator.

    The book is full of symbolism and allusion. It can definitely be taken as a commentary on many different aspects of Africa, colonialism, Imperialism, savagery, humanity, principles, beliefs, truths, and many other high level themes. However, the book doesn't seem to come up with any concrete answers about any of these and even leaves us in the darkness as to exactly which commentary we should be paying attention to. Truly, many social commentaries leave off just short of prescribing a plan of action, but they generally make their arguments fairly clear. In the case of Heart of Darkness, I feel like I came away more muddled than when I began. Yes, I acknowledge that oppression of so-called savages is not to be condoned, but I knew that ahead of time...and honestly, I'm not entirely sure that oppression is the core meaning of the novel.

    I appreciate that this novel has depth to it that I don't understand. It's definitely a difficult novel that's hard to truly access. It's high level plot and themes are intriguing, but I don't feel that they stand well enough on their own to warrant an outrageous following. In order to truly appreciate this book, I feel that it requires very in-depth study and discussion of weeks or months. Maybe I'm just looking for too much, and if that's the case, then my view of the book goes down even more. Maybe I'm just obtuse and missing the point, which means my review is unfortunately lower than it should be.

    Whatever the reason, I don't love this novel and don't anticipate reading it again. If somebody else reads it and loves it and wants to discuss it with me and turn me around, I'd gladly open a discussion, but for now, I stick by my rating.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Hear of Darkness

    The book to me was okay. I mean if you like a book that sounds like a poem all the way threw it then it's probably going to be a book for you. Other than that the book was good. I like the story of a man who is trying to get a job but ends up fighting for his life. When I first read the title Heart Of Darkness I thought it was going to be about something totally different. But see surprise can be a good thing and in this case it was.

    but one thing about the book i liked was that i couldn't really connect with the book. because alot of books i read i can. so maybe it was the fact that i chose a book i dont' usually read to read instead.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Dream-Like and Brutal

    This is probably one of the best novels I have read, and its place in the English canon is well deserved. I don't agree with the Achebe line of criticism. Even setting aside the question of Conrad's personal beliefs, which don't necessarily accord with Achebe's assesment, I think it's hard to argue that the book is anything but negative on the European, colonialist outlook. It is true that you could read and celebrate the brutality and dehumanization of the Africans herein, but to do that you would have to overlook a lot of the text. Obviously not at all coincidentally, it would be similar to but more willfully ignorant than people taking Apocalypse Now as a pro-war movie. On that note, I strongly look forward to the movie or book that, much like Coppola did for Vietnam, presents an explicit adaptation of this book to American brutality, exploitation, and imperialism in Afghanistan and Iraq. I think this book should be taught in more high schools so that more people are exposed to its commentary on those kinds of affronts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    heart of darkness? more like heart of boredom...

    After reading the first chapter of Heart of Darkness, I was left half-asleep, bored, and confused. I had predicted that I would grow to love the book and that Conrad¿s intense way of putting things would help me become a more analytical reader, but honestly as I continued to read the book, the more uninterested and baffled I became. The book followed a story set in Africa, on a river labeled the Congo. The story is recollected by a sea captain named Marlow, who told the story while on a ship in the Thames River. Marlow went to Africa to take command of a ship that was responsible for transporting ivory. He discovered some insane stuff in Africa stuff that changed his life. He befriended cannibals, obsessed over a man, had his ship sunk by his own boss, watched a newfound friend get stabbed through the chest then killed, and he even went a little crazy. Sounds like fun right? Wrong. Like I stated earlier, the story is dull and hard to read. The novel is also filled with much futility, and I think that¿s one of the main reasons that I loathed it so terribly much. For example, Marlow obsessed over meeting Kurtz, an agent for the company who collected more ivory than all the others combined. Marlow¿s consumed with desire to meet Kurtz, because he is convinced that they are alike. Not only does he find out that Kurtz is horrible, but Kurtz died almost right after we met him. Another thing that happened in vain, was them blowing up a hill for absolutely no reason. It was basically just busy work to keep the slaves active. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, and everybody has different ideas on what is pointless and what isn¿t. When it comes to my opinion on the book, straight up I will tell you that I hate it and it¿s horrible and I wish this torture upon no one. But hey, somebody out there might actually enjoy the story so the best way to find out if it¿s the right book for you or not, would be to pick up the narrative and ignore my views on it and form your own opinion. Have fun!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2002

    The Horror! The Horror!

