Customer Reviews for

Heart of the Matter

Average Rating 4
( 1451 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(517)

4 Star

(437)

3 Star

(292)

2 Star

(118)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Sets the stage for 2010 summer reads.

Heart of the Matter is an astounding and contemporary read. This book is layered, told from two points of view from a brokenhearted single mother struggling with circumstances she did not wish for herself and a stay at home mother battling through the boredom and monoto...
Heart of the Matter is an astounding and contemporary read. This book is layered, told from two points of view from a brokenhearted single mother struggling with circumstances she did not wish for herself and a stay at home mother battling through the boredom and monotony of motherhood. Both women are on a mission for personal fulfillment in the novel as their lives become connected by a heartbreaking accident. The story is a page turner filled with emotion jerking words that are both relatable and tangible.





I appreciated the detailed medical procedures, sports matches and elementary schools application process scenes that I possibly would not have understood otherwise without the author being so descriptive in her writing. The author also has an aptitude for understanding the human experience, especially the experience of living amongst the judgment, rivalry, loneliness, need to feel completed and to be continually happy that many women face today as well as men. Many love her earlier books but I will have to go out on a possibly blasphemous limb and say that Heart of the Matter is her best, should they ever be compared. The content of the book is true literary escapism and so true to life. Single, married, old, young and women from any walk of life can relate to this book. Please do not dismiss this book as a narrative lacking substance. There is so much to this story. Well done Emily Giffin, five stars well deserved!

posted by Jeanelle_C on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Could have been better.

I have read all of Emily Giffin's books and this one was too predictable from the beginning and wasn't what I expected. I had read another book written in the same format where each chapter was a different person telling their story, but it had substance to it that kep...
I have read all of Emily Giffin's books and this one was too predictable from the beginning and wasn't what I expected. I had read another book written in the same format where each chapter was a different person telling their story, but it had substance to it that kept me turning the pages and waiting for things to be unveiled. This book was a fast read, but that is all it was. There could have been much more to the story and the title of the book, I feel, does not fit the story that was told. Like others have said, it is the typical book where man cheats on wife and wife takes husband back. I agree that Tess took him back way too quickly. It's like Giffin needed to finish the story and rushed through the end. I know it leaves room for our imagination, but there are strings to tie to help reach that point and create a solid story. Maybe I am being a bit harsh, but I have read better and this is my personal opinion. I just feel that this story was not the WOW that I expected, because I knew it could have been a better story.

posted by LaBrujaBuena on May 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 292 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    Beach read, Characters a little too perfect.

    I almost put this down in the beginning. It was so over the top with the Harvard education of both the doc and the lawyer. The Cornell undergrads and the teaching position at Wellesley, enough already. Then on top of that the little boy has an in depth knowledge of classical music and composers. The characters were described as a bit too pretentious even the Lion guy was a brilliant talented artist. I grew up in a working class neighborhood where some girls got pregnant and none of them went off to Harvard. That said this is tough subject matter and Griffin's writing style is so engaging. The ego centric surgeon and the wife caught up in the mundane life of a stay at home mom is a little bit soap operaish but I finished it and was entertained. What more can you ask for a summer read?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Not my favorite

    I have read everything from Emily Griffin and this just wasn't one of my favorites. The story line reminded me of "Something Borrowed" and I would have liked a bit of a happier ending...well at least I would have liked a bit more to the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    This book was the worth reading, not my favorite book. Not big on affair books and marriage issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    I really enjoyed this book. I thought it dragged on a bit, but overall it was a good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I expect more from EG

    I am a big Emily Giffin fan. I have read every one of her books (bought the first day they have come out) and I was very disappointed in this story line and the characters.
    I won't describe the entire story line as others already have but the book cover synopsis leads us to believe a tragic accident occurs and how these women deal with it (and how their lives are intertwined)"will cause their lives to converge in ways no one could have imagined"

    Well, the accident of course was serious but definitely not life and death and the circumstances that then unfurl to lead a doctor to have an affair with a patient's single mother and cheat on his wife was in deed surprising but disappointing. It didn't seem to take much imagination to come up with that storyline (although I suppose affairs rarely do in real life)
    Giffin's characters also disappointed. I had no empathy or interest really in the bitter single mom or the handsome perfect doctor ( someone who'd cheat so easily on their wife is far from perfect to me!) I didn't feel there was enough character development or maybe Giffin didn't want us to care. But in past books the author always leaves me with empathy and understanding of her characters. It just wasn't there this time.
    I did care about the doctor's wife but found her to be incredibly naive and willing to stick her head in the sand (especially with the anger she had toward her philanderer father!)
    And the secondary characters were superficial cliche's of the upper echelon private elementary school crowd.
    As someone else said, the ending was a fast almost fairy tale wrap up. You are left doubting this couple makes it.
    I wouldn't spend the money. Wait for the paperback.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Good read

    I enjoyed this read.I wish some parts could have been sa bigger part of thepkot but all in all I was intrigued to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    An easy read with moments of really looking forward to the next set of events.

    An easy to read and engaging book, nothing that I would rave about but certainly I did read the entire book. The characters are interesting and probably could be perceived as very normal, run of the mill life characters. The end was a tad predictable but the path getting there was interesting enough to keep me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    The book was good, but I didn't love it, wasn't big on the whole

    The book was good, but I didn't love it, wasn't big on the whole infidelity issue. I wasn't at all fond of Valeries character, she irritated me to no end. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Another GREAT book by Emily Giffin

    I've read all of her books & I loved them all. This one is no different. As a SUPER busy mom I am always looking for books that let me escape into someones life but are also a quick & easy read. These books come through for me every time. Her characters are real & believable & are so easy to connect with. I always recommend her books to people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Worth the read but not nearly as good as Something Borrowed & Something Blue

    Worth the read but not nearly as good as Something Borrowed & Something Blue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    Just OK. None of the characters were really very likable.

    Just OK. None of the characters were really very likable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Meh

    This was ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Good fast read

    Too predectable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Gdhejh

    Hhdeiqpqpsdduiqieueyrhfhdhfbd*38$*;"820#-$%*%72829*%*;$;&$:'+"*]?<¿=¿_¿_¿[¿>¿_€€_•\€¿?^-$-$4,%+%-$$-%-33hdhe rhfhfjejrhururoudhfifhfjff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    What would you do?

    So many questions left unanswered. This would be an excellent book for a reading club. I enjiyed this book but found myself sd and angry at the story once id read the whole thing. Its worth a read though it was not a favorite of mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Nice light easy read

    Little predictable but to be expected. Though it does deal with some adult issues its sill a good book to read if you are looking foor an enteraining story about one womans failing marriage and how she handals it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    This a good book.

    Just finished this book n it was a good read. Really starting to like her books. I have read two n both were good reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    A little disappointed in the ending ........

    This book had a great story line and it was an easy read. My only complaint is the ending seemed rushed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Good, but not her best

    My favorite Emily Griffin was Love the One You're With. Of the 5 she's written, this one's in the middle for me. Mostly becuase I found it a little slow at the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    :)

    I liked that this one was about Dex's sister and her life. I loved that Dex & Rachel often made cameos. I couldn't help but wonder if Leo from Love the One You're With is the same Lion/Leon from this one - that would be cool. But anyways, no spoilers, this book had me on edge the whole time I was reading it. When I put it down all I could do was think about it... It truly deals with love, infidelity (as in Giffin's style) and moving on. At times I would get so angry at the book and the characters, at times I would feel like crying, laughing, and rejoicing. But that's what a good book is supposed to do - evoke emotion - right? Give it a try, it is not her best but definitely worth reading. Hope this helped!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 292 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15