Customer Reviews for

The Heart of the Artist: A Character-Building Guide for You and Your Ministry Team

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Recommend

    This has been a great book to read with our small group. A lot of healing for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for anyone in Ministry

    Awesome book with valuable lessons for anyone in Ministry, not just artists. We are about to have all of our Ministry leaders read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    This Book Is A Must to Any Worship and Arts Department

    My overview of this book is short but very purposed. I used to think that the book "Exploring Worship" was the only book a Worship Pastor which I am could use until Bro. Rory's book. What exploring worship is to your own personal relationship with God, "The Heart of the Artist" is to yourself, your family, your church, and the ultimately the world, it meets your needs on how to PRACTICALLY walk out your gifts in the erath today! get this manual!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    Outstanding Resource For Christian Artists

    This is definitely a must-read for those who are struggling with being an artist and being a leader in a local church! Rory will encourage that you can do both and be successful especially in God's eyes. This book will also encourage you to live a life that pleases God so that you may be blameless while fulfilling your destiny. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    Excellent Resource for Artistic Christians

    We are studying this book as a group in choir. It provides some great insights into the artistic personality and some of the challenges that artists face that perform in the Church. It is biblically based teaching that would be helpful to anyone with a melancholy personality, whether an artist or not, and whether or not they are involved in church. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2001

    A Must for Christian Artists

    The Heart of the Artist is like no other book you¿ve read. Written for artists by an artist, this frank, knowledgeable book deals head-on with issues every person in an arts ministry faces. With passion and conviction that come from personal experience, Rory Noland, music director for Willow Creek Community Church, addresses topics such as Servanthood Versus Stardom, The Artist in Community, Excellence Versus Perfectionism, Jealousy and Envy, Managing Your Emotions, and The Spiritual Disciplines of the Artist. The Heart of the Artist will help you gain a better understanding of yourself and your unique place in the body of Christ. You¿ll find wisdom and encouragement that can help you survive the challenges and reap the rich joys of a ministry in the creative arts. Many of the artists at my church have read and enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2001

    A Must Read for ALL Christian Artists

    Mr. Noland pulls no punches in his straight talk about the realities of Christian artistry. The jealousies, rivalries and insecurities wich abound in any artistic group are dealt with according to the Word of God. For ALL ministry leaders: This is a must read for ministry team members.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1