    A moral journey and an account of how lust for power overpowered one man's soul, heart of darkness is without a doubt one of the greatest stories ever written. Conrad has a command over words similar to Joyce, and some passages are so poetic they make you gasp. This is especially amazing considering English was his third language! Not only is it thought-provoking and meaningful as a parable, but it is also an absorbing read strictly as an adventure story. The most common complaint I've heard about this book is its wordiness. However, in my opinion no extraneous words are included, every one contributes to the nightmare-like atmosphere. If you want succinct writing that says nothing, give up and read Hemingway. If you can't understand this, you shouldn't be criticizing it. That said, this is a truly great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2000

    Good Storytelling

    I felt I was sitting across from Marlow, who is telling the story of his experience in the Congo. This novel is different from most in that it is written so that the reader is listening to someone's story related rather than the reader feeling s/he is there as the story happens. The style matches that of someone telling you his experience as you listen. This makes the style somewhat choppy and sometimes confusing as to who is speaking, the narrator or another character. Nonetheless, I found myself gripped by the tale. I read the book in one sitting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    Midna's bio updated

    Name : Midna<p>Gender : &female<p>Age : 23<p>Species : 75% twilight elf 25% dragon<p>Rank : queen of twilight<p>Looks : long black, waist length hair with streaks of turquoise. Turquoise eyes with a white cat-like pupil which gives away the fact that she is part dragon. Her skin is a silvery color. She wears a tight fitting black jumpsuit that has no sleeves and a turquoise collar. She has tight fitting black ankle boots that have a 3 inch heel. She hasa black armband on the upper part of her arms. She stands at 5'3 and is very slender. She has long fingers. When she is in dragon form, she has black scales and turquoise wing membranes. Her claws, spikes, and horns are turquoise.<p>Crush : Eragon<p>Current Relationship : Eragon<p>Kids : Zelda(dirty blonde hair that is always braided and blue eyes, &female, forced), Rift(spiky black hair and blue eyes, &male), and Hylia(light brown hair and green eyes, &female)<p>Personality : sharp tounge, kind of prickly sometimes<p>Family : Moon(mother; deceased), James(father; deceased), Rift(brother; unknown where he is), Zelda(daughter), Rift#2(son), Hylia(daughter)<p>Weapons : magic, bow and arrows, a rapier, daggers, claws, wings, tail, teeth, dark magic<p>Abilities : can use magic, can use dark magic, can control darkness and twilight, can create eternal twilight if angered, can turn into a dragon<p>Friends : Eragon, Zach<p>Enemies : Ganondorf<p>Dragon : ...<p>Dragon-Crush : none yet...Likes : darkness, twilight, nighttime, Eragon<p>Dislikes : bright things<p>History : don't ask<p>Siggy :<br>Q&upsilon&epsilon&epsilon&eta M&iota&delta&eta&alpha &sigma&fnof &tau<_>h&epsilon &tau&omega&iota<_>l&iota<_>gh&tau &real&epsilon&alpha<_>lm<p>Theme Song : Dark Horse by Katie Perry and All about that base by Meghan Trainer<p>Other : ask<p>&nbsp;<p> &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; Midna&#9830<p>&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;<p>Name : Sunny Luna<p>Name she goes by : Sunny or Luna<p>Gender : &female<p>Age : 39 years<p>Species : Nightwing-Sandwing-Seawing hybrid<p>Rank : ...<p>Looks : body build of a Sandwing. Turquoise scales. Black horns and claws. Violet eyes. Poison tipped tail. Scattered silver scales on underside of wings. Legs fade to silver towards the talons. Talons are all silver. Wingspan of 90 feet and height of 15 feet.<p>Crush : Firnen...<p>Mate : ...<p>Dragonets : ...<p>Personality : meet me<p>Weapons : fire, wings, tail, poison, claws, fangs, spikes, head, horns<p>Abilities : can read minds, breathe fire, poison enemies with tail, can breathe underwater<p>Likes : fish, heat, swimming, desert, sun<p>Dislikes : cold<p>History : don't ask<p>Siggy : &#9788 S&upsilon&eta&eta&gamma &#10023 L&upsilon&eta&alpha &#9788<p>Theme Song : Your lips are moving by Meghan Trainer<p>Other : ask!<p>&nbsp;<p> &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; Sunny Luna&#9788

