BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heart of the Country

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    At first I didn't think I'd like this as each chapter is from a

    At first I didn't think I'd like this as each chapter is from a different character but once I got past the first 3 or 4 chapters I was hooked. Faith left her family 10 years before when her mother died. She met Luke and they had a great marriage and business. Then Luke is arrested and Faith leaves New York to return to the family home. Her sister Olivia has taken care of their dad since Faith left. Faith's return causes some family issues. This is a good story of family issues, losing then finding one's way back and most of all faith in God and Jesus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    I enjoyed this book. It spoke volumes on marriage and making it

    I enjoyed this book. It spoke volumes on marriage and making it through the tough times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    This novel follows the early years of the marriage of the main c

    This novel follows the early years of the marriage of the main characters, Faith and Luke. As a socialite and a successful businessman, they live a charmed life. However, when their world comes crashing down and Luke is arrested, Faith fleas back to her childhood home in the country to sort out her life.   
    I did feel that the back-story woven into the narrative was hard to follow at first. But other than that, I enjoyed this book. I would recommend it for someone looking for a unique Christian novel. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    I thought Heart of the Country aS an emotional story. The charac

    I thought Heart of the Country aS an emotional story. The characters seemed real with real issues to overcome. Each chapter was in a different character's point of view. Which I found to be confusing at first. Once I got used to it, the rest of the novel flowed well. 4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    I must admit this book made me cry a few times. The story was to

    I must admit this book made me cry a few times. The story was told from multiple first person points of view. Each chapter had the name of the character that was speaking/thinking. This lent itself to developing the characters in a real and meaningful way as you got an inside look at each of them. The time frame went back and forth as Catherine was intermixed throughout the story, though she was no longer there. In my opinion that did not hinder the story. Lessons on forgiveness, honesty, character, family bonds, faithfulness, unconditional love, temptation, selfishness and selflessness where all touched upon. Each character was faced with themselves and their choice to do the right thing. God's constant presence and love in our lives was woven throughout. While not attempting to spoil the story, I must admit Lee really pulled me. Talk about a conflict of emotions! Something for everyone to relate to and learn from. Good job Rene Gutteridge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    .I glanced at the movie for this book before I started reading a

    .I glanced at the movie for this book before I started reading and I will be honest, I was worried I might not like the book. But I had to remind myself that books are almost always better than movies and that was the case for Heart of the Country.
    I really enjoyed this modern telling of the prodigal. I liked being in the head of the older sister (Olivia) who stayed with her dad while her younger sister (Faith) left --something I can relate to personally -- and watching her heart soften and their relationship heal.
    There is a very moving moment that brought me to tears (always a good sign that I like a book) when Luke's dad stands up for his son. A beautiful picture of what Christ does for us. It reminded me of how God uses me and my story, as messy as it is, to help others. I know He has my back and He's not ashamed of me because I am His daughter.
    There are a few twists and turns in the plot that will having you flipping pages to find out what happens next and how God will heal Faith and Luke's marriage. This is a great Genesis 5020 story.
    After reading the book I think I can appreciate the movie more and plan on giving it another chance now that I have a better understanding of the characters.
    Overall, I enjoyed this book and recommend it as a great reminder of Christ's amazing love for us all.
    A copy of this book was given to me by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Loved the twists and turns

    This keeps you wanting to know what will happen next. Loved the characters and the faith that is portrayed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    A heartfelt story of overcoming one's past. Faith and Luke have

    A heartfelt story of overcoming one's past.

    Faith and Luke have a fairytale life... until Luke is arrested for being a part of a Ponzi scheme. He claims he wasn't involved, but admits to his knowledge of the scheme. Frustrated and angry, Faith packs a suitcase and walks out the door going to the place she once called home.

    This story hooked me on the first page and made it hard to put down. Conflict loomed on every page, I truly didn't know what direction the story was headed. I went from page to page curious to the outcome. There were many instances I was concerned emotions would be downplayed or overdone; however, the authors handled each character with delicacy and stayed true to life.

    That being said, some situations in the book were confusing and didn't make sense, such as Luke's role with the Michov Brothers. It was probably due to all the head jumping. Thankfully, when I watched the movie, it clarified what was going on. Other than that, I enjoyed the writing and depth to the plot and story, something that can't be shown on screen.

    To sum up, I enjoyed the book a lot, but the movie let me down. You wouldn't think there would be so many differences or nuances, especially when the screenplay writer helps write the novelization. Yes, I like my movies to stay true to my books and in this case the saying is true, the book is always better than the movie.

    I received this book from Tyndale in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1