BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heart of the Country (Library Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Prodigal Daughter Returns

    Faith Carraway is a country girl turned socialite. She is married to Luke Carraway and madly in love. She wants for nothing. Before she married Luke she lived to sing but no longer has time for her passion of song or for her family back home. Luke's brother is not to accepting of Faith in the Carraway family and does not think this little country girl fits into the Carraway's social circles.

    Faith and Luke live the fairy tale relationship until Luke decides to leave the family business and invest in a hedge fund with the Michov Brothers. Then the fairy tale turns into a nightmare when the Michov's alleged Ponzi scheme threatens Luke's livelihood and his marriage.

    Faith feels betrayed by his lies and possible involvement in this scheme. Without even a backwards glance she leaves her socialite life behind and heads back to her country life to stay with her father and get her life back on track. Her sister is not too happy to have Faith return home like the Prodigal daughter. But her father is ecstatic to have his little girl back home.

    There is so many facets to Faith's story. The pending lose of her marriage, her estranged relationship with her sister and the nurturing relationship with her father. She finds her roots to be healing and it draws her into a renewal of her spirit. She struggles to accept God's will in her life and can't seem to figure out where she belongs or where she is headed in life.

    So many people go through these same trials in their life. God has a plan and we don't always agree with that plan. But if we just let go and let God do his job His plan will be fulfilled.

    I highly recommend this book.

    I rate this book a 5 out of 5.

    Disclosure

    I purchased a copy of this book from Barnes and Noble and reviewed book for Tyndale House Publishing . I was in no way compensated for this review it is my own opinion.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2014

    Beautiful and Tender Story - - This book is very enjoyable. It m

    Beautiful and Tender Story - - This book is very enjoyable. It makes me laugh and cry. The talent of the writers is very impressive. The jumping from one character's voice to another's took some getting used to, but it did fill in the story very well. I love writing that is so descriptive and tells a sweet and gentle story about family and faith. The touching theme was lightened up with humorous remarks. This is creatively and beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    This book was wow. I don't even have words to describe it. I hav

    This book was wow. I don't even have words to describe it. I have read many books over the years (obviously) but this one hit me so hard.
    I haven't read a book that so close to my own reality. I literally cried through the whole thing.

    Faith leaves her country roots and meets the rich and powerful Luke Carraday. They fall completely in love and quick get married.
    Even though Luke's brother (whom he has always looked up to) doesn't approve of her, he doesn't let anyone get in the way of their love.
     With the encouragement and support of Faith, Luke goes to his father to venture out on his own and start a name for himself away from his father and brother. 

    Luke gets arrested after the Michov Borthers go down for a Ponzi scheme.
    Faith doesn't understand what is going on so when Luke won't tell her anything, she packs up and goes back home.
    Luke is left with having to depend on his family to dig him out of the mess he created but at the expense of his wife. 

    As the two try to repair their lives and hearts, Faith's world comes crashing down with the news of her father having brain cancer.
    She is left with no choice but to reach out to her husband for help. 

    My dad has anaplastic astrocytoma and it had taken its course through him so you can just imagine how real this book was to me.
    The love and restoration was something that we all need to be reminded of.
    With each huge trial they faced you saw the hardship it is to let God take control.
    This book was such an encouragement. I hope you all get to read this book and see the movie. It is really life changing. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    booksbysteph says "Character Conflict & Family Dynamics

    booksbysteph says "Character Conflict & Family Dynamics are Amazing"



    After sixty-two days, Luke Carraway knew Faith Barnett was his soul mate. Since the Carraway family is beyond wealthy, they believe Faith is with Luke for his money. Luke and Faith leave their families out and elope. Then Luke decides to leave the family company to be independent and make a name for himself with competitors, the Michov Brothers.

    Faith starts to overhear conversations about the Michov Brothers being a part of a Ponzi scheme. "[A] Ponzi scheme is when a fund...takes the money from new investors and uses it to pay off existing investors' returns on investments. It gives the illusion of profit when there isn't any." Luke promises Faith that he is not involved in anything illegal. But her faith in Luke is shattered when the SEC arrests him "for conspiracy to commit federal securities fraud."

    When Luke refuses to answer any of Faith's questions, she packs up her belongings and goes to the only place she can - Columbus County, North Carolina - her family's home. This is difficult for her. The reason why Faith left is because the community wanted her to pick up on the life her mother left behind when she died. But Faith has never really dealt with her mother's death. She left the rest of her family to deal with losing her as well. Now, ten years later, there are mixed emotions about Faith's return. 

    Back in New York, Luke's scandal has caused everyone to turn away from him. Faith was just the first. Luke is alone and facing prison time, wondering the ways he could kill himself while inside. There is only one direction for Luke to turn and it goes against everything he was trying to do by himself. Plus, he has not heard from Faith and needs to decide whether to fight for her or let her go for betraying their vows. Unexpected news puts a new twist on everything and everyone.

    I GIVE THIS BOOK: 5 Stars

    It has been so long since I have read a book with so much realistic content, situations and emotions. The character conflict is amazing.

    The author uses real life circumstances and writes how real people would act in that situation. Independence, pride, ethics, vows, family and death are just a few of the struggles the characters of this book have to deal with.

    Family dynamics play an extremely large role in this story. I found myself comparing my family to those of the two main characters, Luke and Faith. I will say that some actions the family members took surprised me.

    I struggled with this book in the sense that I felt connected to the story at my very core. While the 400+ pages seem daunting, it is well worth it. It is a quick read because you will not want to put it down. And I did not. Very emotional. Have a tissue handy. 

    Until next time, live life one page at a time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Loved the twists and turns

    This keeps you wanting to know what will happen next. Loved the characters and the faith that is portrayed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Plot spoilers

    Plot spoilers ruined another booked by revealing every detail then bragging how they got their book for free. Well guess what...we have to pay for ours, so stop ruining our book by telling everything that happpens. A few lines is enough. You dont have to rewrite the entire book. And before some smart aleck says dont read them...i dont. But when you have to scroll past miles long posts where they reveal every detail you usually see something that spoils the book, so please plot spoilers, stop ruining the books for other readers. Have some consideration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Great book

    I loved this book, it made me laugh and cry, smile, it touched my heart. Awesome read and touching, recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Very confusing hard to follow

    The story line was good, but I found the way the book was written, with each chapter in a different characters perspective, was very hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1