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    Tsunami's Bio

    Name: Tsunami<p>
    Gender: (&female)<p>
    Species: A Blue Typhoonerang dragon from How to Train Your Dragon.<p>
    Age: 40 years (dragonet)<p>
    Looks: Look up 'httyd typhoonerang' on Google Images. Her body scales are a sea blue, and her belly scales are a pearly white. Bright orange eyes with black cat pupils. There are two black backward-curving horns on the back of her head. Her wings are very big compared to her body, and their membranes are the same color as her body scales. Long, whiplike tail.10 feet long from front talon to tailtip, 4 ft tall, and a wingspan of 19 feet.<p>
    Personality: Cheerful and curious. She is always nosing around in everything and often gets into trouble. Is a big-time pest. She turns into a wild demon in a fight, though.<p>
    History: I'm a dragonet! I have no history!<p>
    Crush: <p>
    Mate: Are you kidding me?!<p>
    Dragonets: Dragonets don't have dragonets...<p>
    Parents & Family: Unknown. Since she came, she sticks around with Saphira most of the time.<p>
    Weapons: Teeth, horns, claws, tail. She is not quite old enough to breathe fire yet.<p>
    Likes: Forests, water, just about any type of fish, chasing people and other dragons, nosing around, being a pest.<p>
    Dislikes: Plains, napping, confinement, depressed people & dragons, stiff people & dragons, eels.<p>
    Other: Go and find out.<p>
    - &star Tsun&alpha<_>m&iota &star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    ♦ S&tau&sigma&pi<_>m's &beta&iota&sigma ♦

    Full Name : Stormbringer<p>Name she goes by : Storm<p>Gender : &female<p>Age : 300 years<p>Species : Icewing, Rainwing, Skrill, Mountain dragon hybrid<p>Rank : captain of the Wonderbolts and heir to the throne<p>Looks : scales shift color with very strong emotions. But scales are normly light grey with whiteish-yellow lightning bolts on her sides. When she is in battle, her scales turn very dark grey. Her eyes are electric blue. Her pupils are like a cat's pupil. She has the body build of a mountain dragon(see the cover of the book: dragonart {l think it has beginners included with it in the title}). She has a mane of icicle-like horns on the back of her neck that are stormy blue. She has five toes on each talon and a claw on the end of each one. She has a forked tounge like a snake and it is black. She stands at 40 feet tall and has a length of 45 feet. Her wingspan is 132 feet. Her tail narrows to a whip-thin end and it ends in a wicked spike. She is very menacing.<p>Crush : Kyros<p>Mate : &hearts Kyros Forever &hearts<p>Dragonets : Crystal(silver with diamonds embedded between her scales and blue eyes, &female), Pine(dark green with gold eyes, &male), Galaxy(black with silver, gold, pale pink, lavander, and pale green swirls like galaxies, &female), Scarlet(ruby red with golden eyes, oddly a Skywing, &female), Dusk(dark grey with orange lightning bolts on her sides, &female, forced), Night(black with scattered silver scales on the underside of his wings, &male, forced)<p>Family : Saphira(adoptive mother), Thorn(adoptive father, unactive), Kyros(mate), Galaxy(daughter), Pine(son), Night(son), Crystal(daughter), Scarlet(daughter), Dusk(daughter) <p>Personality : fiery temper when set off, easily agitated, kind and gentle with dragonets<p>Rider : Zach<p>Friends : Kyros, Saphira(adoptive mother), Thorn(adoptive father, unactive), Firnen(adoptive father), Mallory, Zach, Zoey<p>Enemies : Xtoski, The Master, Zoetis, Bonedeath<p>Likes : storms, lightning, flying, Kyros, dragonets<p>Dislikes : Xtoski, The Master, Zoetis, Bonedeath<p>Weapons : fire, ice, lightning, Rainwing Venom, electricly charged ice, electricly charged fire, wings, tail, claws, head, horns, fangs<p>Abilities : can shoot lightning, can withstand a temprature of up to 1,000 degrees, can breathe an electricly charged ice and fire, can breathe ice, can breathe fire, can shoot a deadly venom that melts anything living that it touches<p>History : don't even ask<p>Siggy : &starf S&tau&sigma&pi<_>m &#9830 &beta&pi&iota&eta<_>g&epsilon&pi &starf<p>Other : ask!<p>&nbsp;<p> &nbsp; ~Stormbringer<p>&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;<p>WARNING<br>Lightning flickers across scales when extremly agitated or mad. Do not attempt to touch her. Severe injuries will occur. Also, take note that whatever you are doing, stop doing it imediatly. If you do not, severe injuries will occur. Please take precations of this.<br>WARNING<p>&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;<p>SCALE GUIDE<br>red=mad<br>black=your-gonna-die<br>pale green=fear<br>white=pain<br>yellow=happy/excited/joyful <br>orange=bored<br>amber=interested<br>light blue=calm<br>purple=guilty<br>silver=relaxed<br>rose pink=love<br>copper=sick<br>dark red=really mad <br>dark blue=annoyed<br>blue-grey=sad<br>gold=suspisious <br>very pale blue=cold<br>magenta=embarrased<p>Use this guide well, young one.<p>&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;<p> &nbsp; ~S&tau<_>orm&beta<_>ri&eta<_>ger

