Customer Reviews for

Heart of the Matter

Average Rating 4
( 1447 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(516)

4 Star

(435)

3 Star

(291)

2 Star

(118)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Sets the stage for 2010 summer reads.

Heart of the Matter is an astounding and contemporary read. This book is layered, told from two points of view from a brokenhearted single mother struggling with circumstances she did not wish for herself and a stay at home mother battling through the boredom and monoto...
Heart of the Matter is an astounding and contemporary read. This book is layered, told from two points of view from a brokenhearted single mother struggling with circumstances she did not wish for herself and a stay at home mother battling through the boredom and monotony of motherhood. Both women are on a mission for personal fulfillment in the novel as their lives become connected by a heartbreaking accident. The story is a page turner filled with emotion jerking words that are both relatable and tangible.





I appreciated the detailed medical procedures, sports matches and elementary schools application process scenes that I possibly would not have understood otherwise without the author being so descriptive in her writing. The author also has an aptitude for understanding the human experience, especially the experience of living amongst the judgment, rivalry, loneliness, need to feel completed and to be continually happy that many women face today as well as men. Many love her earlier books but I will have to go out on a possibly blasphemous limb and say that Heart of the Matter is her best, should they ever be compared. The content of the book is true literary escapism and so true to life. Single, married, old, young and women from any walk of life can relate to this book. Please do not dismiss this book as a narrative lacking substance. There is so much to this story. Well done Emily Giffin, five stars well deserved!

posted by Jeanelle_C on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Could have been better.

I have read all of Emily Giffin's books and this one was too predictable from the beginning and wasn't what I expected. I had read another book written in the same format where each chapter was a different person telling their story, but it had substance to it that kep...
I have read all of Emily Giffin's books and this one was too predictable from the beginning and wasn't what I expected. I had read another book written in the same format where each chapter was a different person telling their story, but it had substance to it that kept me turning the pages and waiting for things to be unveiled. This book was a fast read, but that is all it was. There could have been much more to the story and the title of the book, I feel, does not fit the story that was told. Like others have said, it is the typical book where man cheats on wife and wife takes husband back. I agree that Tess took him back way too quickly. It's like Giffin needed to finish the story and rushed through the end. I know it leaves room for our imagination, but there are strings to tie to help reach that point and create a solid story. Maybe I am being a bit harsh, but I have read better and this is my personal opinion. I just feel that this story was not the WOW that I expected, because I knew it could have been a better story.

posted by LaBrujaBuena on May 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1457 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 73
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    very disappointing

    I have been a fan of this author until now. This book was totally disappointing, falling right in line with all other run of the mill books & tv shows. Man cheats, wife forgives - why must there be another book published with this story?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Emily has done it again!!!

    I've been a long time fan of Giffin's book since her first "Something Borrowed". "Heart of the Matter" was one of her best. I couldn't put the book down and finished it in a day. Long time readers of Giffin with be pleasantly surprised when characters return in this book and it reminds you of the relationships you created with these characters that you couldn't help but to love! When finishing HOTM and putting it on your bookshelf to join the rest of Giffin's books you are left with a feeling of, MORE! Can't wait to read more of Giffin's masterpieces!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Meh....

    This book was really kinda distrubing........i mean seriously......weirdness.......

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Story from Giffin!

    I was so excited that I pre-ordered this book! I love Emiy's writing and interesting subject matters. While she writes "chick-lit" there is a lot of heart and real issues in her books. This one was no different, exploring the lives of two very different women in love with the same man. I think the character development was great and I loved to see Rachel and Dex from Something Borrowed make a return - a happy return too! Giffin is an immensely gifted writer whose books have not disppointed me so far!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Surprise! Another Sad Story from Emily Giffin

    I believed the hype on Emily Giffin and barreled through Something Borrowed, Something Blue, and Baby Proof. All were moderately enjoyable; but, oddly and unnecessarily sad.

    I was hoping to see something different in her latest "The Heart of the Matter" but I was treated to surprise! more miserable underdeveloped characters.

    The good news is she lets you know from the start that this is going to be unhappy journey. The obvious plot and misery of the characters is painfully predictable in the first 10 pages.

    This one goes on my "must-not" read list for the summer. Here's hoping that Emily will dig deep and find a happy ending for her readers and characters in her next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    sorry emily, i still love you

    didn't like ANY of the characters. in fact, i hated them and the story in general. i love chiclit, but this is debbie downer drama nonsense. i LOVED her first 3 books, they are still my favorite. this was a very heavy book. there were little to no funny, feel good moments. the plot was poor and didn't really make sense. i feel bad even typing this but just want to warn you not to rush out and buy the hardback. check it out from the library or wait til it is released in paperback. i'm so sad. i've been looking forward to ths book fo soooo long.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    I have read all of Emily Giffin's books. I love her writing style and this book does not disappoint. I read this book in a day. I could not put it down. The characters and the description of their feelings seem so real.
    I liked how the author gave you insight on both female characters. I was able to feel for both female characters, however, my heart went out to the character Tessa. I always learn something from Emily Giffin books. I highly recommend this book. I would also recommend reading Something Borrowed and Something Blue. The characters Rachel and Dex are included in Heart of the Matter. I liked how Giffin updated the reader on their relationship.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Emily Giffin doesn't disappoint

    I was surprised to hear some of the negative reviews. As usual, Giffin has interesting characters and a compelling story. I think that many of us who read this novel are "Tessas" and do not want to think about a story like this one. I thought the ending was appropriate and thought that it really got to the "Heart of the Matter." I loved this just as much as her other novels. I love how Giffin puts cameo appearances of other characters in her previous novels. I love knowing how some of her old characters are doing now. I suspect that we will hear more about Valerie (and maybe Lion) in novels to come.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LIFE HAPPENS...

