Customer Reviews for

Heart of a Killer

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Ridiculously Great!

I'm a sucker for everything Rosenfelt; and you should be too if you like snappy dialogue and holding on to the edge of your seat.

I wasn't sure how I'd fare without Andy Carpenter, but I was more than rewarded! How often do I get lucky enough to read a thriller that r...
I'm a sucker for everything Rosenfelt; and you should be too if you like snappy dialogue and holding on to the edge of your seat.

I wasn't sure how I'd fare without Andy Carpenter, but I was more than rewarded! How often do I get lucky enough to read a thriller that really makes me think? And one that does not have a predictable ending?

If you are deciding whether or not to read this book, take my advice and do! It's worth every penny and then some.

posted by StaCa on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

meh

Definitely not one of his better ones i wont give up on him though.

posted by BNGirlJM on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Ridiculously Great!

    I'm a sucker for everything Rosenfelt; and you should be too if you like snappy dialogue and holding on to the edge of your seat.

    I wasn't sure how I'd fare without Andy Carpenter, but I was more than rewarded! How often do I get lucky enough to read a thriller that really makes me think? And one that does not have a predictable ending?

    If you are deciding whether or not to read this book, take my advice and do! It's worth every penny and then some.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    Get ready to just read....I couldn't put it down at all and spent the day cuddled on my sofa reading and then, when it was over, wished it wasn't. Rarely do you get this kind of book. Certainly grabs your attention.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    For the true mystery buff

    I am an avid mystery reader and this book has an amazing twist. It is more than just detective work-it is about characters that grab your heart.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    David Rosenfelt master penner of the legal thriller has come up

    David Rosenfelt master penner of the legal thriller has come up with another gem in Heart of a Killer. This one grabs you from the start as Sheryl Harrison confesses to murder that she probably didn't commit and is sentenced to life. Six years later a junior lawyer (Jamie Wagner) working on civil actions is asked by his bosses to take a pro bono assignment in the criminal arena.

    Jamie is asked to represent Sheryl. It seems that her daughter is dying from a defective heart and needs a transplant as soon as possible. Sheryl tells Jamie that she wants him to "assist" her in some way to take her life so she can donate her heart to her daughter.

    Jamie knows this is a losing proposition because no prison system would ever kill a prisoner at their request. He is intrigued by Sheryl though and agrees to do what he can to help her. He meets with Sheryl's arresting detective (Novack). Novack was always bothered by his arrest of Sheryl because all the evidence at the scene of the crime indicated that someone other than Sheryl had done the original crime. He investigated no further because at the time he had been overloaded with casework and with Sheryls confession, her case was an easy conviction. Jamie convinces Novack to begin the investigation that he should have done six years prior.

    Meanwhile there are some evil computer bad guys who are performing acts of terrorism such as hacking into airplanes and crashing them. They seem to have an agenda bordering on something really big. They also seem to have their eyes on Novack and Sheryl and are worried that Novack's investigation may lead back to them.

    There are several tense moments throughout and Rosenfelt does an excellent job of keeping the reader guessing all the way to the last page. As Jamie is relatively young, maybe he will be another character to build a series upon just like Andy Carpenter. Highly recommended!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Wow

    Heart of a Killer is one of those books that makes a good night's sleep impossible. It is exciting and terrifying, but more than that, it is thought provoking. Just how much would you give up for your child? Sheryl, In prison for a murder we are not sure she committed, is willing to give up her heart...literally. A prison system that doesn't mind keeping her locked up, will not let her die. She hires Jamie Wagner, an "underachieving" lawyer, to fight for her right to die and give her heart to her dying daughter. The introduction of domestic terrorists, a police detective who has doubts about Sheryl's guilt, the FBI, and the most amoral character since Hannibal Lecter, makes this a book to remember way after the last page.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Excellent Read

    i thoroughly enjoyed David Rosenfelt's latest novel and found the story line to be unique, interesting and in many ways, thought provoking. It definitely raises questions about moral and ethical concerns and then you factor in an interesting plot line and the end result is a novel that I read in a day and half. I loved it and I love him. He just never disappoints.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    I totally loved this book...

    I really didn't think I would like it since it was not an Andy Carpenter Series book, BUT it was astounding! There are so many conflicts and twists and turns that it kept me reading and not wanting to put it down. The humor was great, characters were just as interesting, and the plot was right along with today's news and current events. Highly recommend reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Well done. I would recommend it.

    Really enjoyed to development of the main characters and the plot. Dealing with many other different characters was a challenge at times but well worth the effort, with help from the storyline, when it all came together at the end. Also, some big surprises at how the story ended. Loved it and not expecting it. Give me more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    While I've read and enjoyed all of David Rosenfelt's books, I th

    While I've read and enjoyed all of David Rosenfelt's books, I think this may be his best. Thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait for his next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Another wonderful Rosenfelt book.

    Once you start reading, you won't want to leave this enthralling mystery.
    The only things missing is one of the Golden Retreivers dogs which wag their tail through many of the author's bookd. There are issues society hasn't addressed for those incarcerated and that is part of the mystery. Good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1