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2015

    Stargazer's bio

    Name ::: Stargazer<p>Gender ::: female<p>Age ::: 300 years<p>Breed ::: Nightwing<p>Rank ::: Trainee<p>Looks ::: standard Nightwing. Few extra scales. Ring of silver scales around each eye and a star-shaped silver scale on her forehead. Black scales. Scattered silver scales on the underside od her wings like the night sky. Bright purple claws. Dark dark blue eyes.<p>Crush ::: ...<p>Mate ::: ...<p>Dragonets ::: ...<p>Rider ::: Eragon<p>Personality ::: meet me<p>Weapons ::: fire, claws, teeth, wings, tail, horns, head<p>Abilitites ::: can read minds, can foretell the future, can breathe fire<p>Siggy ::: &star&starf S&tau&alpha&pi<_>g&alpha&zeta&epsilon&pi &starf&star<p>Other ::: ask!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2015

    Link's bio

    Name - Link<p>Gender - &male<p>Age - 100(looks about 20)<p>Rank - Guard<p>Looks - if you know or play the game Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess, he looks like the Link from the game. If you don't, he has brownish-blonde hair and sharp blue eyes. He is normally an elf but he is a shape-shifter. He is very muscular. He has a forest green tunic and brown leather gauntlets. He stands at 5'6.<p>Wife/Mate - Zoey<p>Kids - Esme(daughter)<p>Dragon/Rider - ...<p>Dragon/Rider-crush - ...<p>Personality - meet me<p>Weapons - well that's hard. I'll just do for elf form. Bow and arrows, sword, shield, hands, feet<p>From - Hyrule<p>Likes - Zoey, Esme, ask<p>Dislikes - Zoetis<p>Friends - Zoey, Zelda<p>Enemies - Zoetis<p>Siggy - L&iota&eta&kappa&#10023<p>Other - ask<p>SWORD<br>CXXX(::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2015

    Saphira's Bio

    Name :: Saphira<p>Nicknames :: Saph, Phira, Ira, Pira, Hira<p>Gender :: &female<p>Age :: 693 years<p>Breed :: same as Saphira from the movie plus Icewing and Rainwing<p>Rank :: tribe alpha female<p>Looks ::<br>SCALES-sapphire blue with a few flecks of pale blue. Her muzzle is icy blue<br>EYES-sapphire blue with a ring of white around the pupil<br>HEIGHT-85 feet<br>LENGTH-50 feet<br>WINGSPAN-195 feet<br>BODY BUILD-body build like an Icewing<br>OTHER FEATURES-she has sapphires embedded between her scales. Her wings are feathery to the touch but look leathery. Her wings membranes used to be light blue but now they are white(see history for explanation). She has a mane of icicle-like pale blue horns on the back of neck. Her tail narrows to a whip-thin end and she has spikes hidden in her tail. She has serated claws that curve inwards and she has very thick scales.<p>Crush :: Firnen<p>Mate :: Firnen<p>Dragonets :: Storm(she was adopted) and Sunny(biological daughter, sunny gold scales with emerald green wing membranes. She has the body build of a Sandwing but she doesn't have e venomous tail tip, &female)<p>Family :: Sunny(mother; deceased), Fjord(father; Icewing; deceased), Ruby(sister; deceased), Dark Saphira(evil twin), Sunny#2(daughter), Firnen(mate), Storm(adopted daughter)<p>Weapons :: fire, ice, venom, wings, tail, teeth, spikes, claws<p>Abilities :: she has venom in her cancine teeth that she can inject, can breathe fire, she can breathe a deadly ice breath, great flyer, she has spikes hidden in her tail that she can shoot like a Deadly Nad<_>der<p>History :: not revealing anything. Except for the fact that she died and was brought back by Firnen.<p>Likes :: fire, ice, flying, fish, Firnen, dragonets<p>Dislikes :: stolen fish, Dark Saphira<p>Enemies :: Dark Saphira<p>Siggy :: &#9788&#10023&Omega<_>S&alpha&rho<_>h&iota&pi&alpha&Omega&#10023&#9788<p>Other :: ask!<p>&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;<p>&nbsp;~Saphira

