Customer Reviews for

Heart and Soul

Average Rating 4
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

fans of Ms. Binchy will have a wonderful time reading her latest multifaceted look at relationships

Cardiologist Dr. Clara Casey knows how far she has fallen from grace with her new position as the head of t St. Brigid¿s Hospital. She agreed to a one year stint at the always in financial need clinic while trying to resuscitate her medical career. She does no care ab...
Cardiologist Dr. Clara Casey knows how far she has fallen from grace with her new position as the head of t St. Brigid¿s Hospital. She agreed to a one year stint at the always in financial need clinic while trying to resuscitate her medical career. She does no care about revising her dead marriage as she knows it collapsed due to her cheating spouse¿s wandering penis. She also has two adult daughters who are demanding and spoiled and her ex keeps sniffing around her.

Clara plans to do the best she can at St. Brigid¿s and ignore her family as much as possible. She finds her staff hardworking and cheerful in spite of lousy hours, crappy pay, and fractious patients. Her Polish assistant Ania is bright and hardworking although Clara knows if she had been in Ireland she could have been one of her former husband¿s trophies. Instead she is an indispensable addition to the staff. Nurse Fiona Ryan brings professional care taking to the patients having moved past her personal disaster of NIGHTS OF RAIN AND STARS. Outside the clinic Clara meets friendly people especially at a local restaurant. Clara is having the time of her life and considers extending her stay though her daughters and her ex object; like they have a vote on her life.

The fascination with this fine entry by Maeve Binchy is that the star of the story line Clara is off page more often than not as the spotlight is frequently on the support cast in and out of the hospital; the amazement is how well the plot stays focused even meandering to other countries. The cast is strong as always and their lives interweave in a much more complex convoluted intricacies that make the DNA matrix look like a preschool puzzle. With the return of characters like the nurse from previous novels, fans of Ms. Binchy will have a wonderful time reading her latest multifaceted look at relationships.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

What a boring book

Was never much of a fan of Ms Binchy's books and this one does not bring me back into the fold. The characters in this story are paper thin, the plot line is predictable. I was hoping there would be more "Irishnish" in this book. The only book I ever enjoyed was the ...
Was never much of a fan of Ms Binchy's books and this one does not bring me back into the fold. The characters in this story are paper thin, the plot line is predictable. I was hoping there would be more "Irishnish" in this book. The only book I ever enjoyed was the early "Tara Road"; since then this is boring.

posted by Gram948 on March 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fans of Ms. Binchy will have a wonderful time reading her latest multifaceted look at relationships

    Cardiologist Dr. Clara Casey knows how far she has fallen from grace with her new position as the head of t St. Brigid¿s Hospital. She agreed to a one year stint at the always in financial need clinic while trying to resuscitate her medical career. She does no care about revising her dead marriage as she knows it collapsed due to her cheating spouse¿s wandering penis. She also has two adult daughters who are demanding and spoiled and her ex keeps sniffing around her.<BR/><BR/>Clara plans to do the best she can at St. Brigid¿s and ignore her family as much as possible. She finds her staff hardworking and cheerful in spite of lousy hours, crappy pay, and fractious patients. Her Polish assistant Ania is bright and hardworking although Clara knows if she had been in Ireland she could have been one of her former husband¿s trophies. Instead she is an indispensable addition to the staff. Nurse Fiona Ryan brings professional care taking to the patients having moved past her personal disaster of NIGHTS OF RAIN AND STARS. Outside the clinic Clara meets friendly people especially at a local restaurant. Clara is having the time of her life and considers extending her stay though her daughters and her ex object; like they have a vote on her life.<BR/><BR/>The fascination with this fine entry by Maeve Binchy is that the star of the story line Clara is off page more often than not as the spotlight is frequently on the support cast in and out of the hospital; the amazement is how well the plot stays focused even meandering to other countries. The cast is strong as always and their lives interweave in a much more complex convoluted intricacies that make the DNA matrix look like a preschool puzzle. With the return of characters like the nurse from previous novels, fans of Ms. Binchy will have a wonderful time reading her latest multifaceted look at relationships.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    Wow, another great read from Maeve Binchy, filled with love, compassion, suspence, and yes, even intrigue, set in a heart clinic in today's Ireland. When Dr. Clara Casey is offered the job of establishing the underfunded clinic she almost turns it down since she has enough on her plate as it is, namely an ex-husband who won't leave her alone, and two recalcitrant daughters who won't grow up.
    But reluctantly she accepts the challenge and to her surprise both she and the cliic survive and prosper, due in great part to a devoted cast of characters who help her meet the demands of their often difficult patients with both humor and understanding. One can't help being touched by sweet Ania, the little Polish girl, whose heart was broen by a cad but finds love again, or cheer the romance of nice Dr. Declan and the beautirul Fiona, or laugh at the antics of the fantastically talented twins, Maud and Simon, who not only cook but finish each other's sentences. These are just a few of the marvelously diverse characters who people this enchanting book and make you laugh, cry, and care. Maeve Binch at her best.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    HEART WARMING AND CHARMING

    There's something comforting about Maeve Binchy's books, a treat to savor and relish, lovely, compelling, warm and heart-warming.
    The charm lies is the characters. All are created so that we can empathize with their every day troubles and disappointments and share their joy at their triumphs. We genuinely care about the wonderful characters.

    Clara, the lead protagonist, is a woman frustrated by having missed out on what she thought would be her defining professional opportunity. She agrees to set up and run the under-funded St. Brigid's Heart Clinic for 12 months and in doing so gathers around her new and interesting characters. She encounters personal problems, Alan, who is asking her for a divorce so he can marry his child girlfriend, her adult daughters, Adi and Linda, who are having their own problems settling down and so on.

