Customer Reviews for

Heart of Darkness

Average Rating 3.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

YOU MUST READ! But only with help...

The Book Heart of Darkness was a very well thought out story. I would not have understood any of the book without someone to guide me through, but when someone guided me then it made sense to me. I would not recommend this book to anyone in high school or even college u...
The Book Heart of Darkness was a very well thought out story. I would not have understood any of the book without someone to guide me through, but when someone guided me then it made sense to me. I would not recommend this book to anyone in high school or even college unless you have someone who has experience and can explain the book to you. There is a crew on a ship called the Nellie Waiting for the tide of the Thames River to push them out to sea. One of the crew members names is Marlow, and he is telling a story about his experience in Africa. The reason this book was confusing to me is beacuse there are two stories being told at the same time. This book changed the way I read books beacuse it makes you pay attention to every littkle detail in books and it takes you to another level.

posted by 125454984615984 on February 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book-terrible e-book

This is a wonderful story. However, this edition of the book on my nook is terrible. There are misspellings and improper punctuation that are not in the original paper edition(s). Definitely not for a student who needs to quote passages.

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Umbreo

    Of course! Next chapter, Raito battles dementor-like things. By shooting blades out of his hands. And ruining a perfectly good pair of gloves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Umbreo

    And then after that, he has to make up excuses because his mom noticed the bike tracks in the yard. And then Luna goes missing. Ooh, and he gets an electric wheelchair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Oops.

    Continuing with one above me. Just don't get too detailed in what you don't like. Please dont say bad words about this book or any other books. Its like having your face slapped immediatly with the word s***, or f***. Please dont do this. I am elleven and want to review a book peacefully. Thankyou for your 43 seconds to read these reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Deathbomb

    Were are u?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Extremly challenging or just highly toilsome ?

    "Heart Of Darkness" a novel written and told by Joseph Conrad himself, was first published in 1902. Though this story was written by Joseph don't forget that he is not only telling the story, but he is also the main character marlow in the story, which takes place in 1890 on the Thames river. Through out the long journey on the cargo ship Marlow over takes a journey that tested not only his insanity but his futility also.He starts his story on a boat with five other people on the boat with him listening to what he is telling they are :the accountant,captin, lawyer,himself,us.While facing difficulties on the congo river,Marlow starts to tell his story of when he first sets out on his journey to finally meet Kurtz. While starting his work for an ivory company Marlow was asked to take a journey to find Mr.Kurtz and retrieve the ivory at the base, which was along the congo river. When Marlow first hears of Mr.Kurtz he makes a personal opinion of him by a picture he found in the offic of a woman blind folded holding a candle.Just from this picture Marlow thought that Mr.Kurtz and hisself were a lot alike intellectually and perspectivly. This made Marlow have a deep relationship with him just based on what he saw. Though Marlow deeply liked Mr.Kurtz one person who Marlow didnt take favor too, the Manager thought other wise of Mr.Kurtz, and that he was only trying to steal and keep the ivory for himself. With these impressions the manager was in no hurry to go find Mr.Kurtz in his deathly illness. When Marlow first met the manager the saying " first impressions mean everything" didnt really apply. Marlows Impression of him was he was a dumb,dull man who knew nothing of what he was speaking of. When Marlow fist gets to the manager he finds that his boat has been sunked and ruined by the manager who tried to tkae his boat out. Frustrate by the time delay that this cause marlow found hisself short of rivets to put the boat back together. Once this was complete he was off to see Kurtz. Through this he finds himself in the dark and treacherous forest which surrounds the body of water leading to Kurtz and the ivory. Though Marlow is intregied to finally meet Kurtz, the is one obstacle so you could say, in his way, the vicious man eating canables that linger in the forest. When Marlow first encounters there canable his ship is attacked and one of his men are killed and in fear of the canables on the ship eating the rest of the crew he throws him over board and has to move on from the death of his close crew mate. The forest for Marlow was described by Condrad as a dark and futile place that represented everything dark in world. Marlow knew he must move forward though. He soon comes apon the base where he finds a little Russian man jumping like a fool on the bank. He soon finds that he has found Mr.Kurtz and that all the people around him including the natives had been praising Kurtz like he was a god. Marlow confussed by this and wanting to think other wise of Kurtz goes to find him. Since he had been deathly ill he barely gets to conversate with him. Though the little time he does Kurtz says his last words " The horror". Marlows impressions on him grew weaker and thiner. He set back to tell of his story to Kurtz fiance who wante to know of his last words and how her beloved was doing. Knowing that his words were too dark he was unable to tell her and so he lied which he hated most in the world.At the end he found him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ok wrap up to the series

    While it wasn't a bad way to wrap up the series, I just didn't like this one as much. I would have liked to seen more of Darcy's softer side. It's there, but it seems the story focuses on how shallow and selfish Darcy can be. I liked Trevor (who wouldn't like a handsome rich man who comes and sweeps you off your feet!) But, I didn't feel their romance was as believable as the ones in the first two stories. I also wish there was more focus on Carrick and Lady Gwen when the spell was broken. The legend is so woven into the story and then all you get at the end is their riding away on a winged horse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    It was well.........