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2015

    Fear addon

    Rider: Esme

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2015

    ♞ Nayara's Bio ♞

    Name &#10023 Nayara ( NY-AR-UH )<p>
    Gender &#10023 Mare ( &female )<p>
    Species &#10023 A Hurrok from Tamora Pierce's The Immortals series.<p>
    Age &#10023 Full grown<p>
    Appearance &#10023 Looks like a white horse with large black eagle wings. She has sharp talons instead of hooves. Her eyes are bloodred and forward-facing with round pupils. Sharp fangs. Long, grey mane and tail. Her voice is slightly screechy. Hurroks have a mildly foul odor, so she washes herself frequently for the sake of others. Hurroks are carnivorous.<br>
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<p>
    Personality &#10023 meet me!<p>
    History &#10023 Was raised in the mountains with others of her kind. A pair of Wyverns attacked her when she was flying, and she crash-landed here. The Wyverns inflicted much damage to her, making it difficult for her to fly now.<p>
    Other &#10023 Is one of the extremely rare good Hurroks. She hopes to stay in the tribe, even though she is what she is. Likes flying, hunting, mountains, and company of her kind. Dislikes cold, flat plains, rudeness, and being lonely. Her distress and battle screeches are bloodcurdling and carry for miles.<p>
    Anything else, just ask.<p>
    ~ &#9822 N&alpha&gamma&alpha&pi&alpha &#9822

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2015

    Poppy's Quick Bio

    Name -- Poppy. <br>
    Age -- Timeless. <br>
    Species -- A Chimaera from the I Am Number 4 series. <br>
    Gender -- Male. <br>
    Appearance -- He's a shapeshifter. So . . . I'll just describe him when necessary. <br>
    Persona -- He is very protective, and a tad insane. <br>
    Likes -- Clara. <p>
    I don't know what else to put, honestly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2015

    To astara

    But ur innactive so it doesnt count

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    Ebonyflame's bio

    Name :: Ebonyflame<p>Nicknames :: Ebony, Bony, Flame, Flamy<p>Gender :: &female<p>Age :: 100 years<p>Rank :: Trainee<p>Breed :: nightwing Skywng hybrid<p>Looks :: ebony-black scales with an irage flam on he forehead. Her wing membranes are orange and she has black diamonds between her scales. Her eye are gold with snake-like pupils and she has a ring of amber drops around each eye. Se stands at 40 feet tall and has a wingspan of 120 feet. She has a length of 20 feet. She has two orange horns on the back of her head and alin of orange spikes running along her spine. She has an orange flame at the end of her tail that flares red when mad. She has 4 toes on each paw and each toe has an orange claw. She has one backwar facing toe on her hind paws<p>Crush :: ...<p>Mate :: ...<p>Dragonets :: uh...<p>Rider :: none<p>Rider-Crush :: Colbalt<p>Weapons :: fire, teeth, tail, claws, head, horns, wings<p>Abilities :: can read minds, has telepathy to anyone, can breathe fire, has enormous wings that me her a fast flyer<p>Likes :: fire, flying, opne sky, open areas, mountain ranges<p>Dislikes :: cold, not flying, ice, closed in areas<p>Friends :: Scorchie, Astra[?], Glory[?], Colbalt<p>Enemies :: Xtoski, Bonedeath, squirrels<p>Personality :: meet me<p>Family :: all unknown or dead, is adopted by Scorchie<p>History :: don't ask<p>Siggy :: &#9788&Sigma&beta&sigma&eta&gamma &#9830 Fl&alpha<_>m&epsilon &#9788<p>Other :: can't go near water<p>Other other :: ask!<p>~Ebobyflame

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    Addon to gemma/star theif's bio

    Gemma's new nickname is Gemm!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    Addon to saphira's and kyros' bios

    Saphira's nickname is Saphirs, and Kyros' nickname is Kynod!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2015

    Nyla

    Name: Nyla/ Age: 16 / Looks: Blonde hair, green eyes. / Crjsh: eragon. / other... ask meh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9