BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Heart and the Fist: The Education of a Humanitarian, the Making of a Navy SEAL

Average Rating 4
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Excellent!

    If you ever think you've got it rough, then read this book. Greitens does a wonderful job of telling it like it is in other countries and describing his SEAL training. He manages to do this without coming off as cocky or full of himself. Greitens is the perfect example of how Americans can give back to society. Definitely an American hero!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Spring time brought hope to all that cared

    I just finished this book and enjoyed the stories each and every one. i recommend this book for a new prospective about a male mother Theresa.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    A must read

    I am a retired Teacher/Dean and if I could, I would have every high school student read this book. Eric Greitens started on a humanitarian path at an early age but he soon learned it wasn't enough to help people, you also had to protect them, hence "the Heart and the Fist."

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Inspirational!

    This book has the potential to inspire the reader to do great things! Couldnt put it down!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Compelling Read!

    Well written and inspiring personal story detailing the author's background and how it led him to join the U.S. Navy's SEALs and start his foundation, The Mission Continues, which helps wounded and disabled veterans engage in a second career of service by getting involved in community-based service organizations.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    A must read...

    Full of hard earned wisdom served up with humility and compassion for others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Greiten shows us not only how great our military young men and women are but also that the heart and the fist must go together in order to defeat evil in this world. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Wonderful Heartfelt Story

    Greitens brings you through his life in a way that weaves the good the bad and the inspirational together to inspire you to get involved. His book is not without criticism of volunteer programs of the US military- but he does so in a way that is constructive and makes you think- is there a better balance between security and communication? Read this book if you want a better understanding of the two ways of international diplomacy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    I was in the military for 10 years and had the pleasure to work

    I was in the military for 10 years and had the pleasure to work alongside Seal Teams. These people are incredible. Their mission is beyond fighting and service. This book was truly extraordinary. I didn't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    nice story

    Nice book, not a lterary masterpiece but interesting character and his transformation. Not as good as I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Wonderful Book

    Very inspirational and well written book . Enjoyed every moment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Read it!!

    No chest beating at all. You can feel the man's sincerity in every word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Great book! I really enjoyed his perspective as a humanitarian,

    Great book! I really enjoyed his perspective as a humanitarian, and as an elite warrior. I could feel his transformation from civilian to soldier within the texts, yet also felt as though he never lost touch with the compassion that fueled him throughout his process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Fantastic and heartwarming what a journey !

    Wow want to read again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    great read

    Couldn't put it down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Great book

    Fantastic

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4