Customer Reviews for

Heart of the Matter

Average Rating 4
( 1450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(517)

4 Star

(436)

3 Star

(292)

2 Star

(118)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Sets the stage for 2010 summer reads.

Heart of the Matter is an astounding and contemporary read. This book is layered, told from two points of view from a brokenhearted single mother struggling with circumstances she did not wish for herself and a stay at home mother battling through the boredom and monoto...
Heart of the Matter is an astounding and contemporary read. This book is layered, told from two points of view from a brokenhearted single mother struggling with circumstances she did not wish for herself and a stay at home mother battling through the boredom and monotony of motherhood. Both women are on a mission for personal fulfillment in the novel as their lives become connected by a heartbreaking accident. The story is a page turner filled with emotion jerking words that are both relatable and tangible.





I appreciated the detailed medical procedures, sports matches and elementary schools application process scenes that I possibly would not have understood otherwise without the author being so descriptive in her writing. The author also has an aptitude for understanding the human experience, especially the experience of living amongst the judgment, rivalry, loneliness, need to feel completed and to be continually happy that many women face today as well as men. Many love her earlier books but I will have to go out on a possibly blasphemous limb and say that Heart of the Matter is her best, should they ever be compared. The content of the book is true literary escapism and so true to life. Single, married, old, young and women from any walk of life can relate to this book. Please do not dismiss this book as a narrative lacking substance. There is so much to this story. Well done Emily Giffin, five stars well deserved!

posted by Jeanelle_C on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Could have been better.

I have read all of Emily Giffin's books and this one was too predictable from the beginning and wasn't what I expected. I had read another book written in the same format where each chapter was a different person telling their story, but it had substance to it that kep...
I have read all of Emily Giffin's books and this one was too predictable from the beginning and wasn't what I expected. I had read another book written in the same format where each chapter was a different person telling their story, but it had substance to it that kept me turning the pages and waiting for things to be unveiled. This book was a fast read, but that is all it was. There could have been much more to the story and the title of the book, I feel, does not fit the story that was told. Like others have said, it is the typical book where man cheats on wife and wife takes husband back. I agree that Tess took him back way too quickly. It's like Giffin needed to finish the story and rushed through the end. I know it leaves room for our imagination, but there are strings to tie to help reach that point and create a solid story. Maybe I am being a bit harsh, but I have read better and this is my personal opinion. I just feel that this story was not the WOW that I expected, because I knew it could have been a better story.

posted by LaBrujaBuena on May 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Very Disturbing

    I had read two other books by this author, and looked forward to reading this as well.
    As I began to read, I was disturbed to see that it was a story about a man in a position of power (a physician), abusing that power and trust by having an affair with one of his pediatric patients Mother at a vulnerable time in her life, to say the least.
    I would think with all the recent headlines telling of men in powerful positions, such as coaches, politicians, clergy, physicians and teachers abusing their power , that a story of an arrogant physician who seems to be a complete jerk would be the last thing someone would want to read about.
    Why would anyone want to try and make a character like that seem romantic or tortured...especially a woman??
    I think Emily Griffin has the talent and intelligence to do a lot better ...so disappointed .

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    very disappointing

    I have been a fan of this author until now. This book was totally disappointing, falling right in line with all other run of the mill books & tv shows. Man cheats, wife forgives - why must there be another book published with this story?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Meh....

    This book was really kinda distrubing........i mean seriously......weirdness.......

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Surprise! Another Sad Story from Emily Giffin

    I believed the hype on Emily Giffin and barreled through Something Borrowed, Something Blue, and Baby Proof. All were moderately enjoyable; but, oddly and unnecessarily sad.

    I was hoping to see something different in her latest "The Heart of the Matter" but I was treated to surprise! more miserable underdeveloped characters.

    The good news is she lets you know from the start that this is going to be unhappy journey. The obvious plot and misery of the characters is painfully predictable in the first 10 pages.

    This one goes on my "must-not" read list for the summer. Here's hoping that Emily will dig deep and find a happy ending for her readers and characters in her next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    sorry emily, i still love you

    didn't like ANY of the characters. in fact, i hated them and the story in general. i love chiclit, but this is debbie downer drama nonsense. i LOVED her first 3 books, they are still my favorite. this was a very heavy book. there were little to no funny, feel good moments. the plot was poor and didn't really make sense. i feel bad even typing this but just want to warn you not to rush out and buy the hardback. check it out from the library or wait til it is released in paperback. i'm so sad. i've been looking forward to ths book fo soooo long.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Not what was expected

    This book was very dissapointing, the quickness at which Tessa took him back and that the book ended without much conclusion was frustrating, and the way Valerie had no sympathy for the situation and it was implied that she gets ahold of Lion at the end again very frustrating. The book was just over without any true resolution.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Alphabet

    ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
    Now i know my abc's i hate this book shot it please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Hated this book

    I loved all the other books by Ms.Griffin but I couldn't enjoy the adultry in this novel. Perhaps having my ex-husband cheat on me and our two young daughters had something to do with this being a raw subject for me . Cheating on a spouse and your family is never justified. The book just made me nauseated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Na

    Not thrilled with this book, a friend suggested it. I skipped pages just to get done. I wished i'd borrowed it instead of buying it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Awful

    I read all of her other books and have to say i was really dissapointed in this one. I found myself flippin through pages just to b done. It just really doesnt go anywhere. Dont waste time on this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Lp It is too lovey and there is no action

    It is so bad it saddens me to rate it even 1 star ! :()

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    I dont like Nick

    T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Don't waste your money on this drivel !

