Customer Reviews for

Heart of the Hunter

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved this!! 243 pages on Nook

I'm a big fan of Lara Adrian. Her vampire series drew me to this book and I'm glad I bought it. Takes place in the 1200's and if you like stories about heroic Knights with mystical tales, you'll love this. I'm onto the 2nd book of this series.

posted by Future-Author on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I found the heorine to be naive and silly. She constantly made bad decisions that cost people their lives. I like my h to be strong and brave. I could not finish the book. I will try another book by this author. This was my first book by this author and it could be that...
I found the heorine to be naive and silly. She constantly made bad decisions that cost people their lives. I like my h to be strong and brave. I could not finish the book. I will try another book by this author. This was my first book by this author and it could be that I just picked the wrong book to start with.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    recommend

    I found myself skipping a lot of pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Disappointed

    I found the heorine to be naive and silly. She constantly made bad decisions that cost people their lives. I like my h to be strong and brave. I could not finish the book. I will try another book by this author. This was my first book by this author and it could be that I just picked the wrong book to start with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    YES! My kind of book.

    Good story, good sex! Just the right amout of paranormal. Well written with no boring fluff. I will read the entire series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Loved this!! 243 pages on Nook

    I'm a big fan of Lara Adrian. Her vampire series drew me to this book and I'm glad I bought it. Takes place in the 1200's and if you like stories about heroic Knights with mystical tales, you'll love this. I'm onto the 2nd book of this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    I GREATLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

    If I could put it into one word I would say WOW!!! I had to get the next one immediately. Magic, shapeshifters, and a difficult journey along with strong emotions make this a great read. I don't want to give too much away but it was hard to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Not a fan

    Everyone has different taste in stories so I won't say it was a bad story. It just wasn't the story for me. I felt. It was longer than it needed to be and dry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Loved this book - well worth the money. Loved the characters, h

    Loved this book - well worth the money. Loved the characters, has some twist you don't see coming. Can't wait to read book 2 of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    Heart of the Hunter - An Adventurous Read!

    I had only read a couple of Lara Adrian's vampire books before this one; I have to say I enjoyed her historical/paranormal Dragon Chalice story more. It had intrigue, adventure, shifters, danger, and romance. A very well blended mix of genre's! I look forward to reading more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    A Cast of Stones- Patrick W. Carr

    Great book!! When is the sequel? Would love to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    A very entertaining read loved rht characters

    Nook lover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Loved it

    I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Extrordinary

    The first book I ever read of Lara's was her Midnight Breed series. From that very first book I was completely hooked to her books.

    When I first stumbled upon this book I was completely ecstatic over it. I had my my doubts I will admit.... but after reading it I realized that it was just as amazing as her Breed series. Keep up the fantastic work Lara!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Great start of trilogy

    This first book of a three book series about the search for the Dragons Chalice takes place in the 1200's. I'm a fan of this authors other series, so I decided to give this histotical paranormal romance a read. The story has well developed characters and the is always moving forward with surprising twists and turns. I will definitely read the next two books in the series. The author does a good job developing characters appropriate for the time era. The heroine is determined and spirited despite being sheltered and very inexperienced in just about everything. The hero is emotionally damaged, but allows himself to be dragged back into a conflict that almost cost him his life. Supporting characters are very interesting and will make the next two books interesting. This book is detailed, but not as disturbingly graphic as many contemporary paranormal novels. Highly recommended. Will be reading more books by this author. I would have given it 4 1/2 stars, but didn't have the option.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Loved the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Great story! Loved it!

    Been a big fan of Laura Adrian for some time and have read all of her vampire series. This took on a whole different glow and I enjoyed reading this book and all her others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Epic adventure awaits

    Be a long time fan of the Night Breed series I figured I would take a look at some of Lara Adrian's other works, and stumbled on to this novel. It is an engaging paranormal/ fantasy.

    Our heroine in this adventure is Ariana of Clairmont is on a mission to reach France and free her brother from his captors who have asked her to deliever a ransom to them. Though Ariana is a well-bred woman with manners and beauty, she certainly holds her own against the scummy men she encounters on her trip. SHe also uses some sense by taking a bodyguard with her, unfortunately she has no idea that he will never make the crossing to France, as he is killed early on in the storyline. Her virtue and her ransom being things that have marked her for misadventure. Ariana finds herself thrown into the company of a mercenary )at least that is what he seems to be Braedon.

    Braedon (hero/Anti-Hero) is a knight with a dark past. His scar running along the left side of his face causes others to fear him. Including at first Ariana. As time goes by however, she begins to see more in him than the disfigurement the marks his face. She sees his strength, his virility, and nobleness that perhaps even he thought he had lost. On their journey to France, she learns he is also called Le Chasseur (the Hunter).

    A few twists and turns occur allow the reader a chance to become enchanted and enamored by the story and its characters. Remembering that the nom de plum of Tina St. John is Lara Adrian, could easily be lost, in this story about other realms, realities and of course shifters, and magic and passion and love.

    I would recommend this book to you because you can expect great action from the author under any name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Wonderful first book

    This series is her best yet. I loved the twists in this book. Thank you Lara Adrian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Heart of the Hunter

    For the first time since I started reading Romance books, I couldn't wait to get back to a book. I thought about it while I was doing everything else and hurried all tasks to get back to finish the book. I even skipped eating meals so I would have more time to read. The action began from page one and continued to the very last page of the book. This book is a keeper. I promised myself I would not pick up another author like a junkie. I had dropped all but one author and she didn't write very often, but I must follow this author. The story is compelling, fraught with danger, mystery, magic, treasure, villians and fatal enemies. I have got to keep on reading until I know all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Lovely story

    Enjoyed, look foward to the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5