BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heart and Soul

Average Rating 4
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

fans of Ms. Binchy will have a wonderful time reading her latest multifaceted look at relationships

Cardiologist Dr. Clara Casey knows how far she has fallen from grace with her new position as the head of t St. Brigid¿s Hospital. She agreed to a one year stint at the always in financial need clinic while trying to resuscitate her medical career. She does no care ab...
Cardiologist Dr. Clara Casey knows how far she has fallen from grace with her new position as the head of t St. Brigid¿s Hospital. She agreed to a one year stint at the always in financial need clinic while trying to resuscitate her medical career. She does no care about revising her dead marriage as she knows it collapsed due to her cheating spouse¿s wandering penis. She also has two adult daughters who are demanding and spoiled and her ex keeps sniffing around her.

Clara plans to do the best she can at St. Brigid¿s and ignore her family as much as possible. She finds her staff hardworking and cheerful in spite of lousy hours, crappy pay, and fractious patients. Her Polish assistant Ania is bright and hardworking although Clara knows if she had been in Ireland she could have been one of her former husband¿s trophies. Instead she is an indispensable addition to the staff. Nurse Fiona Ryan brings professional care taking to the patients having moved past her personal disaster of NIGHTS OF RAIN AND STARS. Outside the clinic Clara meets friendly people especially at a local restaurant. Clara is having the time of her life and considers extending her stay though her daughters and her ex object; like they have a vote on her life.

The fascination with this fine entry by Maeve Binchy is that the star of the story line Clara is off page more often than not as the spotlight is frequently on the support cast in and out of the hospital; the amazement is how well the plot stays focused even meandering to other countries. The cast is strong as always and their lives interweave in a much more complex convoluted intricacies that make the DNA matrix look like a preschool puzzle. With the return of characters like the nurse from previous novels, fans of Ms. Binchy will have a wonderful time reading her latest multifaceted look at relationships.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

What a boring book

Was never much of a fan of Ms Binchy's books and this one does not bring me back into the fold. The characters in this story are paper thin, the plot line is predictable. I was hoping there would be more "Irishnish" in this book. The only book I ever enjoyed was the ...
Was never much of a fan of Ms Binchy's books and this one does not bring me back into the fold. The characters in this story are paper thin, the plot line is predictable. I was hoping there would be more "Irishnish" in this book. The only book I ever enjoyed was the early "Tara Road"; since then this is boring.

posted by Gram948 on March 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Battle arena

    Where bladers battle it out with their beys.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Recommended!

    I love this author and all of her work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Good

    Liked the book-but there were too many characters to keep track of for me. More about Clara's life and less of others. Skipped some pages to get to the end, Good is my over all rating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    rainy day read

    Binchy takes us back to her country where she sets us down in Dublin. The book is simple and a very uncomplicated read. Not a challenge, but sweet enough, to be sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another success

    If you like Maeve Binchy, you will enjoy this book. It reads very similar to the other books in her collections. It is sweet and touching and has a very likable set of characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked this book.

    I have never read Maeve Binchy before but after a trip to Ireland I became interested in reading all things Irish.. I really enjoyed this story, it was interesting and enjoyable. I look forward to reading many more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Awareness of those with whom we live and work

    A person almost needs a 'Cast of Characters' list to keep up with the people involved in this story. Most of the time it was interesting, however, it was a bit long and brought in too many characters. Any reader would be impressed with the care and consideration most of the people had for their friends. Lessons can be learned to use in our own lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Heart and Soul

    I have always enjoyed the books written by Maeve Binchy. They hit upon the life style of Irish people in a manner that reflects on people of every nationality. It keeps the reader interested from beginning to end.
    And she writes in a very soft spoken that is very believe able.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Maeve Binchy always meets expectations.

    Purchased to read for a flight to Europe and was able to keep focued during the flight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This great read is hard to put down. The Irish author brings you into intimate contact with several interesting characters. Plenty of care, compassion, and love.

    Heart and Soul was a great read - I just lucked out by picking this novel from the best seller shelf. I needed a break from the triller and mystery novels that I normally read. This one brought me down to earth pleasantly with Maeve Binchy great prose and story. I fell in love with the characters which kept me always looking forward to picking it up to read some more. Very pleasant surprise. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Heart & Soul

    This book is incredible! I love how the author goes into depth about each and every character, to allow the reader to feel as if they actually know the person. The book is a really easy read, but I enjoyed every page! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    Binchy Takes Us to Ireland...again

    Once again, Maeve Binchy has taken the reader to the wonderful, beautiful land of Ireland. Her characters are believeable and the story reveals how all the characters lives entertwine with each other. A marvelous read, great for a rainy day or a sunny day at the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    A Great Read to Curl up With

    Maeve Binchy makes you want to fly to Ireland and hug her...or maybe move in with her. She writes what she knows about and one of the few books I've read lately without spelling and grammatical errors.

    On a rainy, windy, cold day, when I needed to relax, I was so happy that I had this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    Maeve Binchy just keeps getting better

    Heart and Soul is one of Maeve Binchy's best novels to date. I have enjoyed her stories beginning with Light a Penny Candle. I especially enjoy the way she incorporates characters from her past novels into each new one and continues to "grow" their own storylines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    A light and touching look into characte lives and how there are interwoven through one primary work location.

    Chararacter relationships are developed and explained as they viewed through the working together at a heart clinic in Ireland. very easy reading and delightful build up at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    Once again, the best

    Once again Maeve Binchy has written a stunning character study novel. Everyone of her people are intricately involved with each other and her past novels characters come into play and mesh with one more of her pleasant tales. I never want her to stop!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Maeve binchy's books!

    Maeve Binchy stories are well told about regular people and regular things. There are no far fetched plots, just the kinds of things that happen to people that pull at their heartstrings whether in pain or with joy. They draw you in and you get to know the characters as if they were your family, friends or co-workers. With this one as with all of her stories, when you've finished, you miss the characters and wonder how they are doing. This book brings back several characters from other stories. This happens in quite a few of her novels. I really enjoy these stories. I read them all, then start over again. It's like having a friend to talk to. I recommend all of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was like coming home again.....

    One of the best things about Ms. Binchey's stories is that she ties in the characters from past volumes, so that you feel like you are reading about dear old friends.... often watching them grow up before your very eyes. This is the case in this book about a couple of the younger characters. I truly love her books and buy the hardcovers as I keep them in a collection of her stories. I re-read them often and on occasion, if I know that I can trust the reader to return the volume will share them. At the least, I recommend them to other readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Charming characters, wonderful setting....Binchy is a great writer!

    Once again Maeve Binchy has brought us a good story for a rainy day or lazy and hot summer afternoon. I got this for Mother's Day from my 13 year old and it was a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    Heart and Soul by Maeve Binchy

    I loved this book. Could not put it down. Believable characters well drawn and I cared about them all. Wonderful story of intersecting lives very well put together. Bookworm1FG

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12