    Heart of Darkness was a ultra frustrating book all around. The whole story was just a rollercoaster ride throughout. Let¿s just say that if you don¿t get into the movie then you will never understand it at all. I mean like you can be reading one thing and think that your reading about another it¿s just that confusing. I think that if you are going to read this book you need to be able to recite the whole dictionary it¿s that intense. The book has lots of action and it¿s really hard to get into because it¿s kind of uninviting action. The stories ending and begging are totally off kilter of what you would think it¿s just incredibly confusing. I don¿t know how many times I can say that but I really think that you need to be a genius to understand it. I really don¿t recommend reading this at all because of all the hidden messages and tricky stuff that goes on. The meaning of the words in almost different than what it says in the book. I mean if you do read it just be ready for an adventure the jungle of paper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    "It Enlarged My Mind"

    Heart of Darkness, although a very enriching and compelling story, was slightly difficult to read. Because of its ¿russian doll¿ format, you cannot leave it alone for very long. The story is made up of layers, the two basic layers being Marlow on the boat in The Thames and his story in Africa. This causes the book to be a little hard to follow at times. However, if you pay attention to Marlow¿s surroundings you can more easily understand what he is talking about. While in Africa, Marlow encounters many obstacles and new people, which helps keep the reader interested. For example, his boat gets attacked on the way to Kurtz¿s station deep in the heart of Africa. During the attack, his helmsman is killed. However, Marlow is still able to complete his journey and meet Kurtz. Overall, I felt that the book was very much worth reading and definitely expanded my vocabulary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    Heart Of Darkness

    I would say the novel of Heart Of Darkness was very detailed. Conrad went into great detail when writing Heart Of Darkness. The specific details Conrad used portrayed settings, characters, and situations in the greatest way possible. <BR/><BR/>Conrad displays his interest in writing in Heart Of Darkness by making the reader use their mind and read between the lines. That was very difficult for me because I had never read anything at this high level. I do believe the book was a great way to learn how to see things differently. <BR/><BR/>Conrad describes the characters very well. The amount of detail Conrad went into is enormous. He uses such specific and bland details to describe Kurtz, Marlow, and the other characters. When reading about those characters you immediately get a mental image of them. <BR/><BR/>I would recommend anyone to read this novel, I believe it is a great way to open your mind to knew things. Heart Of Darkness helped me learn about writing and many different ways things can be looked at. In the future, I can use what I've learned in others writings and use that knowledge to help me advance in my writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Classic.

    In Heart Of Darkness, Conrad paints the most beautiful and frightening pictures in your mind. As a classic, its not what most of today's teenager's would pick up for a good read, but after reading it I can totally say I'm glad I did. Even as a 76 paged book, Heart Of Darkness isn't something you can read in one sitting. Though it was hard to appreciate while reading, taking the time to stop and analyze what you read is a big deal. Conrad literally puts YOU into the book which makes it so much more exciting to read. With all the imagery given, you can imagine yourself on the boat with Marlow telling his story and waiting for the tide. Its so easy to get into the words and play out the whole adventure in your head. Reading about a horrible darkness taking over is so incredibly different from most things I've read. The whole theme is seriously life changing and I have a feeling that its a message that will stick in my brain. Though it may not being something you'd normally pick up, I dare you to take an adventure through despair with Mr. Charlie Marlow in Heart Of Darkness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    Heart of Darkness

    Heart of darkness by joseph conrad is a very detailed book. You have to pay attention to things that seem minor in order to understand exactly what is going on. While I didn't enjoy the book, I appreciated the sense of adventure Marlow had. Heart of darkness is about a man named Marlow. He tells the story of his trip into the Congo. While Marlow initially took up this journey out of pure sense of adventure, it soon turned into something more. He became obsessed with Kurtz, the man who obtained so much power in the Congo is such little time. However, Marlow did not know the real story behind Kurtz and the Congo. This book shows how obsession for power can lead to madness and cruelty. Kurtz' love for ivory and need for power is the reason for many of the deaths in the Congo. The contrast of light and darkness is used many time in this book according to the mood and characters. Marlow describes every place he had seen as 'dark.' Darkness is used to show the inability to see the inhumane things that Europeans were doing to the natives of the Congo. It is not until the end of the book that we can guess as to what the true 'Heart of Darkness: is. The heart of darkness it would seem, isn't a place or physical object, it is something that lives within us all brought out by our deepest fears and desires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    Worst Of The Best

    The Heart Of Darkness was an alright book. I was warned that the book would be extremely hard to read, seeing as how I am only in the 12th grade. But, the difficutly came from the bordem of the book. I think he aluded to alot of interesting things about the human mind, but it was the plot that I just wasn't feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2