Customer Reviews for

Heart of Evil

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

a dark haunting paranormal thriller

Civil War buffs love the Donegal Plantation in the Louisiana Bayou. Reenactments further enhance the site as a popular attraction. However, rumors abound that Donegal Planation is also home to ghosts, which increase the high regard by people wanting to come to the est...
Civil War buffs love the Donegal Plantation in the Louisiana Bayou. Reenactments further enhance the site as a popular attraction. However, rumors abound that Donegal Planation is also home to ghosts, which increase the high regard by people wanting to come to the estate.

During an enactment, actor Charles Osgood goes missing. The search for him fails to find him so Plantation manager Ashley Donegal informs parish police officer Drew Montague who scorns her for her concern. The next day Ashley finds Charles' murdered body reenacting a Civil War scene. Upset with the death and fearing more to follow Ashley vows to prevent any more killings. Her late ancestor provides her with clues. Also helping her solve the case is her ex-lover, Jake Mallory and his paranormal forensics team including Jackson Crow as each wonders if the killer is living or otherwise.

The latest Krewe of Hunters (see Phantom Evil) is a dark haunting paranormal thriller that grips the audience once the large cast is set. The story line is atmospherically spooky as only Heather Graham consistently does in the Bayou. The war between the dead and their descendants grips the enthralled readers as Heart of Evil makes for a taut otherworldly investigative mystery with a secondary romantic subplot enhancing the superb supernatural suspense.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mystery in the Bayou

I like Heather Graham "Krewe of Hunters" books. I think they are entertaining, well written (well, as well written as one can expect of a mystery author), and captivating. This one takes place in the middle of the swamps. Being a Floridian, Ms. Graham is well acquain...
I like Heather Graham "Krewe of Hunters" books. I think they are entertaining, well written (well, as well written as one can expect of a mystery author), and captivating. This one takes place in the middle of the swamps. Being a Floridian, Ms. Graham is well acquainted with the heat and humidity of the bayous. I liked that, it is very off putting when someone writes about them and it is obvious they have never step foot in one.

I recommend it, it is a good read, as the rest of the series.

posted by viv001 on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a dark haunting paranormal thriller

    Civil War buffs love the Donegal Plantation in the Louisiana Bayou. Reenactments further enhance the site as a popular attraction. However, rumors abound that Donegal Planation is also home to ghosts, which increase the high regard by people wanting to come to the estate.

    During an enactment, actor Charles Osgood goes missing. The search for him fails to find him so Plantation manager Ashley Donegal informs parish police officer Drew Montague who scorns her for her concern. The next day Ashley finds Charles' murdered body reenacting a Civil War scene. Upset with the death and fearing more to follow Ashley vows to prevent any more killings. Her late ancestor provides her with clues. Also helping her solve the case is her ex-lover, Jake Mallory and his paranormal forensics team including Jackson Crow as each wonders if the killer is living or otherwise.

    The latest Krewe of Hunters (see Phantom Evil) is a dark haunting paranormal thriller that grips the audience once the large cast is set. The story line is atmospherically spooky as only Heather Graham consistently does in the Bayou. The war between the dead and their descendants grips the enthralled readers as Heart of Evil makes for a taut otherworldly investigative mystery with a secondary romantic subplot enhancing the superb supernatural suspense.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Bone pile (cats who died and got eaten)

    Darkclan

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Mystery in the Bayou

    I like Heather Graham "Krewe of Hunters" books. I think they are entertaining, well written (well, as well written as one can expect of a mystery author), and captivating. This one takes place in the middle of the swamps. Being a Floridian, Ms. Graham is well acquainted with the heat and humidity of the bayous. I liked that, it is very off putting when someone writes about them and it is obvious they have never step foot in one.

    I recommend it, it is a good read, as the rest of the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Threat

    A she cat pads in. "I wanna be a part of this. How often do we raid?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Bloodlust

    He dipped his russet head "my cats will be waiting for your ansewer." He padded off to "Forsaken" res 1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Shard

    Darts in. Her eyes flash red as she stads still for a moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Rainfall and DeathNote

    They paced.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Shatter

    An amber tabby tom with sharp yellow eyes and a muscled build, he padded in. The only thing shocking was that long scar that wound across his split, scarred ear and went behind his head. He stared at the cat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Scarred

    every night.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    Krewe of Hunters...

    I have read 5 of the Krewe of Hunters books and love love love them....Heather don't stop writing....only time I put the books down is when my animals are demanding attention....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Good and creepy

    Good blend of mystery and romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Suspense & Romance who could ask for more?

    Very good quick read. Leaves you guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining read

    Heather Graham has yet to disappoint. She is on a short list of authors I go to when I simply want to relax and enjoy a good story. Her characters are easy to relate to and seemingly normal with special abilities. She gives you plausible story lines by making her main characters very human. Her ghosts relatable. She does not cheat her reader either. We receive the same information as our "krewe" or whom ever is the truth seeker. My only disappointment in any Graham book, they end far too soon! So why not five stars? Saved for that book that is a little bit more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Computer room

    One compuer ad one laptop.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    AWSOME

    This book is really great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another great Heather Graham story!

    I really love the Krewe of Hunters series. This is another satisfying story with twists, turns and fantastic paranormal story. Can't wait to read more from Heather Graham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Good Read

    Found this book a good read-- she is a good writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book! If you love Heather Graham you gotta check this one out!

    I read this series out of ordered and then got the whole series and read them in irder. It is a fast pace page turn it will keep you entertained to the very end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6