Customer Reviews for

Heart of a Champion

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    This book is really good and has a good meaning to it.

    I like how Carl Dueker made this have a good meaning to it. Overall it's pretty good. The ending is really sad but it had to be that way. Carl Dueker probably wrote this book to have a good meaning and if it means a sad ending well then it'll have a sad ending. This book ws really good and I recommend it to many people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Good book

    Carl Deuker makes one of the main characters die in all of his books that i have read. High heat, and heart of a champion. His books are still amazing though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book about baseball and a freindship

    This book was really good. He learns how to play baseball. His freind teaches him to love the the game. He live breaths and thinks about baseball. Everyday he goes outside and throws a ball ageinst the wall to pracice feilding a baseball that is hit on the ground. His dad was an amzing golfer and he dead when he was still young.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    worth reading for sure

    sad but a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    Great sports novel

    This story is about a kid named Seth Barnam who dreams about playing in the major leWhen Seth Barnam was a little boy his father died of a stroke in a hotel that he was staying in while on a business trip. A few years later while at the park in his hometown he meets a kid named Jimmy Winter. Jimmy gets him interested in baseball and they soon become best friends.ague of his favorite sport baseball.This was a great book .It would have been better if it had a little more detail, but other than that it was a worth the read and I would recommend it.This was an easy read for older children. Baseball fans and sport fanatics would also enjoy it.I loved this book. Baseball is sport for all ages' boys and girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Looking for a great book for any reason? Here it is!!

    Heart of a Champion is one of the greatest books I have ever read. Carl Deuker really did it with this one. I would compare this book to Lays potato chips. They say, "Betcha can't eat just one." Well that's how this book is. I bet you can't read just one chapter at a time. This book leaves you on the edge of your seat throughout the whole book. Yes it is about sports, for most sports fans i would recommend, but it has many life lessons in it. Seth's dad passes away when he is at a young age. For quite a while Seth was quiet in school and didn't have many friends. He didn't play any sports either. That is until he met Jimmy. meeting Jimmy totally changed Seth's life around. Jimmy was a total baseball freak. Even telling Seth it's like a fever once you catch it, you ain't getting rid of it. Well catch it is exactly what Seth did. Jimmy and Seth became the best of friends. Even though Seth wasn't quite as good as Jimmy, he had one thing over a lot of people. The work ethics that Jimmy put onto him. Not only did he see improvement on the field, but also in the classroom since his concentration was better. Jimmy and Seth play together in high school also, under former MLB player Sharront. With a team made of many good players can they win the state title? Well what happens when some of their players begin to drink, can they still do it?
    Read this amazing book to find out yourself. I loved it, and I guarantee you will too. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    Can't put it down!!!

    Two boys, Jimmy and Seth, had a friendship that no one could put into words. They met at a young age, and immediatly were best friends. Jimmy's family had troubles at home, but with Seth's help he pulled through it. Even though they were best friends, Jimmy and Seth were very different. Jimmy was a perfect baseball player, basically set for the pro's. But, Seth could barely make the varisty team. Seth must try as hard as he can to overcome his fears and his drinking problems if he truely wants to be the best baseball player he can be. I think that this book really draws the reader into wanting to read more. I couldn't put the book down, because I wanted to know what happened next. The end is a sad ending, but it helped Seth understand the truth between drinking and going through life incorrectly, or trying to pull himself up so he didn't lose his life to some stupid mistake! This book is for anyone ages 12+ who likes sports, especially baseball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    Have you ever had a best friend you never thought would change? That's how it was for Seth. He thought his best friend Jimmy would never change. In this story of friendship Seth and Jimmy find their friendship on the basedball field. Jimmy's the All- American on his way to the MLB. While Seth's struggling to make the varsity team. They help each other through problems on and off the field. I recommend this book to any baseball lover. Deuker does a great job making the characters easy to connect to. I found myself not wanting to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    The Love of Baseball

    Baseball is Jimmy and Seth¿s thing. Jimmy Winter and Seth Barham play baseball everyday. Seth¿s dad died when he was young and he is the only child, so he learns about the game from Jimmy. On days when it is raining, they play ball in the rain. On nice days, Jimmy¿s dad would go to a park and hit them balls every Saturday. Jimmy¿s dad drinks a lot and gets into trouble, so he and his wife divorce. The boys play summer league and hope they get to play on the same team. They find out that their not on the same team and are disappointed. At the end of the season, they get to be on the same team. Before the new school starts, Jimmy moves. Seth plays high school baseball by himself and wishes Jimmy was their, so they could turn double plays. During the season, Jimmy comes to Woodside High School to join the team. Jimmy gets into drinking and that affects how he plays. The Winters don¿t know abut this until tragedy strikes. The main thing I like about this book is it is about baseball, and I love this game. I also liked how the author was so specific about every game and play. I like how I could relate when n Jimmy and Seth turn double plays. When I play baseball, I play shortstop and turn many double plays. I did not like how it was boring until part two. That is when the book really picked up. This is a good book just to pick up and read any time you want. This book reminds me of MLB players when they get into trouble for drinking like Jimmy did. This book would be for young men that love baseball. If you do not like baseball, you might as well not even pick up this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    Heart of a champion, it's terrific

    I was blown away by this book. This is one of the greatest books I've ever read. When my five kids grow up I will have them read this right away so they can live the same life, in the footsteps of Jimmy and Seth. Carl Deuker, I love you man!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    a reviewer

    In Heart of A Champion, by Carl Dueker, Seth Barnham is a young boy with no real talents or friends. One Saturday afternoon while on the playground Seth sees Jimmy Wintersplaying baseball with his dad. Jimmy's dad is determined to make Jimmy the best baseball player ever. They drill continously,and soon Seth is involved in the game. After a while, the two notice a bonding between them. With Jimmy at short, and Seth at second the two dream about being the best double play combination ever. as the two move on through high school, Jimmy is an All-State shortstop, and king of the school, while Seth fights for playing time on the JV squad. Once, while at a party Seth and Jimmy try beer, and start to get drunk every weekend. As their senior seasons rools around Seth is promoted to varsity, and he realizes they should sober up to win the state title. Jimmy is to addicted to the party life, and eases Seth and his friendship away. If you don't want to party, stay a way from me he says. Seth keeps trying to persuade Jimmy, but ultimately Jimmy has to decide. With the state title, and more importantly his life on the line , Jimmy has to decide. Beer or BAseball?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1