Customer Reviews for

Heart of the Dragon (Gena Showalter's Atlantis Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting...

I'm almost 100% positive this is just a re-print of one of Gena's earlier books. In fact, I'm pretty darn sure it is, because the summary is exactly the same and so are the characters...
Besides the fat that they're selling this as a 'new' book, which I find irritat...
I'm almost 100% positive this is just a re-print of one of Gena's earlier books. In fact, I'm pretty darn sure it is, because the summary is exactly the same and so are the characters...
Besides the fat that they're selling this as a 'new' book, which I find irritating, I enjoyed the plot, the characters were real, the story was fun and overall it is a good read.
Gotta love romance that takes place in Atlantis!

posted by book_love24 on November 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I was looking forward to this book having read The Darkest Kiss (and others in that series). I really enjoyed those books. Unfortunately, this book was very slow and I faltered after page 150 or so. I forced myself to finish it but was still disappointed with the lack o...
I was looking forward to this book having read The Darkest Kiss (and others in that series). I really enjoyed those books. Unfortunately, this book was very slow and I faltered after page 150 or so. I forced myself to finish it but was still disappointed with the lack of anything really happening until around pg. 300 or so. Read The Darkest Kiss and other books in that series or even the Nymph King which was smoking from the beginning.

posted by bookwormMO on January 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book! Great Start for The Atlantis Series!

    I would definitely recommend, not just the book but the Whole Series!!! I'm loving the Dragons! I love Grace and Darius and the rest of the characters in this book. This is a great start for a Series of books. The Atlantic Series! There is definitely more passion, action, romance, sexy characters and adventures to come and I can't wait to start reading the next book in the series! Showalter books are very addicting and so hard to put down. This is definitely a great read if you like paranormal romance and just want to relax and get away from everyday stress in life. I'm definitely keeping this book and acquire the rest of the books for my collection! I can't wait for the Vampires and the Nymps :) Buys this book, you won't regret it!

    I would also recommend the "The Lords of the Underworld Series" by Gena Showalter. I'm sure you will enjoy this series as well. Her books is just so good and addicting, you just can't help but keep asking for more and more.

    ~mel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dragons and Red-Heads, what a combination!

    This book was surprisingly and amazingly good in my opinion. I wasn't aware that it was a re-print but it was good either way. Characters are strong and determined, with a bit of stubbornness that adds to the quirkiness of the book, and the plot was good. The love scenes are steamy and almost make it feel a little forbidden.

    Good read, a lot of funny quirkiness entailed, and a great romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    Great Author with Great Stories

    Gena Showalter has great story lines and characters. I jump right in to the story and do not come out til the end. My biggest problem is that YES this is a reprint from 2005 and it is not documented as such. If you have the money to pay for this book again go for it, it's a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    Fall in love with a dragon

    Every time I pick up a book by Ms. Showalter I know I'm going to have a good time. <BR/><BR/>Heart of the Dragon, the first in the Atlantis series, lives up to Ms. Showalter's former books. A great mix of humor, action and romance - it's an easy book to get lost in with the amazing world of Atlantis and it's creatures.<BR/><BR/>With a heroine I could identify with and a hot Dragon King as hero you won't want the book to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Must read

    Love it. A great intro to the Atlantis series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    highly recommened

    my favorite of all 4 loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Great Reads!

    Each book in this series are different but linked in such great ways!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    This is a thrilling read

    The first and best in the series. Yum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read

    I really liked this book. I love Darius and Grace, they are so cute together. It was an easy read that I was able to curl up with and read. I definitely would recommend this book to someone looking for something different in the romance genre. I love the idea of everything taking place in Atlantis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Who knew dragons could be so sexy!

    Gena Showalter... You continue to amaze me with your magnificent books. I never knew I would be so interested in a book without werewolves and vampires. i read this book in one day, unable to put it down. The book had me laughing out loud, people at school would stare at me like I was crazy but I couldn't help it! i loved this book so much that I wished I could switch places with Grace. If you like this book, I highly recommend the lords if the underworld series by Gena Showalter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Showalter never fails to deliver!

    Gena Showalter is by far my favorite author who always delivers amazing stories and this book was yet another A+! Her version of Atlantis is so creative, I love the idea of it being somewhere different than the usual assumed location, with hunky dragons to gaurd the entrances. What more could a girl lost in the jungle ask for? The characters were relatable and the emotions real, the story was fast paced and kept me turning the pages and it was really hard to put down. Plenty of action and even more romance. Read it, you won't regret it! And definitely check out her Tales of an Extraordinary Girl series, it is AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    Go Dragons!!

    What a masterfully put together group of dragon men! Their banter is great, along with Darius's and Grace's. A good strong woman, put up against a good strong man...uh, mate, that is! And when the men of Atlantis find their mates, they'd do anything not to let them go. Being a human, Grace has a hard time accepting it possible that they are meant to be together. Until she realizes she's fallen head-over-heals for the Dragon Ruler, who wants nothing but to love her and protect her forever. She brought life back to his hardened heart, and love back to the Dragons!
    Get every book in this series...you'll love them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    Gotta love the Atlantis Series

    Like the other books in the series, Heart of the Dragon grabs you from the start and keeps you there. Before you know it, it's 1am and you have to work the next day. I loved the characters and the storyline in this book. Ms Showalter's style of writing is intriguing and funny. I highly recommend this series to paranormal romance readers. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Love this series by Gena Showalter

    I really enjoyed both the book itself and the efficientcy and quickness to get my book to me...I loved the detail on the book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!!

    From the moment I picked up this book to the last sentence I was intranced! I read it in 3 hours! Could not put down and went out and bought the rest of the series and they have yet to disappoint me!! Amazing read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is what I call a Paranormal Romance

    I have always loved to read Paranormal romance books and this book, by far, has been my #1 book of all time!!
    It combines the sense of romance, and adventure. Gena Showalter has done it again!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the read

    Worth the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cool

    cool

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    Love it!!!!!

    i loved the book so much as soon as a started it i couldn't put it down i especially love the part when Darius goes into grace's world and he almost kills a guy for touching her earlier in the book when she runs away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2005

    Awesome Book...

    This is the first book I have read by this author but I was not disappointed. The book had passion and action. I was very pleased with the outcome as well although I was not ready for the ending to come as soon as it did. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone. I hope they enjoyed it as much as I did..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10