    Trite, boring, unlikeable characters, and the author's overuse of the phase "more important" comprise this novel. Wish I hadn't spent good money on this idiocy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    This is the first book I have read by this author. All I can sa

    This is the first book I have read by this author. All I can say that I am glad I bought it as either a Daily Find or Free Friday. I know I didn't spend a lot on the book. I found the story line itself would have been good but the writing was drawn out and boring. I would find skipping the narrative and descriptions and going to the dialog which left a lot to be desired there too. What I really don't understand and what I feel this author does not explain is the fact that Nick can seem to fall in and out of love very quickly. At one point the author writes that he fell hard, I am sorry I just don't see how if you "fall hard" for someone that you can turn it off in what appears to be a matter of hours. Also, the ending seems to just stop, it didn't appear that anything we finished, almost like the author got tired of writing and just stopped. In my opinion, if you get this a Free Friday book it is something to read but don't waste your money on the book otherwise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Eh

    I just couldn't get over the cheating theme in this book. I found it aggravating and frustrating and I disliked every character. Good thing I only paid $3. I wouldn't suggest buying this book if you have good morals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Air

    Fine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    I just finished reading this book and I wouldn't even be giving

    I just finished reading this book and I wouldn't even be giving it one star if I didn't have to do so. It was an extremely disappointing read. After reading all of Emily Giffin's books, this is probably her worse so far and makes me second guess reading her book coming out this July. The story line was yet another soap opera style story line with a man cheating on his wife with someone whom he told he loved, told her it was over and then went home crying to his wife wanting to make it "work". For me, it was believable that a man of authority would take advantage to some degree of his position as Charlie's surgeon, but Valerie was a knowing participant. They fell in love with each other and he returned home to profess his love for his wife? Both Tess and Nick seemed unable to see the forest for the trees when contemplating where to go from there...instead of actually not wanting to live a life that is a complete and total lie after broken trust and broken wedding vows, you are lead to believe they both seemed to mutually decide that they weren't able to give up the "life" they built together. There is absolutely no way any woman with any self respect or respect for the sanctity of marriage would be able to move forward. It was devastating the way Nick was so involved in Charlie's life and then abruptly left without seeing him or anything. That is unthinkable to do such a thing to a six-year-old who has been through such a traumatic experience. Nick spent valuable time with Charlie, rebuilding his self-confidence and then he just walks away. It seemed that Tess complained throughout the book about different aspects of her life and frankly painted the life as a stay-at-home-mom with complete and total negativity. Everything to her seemed to be a "duty". She wasn't enjoying her life, so I don't blame Nick for not being satisfied. That should have been the root of their debate at the end of the book, why are we both unhappy? He cheated...she was obviously not happy after giving up her career, something at which she couldn't let go of through the entire book which seemed increasingly redundant. The storyline was questionable, there were many things that left the reader hanging without closure and the idea of infidelity and falling in love with someone else, but still not wanting to "give up the life" you have just because of an expensive house, car, friends, and so on. That's a pathetic excuse and as her friend told her, she stayed after her husband cheated and she despises him. Pretty much that's how it would be for Nick and Tess as well. It was a predictable storyline with a rushed-through ending that seemed downright forced in the way it was written. They got back together too soon and the whole idea of the affair seemed to be gone. I would only want my spouse to stay with me if they loved me. I don't at all understand why Valerie wasn't honest with Tess about loving Nick and vice versa. It seemed the author was trying to prove something with this book that wasn't quite clear. It was not a smooth realistic storyline. In all reality, it was NOT AT ALL believable. I would not recommend this book, unless you are looking for the idea of working through a marriage that will always remain a joke for the rest of your lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Don't recommend

    I found this book really slow reading. BAsically a women getting divorced has just inherited her gay grandmothers (2) house and goes back to the house to clean it out. It's a "blast to the past" for her including her old flame. I never finished reading this as there are so many exciting books out there why should I waste my time reading a dull book and I am not interested in hearing how luck she was to have her 2 gay grandmothers. I am accepting of gays but have had enough of liberals pushing their views.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Amanda Amanda

    Very dissapointing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Don't waste your money

    Hated it! Had the synopsis indicated there was an affair at the center where the marriage relationship was ok I would never have purchased. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5