Customer Reviews for

Heart in the Right Place

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    I just loved it

    I bought this on a whim having heard nothing about it and I just loved it. It's one of those funny, down to earth kind of books that you just can't stop reading. Loved every minute of it and have recommended it over and over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Great Read

    Just finished this, and can't wait to send copies to my sister and cousin! Have already recommended to several friends.

    The love of the author for her rural hometown people and places is evident in every page of this book, but it is never related with a sappy or sweetness. There is always great respect laced with humor based on the insider's ability to enjoy the foibles of their place.

    It is also evident that she misses the fast life she left behind in DC, but comes to see her new situation as that of opportunity not sacrifice.

    The perfect book for your armchair, your commute, or the beach. Enjoy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Insightful, Delightful, Moving Memoir

    Family Circle Magazine¿s first ever, Book of the Month and the winner of Elle Magazine¿s Readers Prize,Heart In The Right Place reaches out and touches the core of the reader. An emotional journey that inspires you to evaluate what is truly important in life and your place in it. The story opens as Carolyn, the accomplished, independently successful attorney receives a phone call from her father¿her mother is being treated for an apparent heart attack in the local emergency room. She immediately packed a quick bag, jumped into her expensive Mercedes and traveled the 500 miles from D.C. to her family¿s hometown in East Tennessee. Her father was a wonderful family doctor and her mom had worked by his side, officially as the receptionist, but more a Jill-of-all-trades, for as far back as she could remember. Now, Carolyn would have to fill-in for her Mom for a ¿few days.¿ Thinking she would be back in D.C. before Monday morning, Carolyn resigned herself to a couple of days of answering phones and whatever else, and then she would get back to the real world where she could make a difference. However, a few days turn to a few weeks and that quickly fades into a few months and the question that plagues the reader, was obviously wreaking havoc on Carolyn¿s mind as well¿will she return to D.C. or stay in East Tennessee? At first she was completely out of her element, feeling inadequate and ineffective. She had always believed that by being an attorney she could make a difference, on the national level, which in turn would help large numbers of people. Now, after months of being immersed in this simple, country community, interacting with the patients on a personal level, she began to see her parents selfless devotion to these people in a new light. Far from the hustle and bustle of high powered politicians and law makers, is where you find the folks who are making a difference, every day¿changing the world with one selfless act of kindness at a time. Carolyn Jourdan¿s memoir is an honest look into the heart of a young woman that discovers she is and has always been, her parents daughter. Chock-full of sweet southern charm, quaint characters that will have you laughing out loud one minute and reaching for a tissue the next, this is a wonderful story. Delightful, insightful and inspirational, Heart In The Right Place is a beautifully written novel that challenges us to rethink our goals, values and perceptions. Life is unpredictable and it¿s human nature to search for your purpose and to want to make a difference, which is very personal and quite difficult. And yet, Carolyn Jourdan shares her intimate journey through the tough questions, self-doubt and ultimately the choice to make sweeping changes in her life. A world away from the high-powered, black-tie gatherings where wheeling and dealing is the name of the game, she found her calling in a country doctor¿s small office. Don¿t miss this one-of-a-kind memoir, Jourdan¿s words will stay with you long after the book has been snugly tucked away on the shelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is absolutely delightful. I couldn't put it down. I laughed and I cried. Carolyn is a very talented writer! I'm looking forward to more work from her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    I'm not sure what others saw in this book because there was no s

    I'm not sure what others saw in this book because there was no story, everything just kind of happened. If you're looking for a page turner, this is not it, I had to read it for book club, and I forced myself to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Very Good! Loved this book. in the Smokey Mountains. Have read 3

    Very Good! Loved this book. in the Smokey Mountains. Have read 3 of Carolyn Jourdan's books and absolutely enjoyed every one of them. I am looking for her newest which is a fiction. Each one is one has been the kind of book that I learn about the Smokey Mountains but also about the nature of man and relationships. Very enjoyable reads and I will be buying her books as gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    A funny, touching story - MUST READ

    This book makes a great gift. The story about Carolyn’s father, a country doctor, as well as her transition from the city back home. The personalities of the doctor’s patients come to life. Through the book, we come to know and love Carolyn and her community of characters from rural Tennessee. The heart provides a focus for the medical experiences that are detailed in the book. The technical detail about the wide-ranging medical practice of a solo doctor makes for an engaging and informative read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    ********

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1