Customer Reviews for

Heart of the Matter

Average Rating 4
( 1450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(517)

4 Star

(436)

3 Star

(292)

2 Star

(118)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Sets the stage for 2010 summer reads.

Heart of the Matter is an astounding and contemporary read. This book is layered, told from two points of view from a brokenhearted single mother struggling with circumstances she did not wish for herself and a stay at home mother battling through the boredom and monoto...
Heart of the Matter is an astounding and contemporary read. This book is layered, told from two points of view from a brokenhearted single mother struggling with circumstances she did not wish for herself and a stay at home mother battling through the boredom and monotony of motherhood. Both women are on a mission for personal fulfillment in the novel as their lives become connected by a heartbreaking accident. The story is a page turner filled with emotion jerking words that are both relatable and tangible.





I appreciated the detailed medical procedures, sports matches and elementary schools application process scenes that I possibly would not have understood otherwise without the author being so descriptive in her writing. The author also has an aptitude for understanding the human experience, especially the experience of living amongst the judgment, rivalry, loneliness, need to feel completed and to be continually happy that many women face today as well as men. Many love her earlier books but I will have to go out on a possibly blasphemous limb and say that Heart of the Matter is her best, should they ever be compared. The content of the book is true literary escapism and so true to life. Single, married, old, young and women from any walk of life can relate to this book. Please do not dismiss this book as a narrative lacking substance. There is so much to this story. Well done Emily Giffin, five stars well deserved!

posted by Jeanelle_C on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Could have been better.

I have read all of Emily Giffin's books and this one was too predictable from the beginning and wasn't what I expected. I had read another book written in the same format where each chapter was a different person telling their story, but it had substance to it that kep...
I have read all of Emily Giffin's books and this one was too predictable from the beginning and wasn't what I expected. I had read another book written in the same format where each chapter was a different person telling their story, but it had substance to it that kept me turning the pages and waiting for things to be unveiled. This book was a fast read, but that is all it was. There could have been much more to the story and the title of the book, I feel, does not fit the story that was told. Like others have said, it is the typical book where man cheats on wife and wife takes husband back. I agree that Tess took him back way too quickly. It's like Giffin needed to finish the story and rushed through the end. I know it leaves room for our imagination, but there are strings to tie to help reach that point and create a solid story. Maybe I am being a bit harsh, but I have read better and this is my personal opinion. I just feel that this story was not the WOW that I expected, because I knew it could have been a better story.

posted by LaBrujaBuena on May 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 436 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    good book... but i had mix feelings about it

    I had so many mix emotions about this book. I don' t know if its because I'm married i didn't see Valerie's point of view. She knew he was married from the beginning and she chose to do the wrong thing. As for him, even though i started to hate him i have to say that he manned up and did what he was suppose to (tell his wife about the affair). Tessa, my heart goes out to her. She did nothing wrong, worry about her family and her marriage. She was very supportive of her husband career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Good read

    For me this started a touch slow compared to her other books,but was still worth the money and read .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Great fast read!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Very good Read

    Quick, Easy, Light read!! Emily Giffin is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Ends up being a great book

    I give this 4 stars because it was very slow in the beginning. I put the back down several times and sometimes it remained down. It is when i finally realized the connection between Tessa and Val that made the book more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    I love every book by this author

    I had originally read "Something Borrowed" when the movie was coming out, as I figure the book is probably pretty good if they make a movie of it. I was hooked immediately. I have since purchsed every book she has written, and have read all but one. This is the most recent one I have finished. She so perfectly captures and describes the feelings of the different characters that it is impossible not to empathize with everyone involved, even the characters who would traditionally be considered the villains. In her stories there are no villains, just people dealing with difficult situations. I have experienced one of the situations described in one of her books firsthand, and reading her story made me realize what the other person is likely feeling, and made me more sympathetic to that person. She is an excellent writer, with an excellent grasp of describing the exact emotions a person feels in the situations of the characters. I will read anything she writes. Hands down one of my new favorite authors, and for someone as fussy as me that is saying a lot. I recommend all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Couldn't put it down...