    Tessa Russo and her doctor-husband Nick are the seemingly perfect married couple with two perfect children.
    Strong, determined single mom, Valerie Anderson comes into play when her young son, Charlie, is injured at a party campfire and plastic surgeon Nick comes to the rescue. Charlie is affected by the doctor's bedside manner and charm.and so is Valerie.
    Tessa and Val are two women who've made mistakes and bad choices for very good reasons. And, under different circumstances, they'd probably be really close friends.
    Some parts are laugh-out-loud hilarious, other parts are deep and dark and sensitive. This is very thought-provoking with the reader being able to be inside both women's heads where each side seems perfectly understandable and forgivable even under such circumstances as infidelity.
    A wonderful true-to-life drama to enjoy and be entertained by.maybe even learn a few lessons in life. I thoroughly enjoyed!

    Others I've read and loved, book club or not, are, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, PERFECT, WOMAN OF SUBSTANCE.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Emily Giffin!

    I loved the new Emily Giffin novel. I love all of her stories very much. Each one keeps you connected and interested in the story. You feel you are part of the story and know each character. This story is very touching and pulls at your heart. I am only half way through but so far I love it. Your heart breaks for both Valerie and Tessa. And Nick sounds delicious. I can't wait to finish the book. I will keep her books forever and share with my friends. They are a real stories that you can connect with.
    Read all of Emily Giffin's novels!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Couldn't Put It Down!

    Heart of the Matter is told from two very different viewpoints. Tessa, the stay at home mom and wife of pediatric surgeon Nick Russo, and Valerie, a single mom and attorney. On the anniversary of Tessa and Nick a terrible accident occurs involving Valerie's son, Charlie. Nick is called in the treat Charlie not knowing that all of their lives are about to change forever. Valerie finds herself drawn to Nick's kind and gentle way with her son while Tessa finds Nick growing distant from her. All three are caught up in a terrible triangle in which there can be no winners. I appreciated how Emily Griffin didn't make any one character out to be the good guy or the bad guy. I actually found myself liking both women even thought they were both so different. I could see both sides of the issue and wondered what would I do in each character's shoes. I found this book hard to put down as I couldn't for the life of me predict how it would end. It was an excellent read and I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Emily Giffin is the best!!

    I was waiting patiently for this book to come out for months and I must say, it was well worth the wait. Emily Giffin has done it again! This book was wonderful (just like her other four books). I saw some other reviews and was taken back by some of the negativity towards this book (It is obviously by someone who has never picked up an Emily Giffin book). Her writing style is excellent and all I have to say is WELL DONE!!

    To those who have read Emily's other books-you'll definitely appreciate this one, especially the cameo's from some past characters in her other books:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Loved it!

    Emily Giffin doesn't disappoint in Heart of the Matter. This complex story focuses on two women with seemingly different lives. A tragic accident brings these two women together in ways neither ever imagined possible. I enjoy Giffin's writing because she takes issues that many would consider taboo and making them real. No one ever thinks in the pattern of their life that the choices they make could have such a profound effect on complete strangers. I found myself unable to put it down, dying to see what happens next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    I thought it was a great book. I couldn't put it down. I felt for both characters. I am so sad that I finished it. I was dying to know how the story ended by yet I didn't want to finish it. I cannot wait for her next book. I will definitely recommend this book to my friends. Thank you Emily for writing such a great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Emily Giffin does it again!

    Emily Giffin has written another wonderful read. You will be hooked from the first page. Emily creates an easy read that draws you in to feel like the heroines best friend. This time she wonderful writes the perspective of two women which leaves you torn just like anyone in a situation of marital affair would feel. No occurance in life is ever one sided. Emily does a wonderful job of telling a story where in you do see two drastically different sides of the same situation.

    If you are a fan of Emily Giffin's previous reads you will be please to see a cameo from some her past characters as well!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT CAN'T PUT IT DOWN

    I love this book as much as I loved Something Borrowed Something Blue I can always relate to her characters finding myself yelling at them when they are doing wrong like we are close friends. I am almost done can't wait to see how it ends I will be sad though as I will feel like all my new friends are gone. I hope Emily continues to write for us she has a great way if telling a story. I hope one day to meet her in person. Thanks again Emily for a masterpiece I am loving it.

    Lisa

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    Fantastic Novel!

    I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy of this book and let me tell you it was FANTASTIC! As good if not better than Ms. Giffins previous 4 novels. I really like the way that one of the two main characters (Tessa) is siblings with Dex from Something Borrowed. It tied the older story in nicely to where i felt I already knew the characters background. I have to say it was very easy to identify with the characters and I felt like I was right in the room where the stories took place. A MUST READ!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    In Ehhh

    I dont enjoy reading books about infedelity. They seems to make me go to bed sad and angry, both of which are feelingd i dont enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Not what was expected

    This book was very dissapointing, the quickness at which Tessa took him back and that the book ended without much conclusion was frustrating, and the way Valerie had no sympathy for the situation and it was implied that she gets ahold of Lion at the end again very frustrating. The book was just over without any true resolution.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Alphabet

    ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
    Now i know my abc's i hate this book shot it please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1457 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 73