Customer Reviews for

A Heart for Home (Home to Blessing Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a terrific early twentieth century novel

    In 1904 in South Dakota, Dr. Astrid Bjorkland provides medical care to the Rosebud Indian Reservation at a time the tribe faces a terrible epidemic. She and her family also try to help the immigrants settling in Blessing, North Dakota. In fact the Bjorkland clan wants to construct a medical facility to help the needy.

    However, Astrid's immediate concern is the ailing Indians whose elders want her to leave until wise men like Red Hawk notice some of their tribe is recovering under her care. While she works diligently as a physician, she also mentors others to provide some medial help. Meanwhile Joshua Landsverk wants a second chance with Astrid who believes God wants her to doctor the needy.

    The third Home to Blessing historical tale (see No Distance Too Far and A Measure of Mercy) is a terrific early twentieth century novel that provides a deep spotlight on the Native American and Norwegian cultures in the Dakotas. The cast is solid but this is Astrid's tale as she wonders what God wants from her when Joshua begins to try to court her. Readers will appreciate this wonderful return to Blessing.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Recommend

    Enjoyed reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    These are such an exciting series

    I just love Lauraine Snelling's whole North Dakota series. She is so detailed in her story line and I love following the life of all of the family members. Everyone needs to read about these families and how life developed in the early 1900s. A great author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Ready for Book #4

    Started reading this series with the very beginning book - An Untamed Land and have fallen in love with the family and Blessing. Hope there is more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    A++++

    excellent read, however wish I had started with the Red River Series first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fitting End To A Wonderful Series - Must Read

    I had the privilege of interviewing Lauraine Snelling, on our radio show "Kingdom Highlights", for her new book, "A Heart For Home" Book Three in the Home To Blessing series published by Bethany House.

    This book picks up with Astrid Bjorklund and her friends on the Rosebud Indian Reservation in South Dakota valiantly trying to stop the measles outbreak that the tribe was dying from. As the only doctor the strain is harder on her but the need is great and there are but a few of them to help. I am not giving the story away to let you know that Astrid does stop the epidemic it is what happens afterward that makes up the rest of the story.

    Again while the focus is on Astrid that does not mean that all the other cast members of Blessing are missing. No indeed, they are all present and all have a part in the ongoing story. Astrid and her family do return to Blessing and she has to decide on her relationship with Joshua Landsverk. Blessing is growing and more characters are introduced into the storyline. It is fun to watch the town grow and develop.

    The people of Blessing are so easy to fall in love with and Ms. Snelling is such a wonderful writer that we easily get caught up in everyone's life. These are wonderful people and we wish that we had these kind of people for our neighbors. There are wonderful themes that flow throughout the story, Family, love of God, friendship, hard work and Ms. Snelling makes them all elegant. To really understand what I am trying to say you would have to read the book. I guarantee that you will enjoy it. I am looking forward to the new series that Ms. Snelling is introducing in November.

    If you missed the interview for "A Heart For Home" and would like to listen to it and/or the other two interviews in this series as well please go to Kingdom Highlights where it is available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Highly recommended book and series.

    Lauraine has a way with wrapping your mind around the characters in this series. And, she touches on areas and subjects that are even tough today, much less in the book's time period. I love the strong female characters and especially care for the tenderness and compassion they share too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2