    This is a charming blend of laughter and tears full of "Heart and Soul" and wonderful, interesting characters.
    I RECOMMEND!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    What a boring book

    Was never much of a fan of Ms Binchy's books and this one does not bring me back into the fold. The characters in this story are paper thin, the plot line is predictable. I was hoping there would be more "Irishnish" in this book. The only book I ever enjoyed was the early "Tara Road"; since then this is boring.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    WALK DOWN MEMORY LANE

    This book was a great culmination of her former books. What fun to read through and see the characters from previous books brought into this story. This is a great book for readers who have read her other works!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    Loved it!

    Just when you think you¿ll never find another good book, one to comfort you when you are tired and stressed out, one to remind you that life is full of wonderful surprises, and one that introduces you to people you will love like they are your own best friends, Maeve Binchy rescues you with another fabulous novel. If you are already a fan of Maeve Binchy then you will find Heart and Soul is everything you have come to expect in her books. If this is your first introduction to her, you will soon find yourself racing out to gather all her books, and what a treat you are in for!<BR/>As I fully expected, I loved Heart and Soul. It is full of quirky, loveable, interesting characters. The plot is surprising, often going in directions I hadn¿t expected, yet always yielding satisfying conclusions. Many characters from her previous books make appearances and some even have starring roles. It was great to catch up with some of my old friends! I can¿t recommend Heart and Soul highly enough!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    A nice read.

    Characters from other stories are re-visited. Felt like returning to a place and characters you fell in love with and making some new friends.

    An enjoyable book, a quick read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    Great book, easy read, hard to put down.

    I have read most of Maeve Binchy's books and haven't been disappointed an any one of them. Love it when I can find one I haven't read yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Not one of my favorites

    I read about three quarters of this book and put it down. I'm not sure I'll finish it unless I get a renewed spirt of interest. This is the second book by this author and I didn't care for the other one so I'll probably not purchase anymore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Don't buy if you live in Canada

    I live in Canada and bought this book. When I tried to download it, I got a message that said my computer is not authorized to download this book. I contacted Barnes and Noble and didn't even get a response from them. If you live in Canada I wouldn't buy anything from Barnes and Noble and their customer service leaves alot to be desired. I can't review this book because I can't read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awful

    She's loaded this up with cutesy, hardly-believable characters and way too many subplots. I'm done with Maeve. Enjoyed her in the past, but no longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another wonderful Binchy story

    With the US health care raging in the background, and everyone saying how it will be awful it we have to be like the "other"countries, it was a heartwarming and reassuring to see the "other" countries DO take care of their population also. Important health care issues, provider issues, family issues dealing with those with a heath care disability and even illness forcing life change issues are all encompassed in this story. Thrown in this story are also life as a single working parent, teenagers and health care politics, making it a very timely and wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    another great novel from Ireland's queen of fiction: Maeve Binchy

    Heart and Soul is a new paperback by Maeve Binchy. It is published by Orion and its ISBN is 1409102319. Maeve Binchy is my favourite author so my expectations were very high and I was not disappointed. She makes something complex look very easy and that is her great skill and strength. She writes of ordinary people with ordinary problems in a compassionate and easy to read fashion. Somehow their lives interweave to make the tale complete. Occasionally she reintroduces old characters into her novels and she has done that here with great ease. This tale is all heart and appropriately it is set in a Dublin heart clinic. The novel is mainly about the first year of St. Brigid's heart clinic. Dr. Clara Casey initially takes on the role as head of cardiology for a year and she sets about acquiring competent and cheerful staff. Soon the clinic becomes an integral part of the community and a symbol of hope. The story examines Dr. Casey's hectic life, her staffs lives and their patients and their interactions with one another and of course their romances. This is not a sad tale of illness but a story of hope and managing cardiac illness to live a fulfilled life.
    Reviewed by Annette Dunlea author of The Honey Trap and Always and Forever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Heart and Soul - touches the reader's soul

    A lovely story and read, especially on a rainy, cold day.
    Lots of characters, but they are well developed and not too difficult to follow. Ms. Binchy's story shows the changing face of Ireland and the difficulties and opportunities that represents. The main plot is still the basis of life through the ages, finding, developing and keeping meaninful relationships and a purpose in life.
    Her writing reminds me of my favorite author Roseamund Pilchner of
    Scotland.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Another gem in Maeve Binchy's crown.

    New characters and old friends appear in this story and each of them comes to life in Ms. Binchy's unforgetable style. It's like getting a news letter from home. Loved every minute of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Cast of Characters

    This was one of Maeve Binchy's best. The blending of characters from previous books made the reader feel like a walk down "memory lane." The story was riveting from the first page until the very end. If you want a book you literally can't put down, this is it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of her better books

    I really enjoyed this book. I liked the way she intermingled all the characters. She was able to write so you could keep the different characters straight and yet they went on with their daily life. I enjoyed the way she intertwined the lives of each of the main characters. There were some that had many faults and she was not afraid to bring these out... I liked the ending because it brought everyone together and finished the book up nicely. I would highly recommend this book as a good read to my friends

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    Predictable pat and sappy. No conflict that isn't just quickly t

    Predictable pat and sappy. No conflict that isn't just quickly toed up with a sugary bow in a few pages. Focus please!  not all over the plots that you can imagine as a writer. Reminded me go a good fourth grade girl's idea of writing a story.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Catching up with old friends

    I just read 'minding frankie' and realized I had missed something along the way so went back and found this one, enjoyed it greatly, her writing can plod along at times or wander a bit but its kind of a gentle reminder to take a break and enjoy whats around me. Shes big on relationships and I love the strength of the obes she develops throughout each story. Declan was darling and I wanted to wrap him up and bring him home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    N ttyuy. B b

    ?.a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12