Customer Reviews for

Heart of Stone (Negotiator Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just as good as the Walker Papers!

    I was a little hesitant to try this trilogy, because the Walker Papers were just so good. I really loved Jo Walker and didn't see how Margrit Knight could be nearly as cool. But she is! I really loved the book for every reason. The characters, the plot, the innovative idea, everything! If you're a CE Murphy fan, an urban fantasy fan, or just looking for something unique, TRY THIS! I promise you'll love it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Wow!

    this book was completely awesome i thought it was going to be on of those stories about a girl who met a guy and started falling in love but was already in a relationship but even though the story was somewhere along those lines it was totally different. it also got funny at times to the point where i laughed out loud. at first i thought someone watching you for three years was pretty freaky and i still do but in this book she made it kind of cute. at the end of the book i already had a image of what the outcome would be but it was completely wrong which i was very happy about. i love a good paranormal read and highly recommend this to people who start to get tired of reading about only vampires and werewolfs or to someone who likes to switch up there reading habits from time to time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read the first time and numerous times later

    This is a good book and good enough to be intriguing and thrilling the 2nd time through it. It is one of the books that is in my permanent library. And I have had to prune that library severely due to lack of space.
    The characters are three-dimensional filled with their own strengths and weaknesses. C.E. Murphy is on my watch list and I love to see each new book that she has published.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriguing Fantasy

    Although the protagonist, Margrit, is abrasive and unbelievably reckless/pugilistic, this book works. Despite her somewhat annoying personality, Margrit comes across as sincere and dedicated. The 'Old Race' mythos is intriguing with gargoyles, selkies, dragons, djinn and, of course, a vampire. The lead male, a night bound gargoyle named Alban, is truly likable. Further, the other 'Old Race' characters are engaging and mysterious. The story is well-paced and plotted reaching a satisfying climax. I recommend this book to anyone who likes urban fantasy inhabited by imaginative creatures and sprinkled with budding romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Highly recommended.

    C. E. Murphy is one of my new favorite aurthors. This trilogy was exciting& knowledgeable. I have already finished the trilogy. Am not very good with words, but this is great reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Worth the read!

    There were times when I don't know what to expect and I still don't know what to expect from the other books, and I'm almost done with the second book. But it's keeping me engrossed. At times I get all frustrated b/c of the love triangle b/w main characters b/c nothing is for certain, and it thrilling to read, yet depressing at the same time b/c it may not turn out as expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    wonderful

    Really good read! It has it all- romance, mystery, adventure. and of course, the paranormal spin. I thought the characters were well developed and the story line moved at a fast pace. I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good plot, but slow-moving...

    I was actually really excited to read this book as it has all the elements I usually look for in a book: original plot, paranormal elements, and quirky characters. However, the story seemed slow moving; I don't know if it was the descriptive nature of the author or just that the back and forth dialogue seemed somewhat stilted. There was also a lot of unnecessary internal dialogue on the part of the main character.

    Margrit, the "heroine", is abrasive and 'no holds barred' as some other reviewers have noted, but I love strong female lead characters and I felt that her strength made her more likable.

    Overall, this book was an average read, but not something I would add to my permanent library. Maybe the rest of the series (there is a book 2 and 3) is better. Hopefully, the dialogue flows better and the story moves along faster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    I thought this book would be good after reading the customer reviews, sadly that is not the case. The main character is "Grit", that nickname alone should say it all. She is a foul-mouthed, arrogant and unlikable.
    I did enjoy Alban's gentle nature and Janx's charm. The book has very little romance in it, which was what I thought it was about. The majority of the book is boring. Don't buy this book, go to your local library if curiosity impels you.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book!!!

    I found this book when i was visiting some friends at school. I spent the rest of the weekend reading. The old races are very interesting characters to read about, and C.E. Murphy gave them wicked names.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    I Loved It.

    I kept seeing this book at my library and I kept passing it by, I finally checked it out and I am happy that I did so. Heart of Stone is the first book I read by C.E. Murphy but it won't be my last. I read it in almost one sitting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a fabulous romantic fantasy whodunit

    Manhattan attorney Margrit Knight is jogging in Central Park when she stumbles onto a dying woman. Nearby is a male who is not quite a man and Margrit¿s first reaction is he is the murderer. He says he is Alban, a gargoyle and insists he did not kill the female and pleads with Margrit to help find who did. Although her legal training sets off alarms to beware and not trust him, her instincts tell her to help him.---------- As they begin to work together to uncover the identity of the killer who he fears is one of his race, he explains he is a gargoyle, a species that have lived on the edge of human civilizations for millennium. However, as they dig deeper, Margrit finds herself feeling like Alice falling through the rabbit¿s hole as the paranormal proves genuine and every step she takes could prove her last.--------------- HEART OF STONE is a fabulous romantic fantasy whodunit starring an incredible heroine who overwhelms the rest of the cast including her rock hard companion. The story line is fast-paced but totally driven by the once skeptical now believing Margrit who insists she is a lawyer not a paranormal sleuth or a knight rescuing the gargoyle in distress, but as she falls in love she wonders if a man of stone can have a heart (other parts she assumes are naturally hardened).--------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4