    Realized at some point that this is an extension of the "Something Borrowed" and "Something Blue" series...I LOVED IT!!!!

    I was kind of hoping it ended a little differently, but hey...it was still a GREAT book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Good read

    I was expecting better but it was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Loved it

    Read it in about 6 hours i really enjoyed it. Probably my favorite Emily Giffin book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I read this for book club and i had a hard time putting it down. I liked it so much, i started on another book by Emily Giffin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Maybe it hit to close to home

    This was a very good story. I guess going thru something close to this I understood where it was coming from. Everyone handles these situations different. I truly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Meh

    Good read but not as original as her others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    Thoughtful and bittersweet

    Having waited impatiently for this to come out in paperback, I bought it for a flight on the first day it was available and wasn't disappointed. To those who say it is too similar to Something Borrowed and Love the One You're With, I respectfully disagree. Does anyone really think that Dex should NOT have called off his wedding to Darcy and married Rachel instead? No one committed adultery, despite the messy situation. Dex, in fact, made the ethical choice. And in Love the One You're With (my favorite Giffin since Something Borrowed), Ellen does make the right decision - though she shouldn't have played with fire or had to agonize so much over remaining faithful to her adorable husband. The real conflict in Love the One You're With is not choosing between two potential partners - as it is in Something Borrowed and Heart of the Matter - but Ellen's need to support Andy in his career and family choices while remaining true to her own dreams. Ultimately, they arrive at a solution (one that, as a transplanted Southerner in New York, I applaud and relate to quite well). In Heart of the Matter, Giffin takes this conflict a step further, and we end up with a successful surgeon who can't decide whether it's more important to be faithful to his wife and children or to give succor to a single mom and her badly injured little boy, his patient. Giffin is a skillful writer, and she spins a finely crafted story that lets us see how this man gets to the point of no return without, I think, ever condoning his behavior. As I read, I could see no excuse for what happened and thought at numerous points along the way that Nick or Valerie could and should have ended the situation before it became an affair. Valerie is not unsympathetic, but there's no way her excessive dependency on her son's surgeon - and worse yet, allowing her sweet, fatherless little boy to install him as a surrogate daddy - can be excused; nor can Nick's frustration with his home life (which is pretty cushy) justify his actions. Tessa is completely sympathetic; she's better than the spoiled 'desperate housewives' around her, but she and her children have to function in the social milieu where their husband and father's profession places them, even if he can withdraw to the hospital to escape it. The bright spots in this novel were seeing Dex and Rachel as a (very!) happily married couple - nice touch, making Tessa Dex's sister - and the poignant scene between Tessa and her divorced parents in the restaurant after her family learns of Nick's betrayal. Good parents always come through, and Tessa's do for her. The book concludes as it should - I would have been horrified had Nick and Tessa actually split up - but, as Tessa says, it is not a perfect resolution. The overarching takeaway for me is that Tessa's mother is right: If you have earned a Ph.D. and a tenure-track position, don't give up your career to be a full-time suburban mom - just be the best mom with a great job. Good advice - and a good (if sobering) read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    True

    This book definitely can hit home; gossip, be trail, heartache, love, friendships and relationships. It makes you step back and really try and understand what you take for granted and what you can do to liven it up once in a while. Routine is definitely good but chance ever so often can make a difference! The suspense makes you want to continue on and finish, read it you wont put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I always love Giffens books! they always leave you wanting more! I feel torn between the women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    phenomenal

    emily has done it again. ive read all her others and just like them, i couldnt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Bravo Giffin!

    Our book club just finished this and loved it! I am a huge Giffin fan and she has done it again with this novel. This book is perfectly written and so poignant. The story is delivered in a way that we are able to see both sides of these character's well defined lives. This is one of my favorite Giffin pieces and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    A good look at life through fiction

    This book touches on many things that women go through on a daily basis. It is a work of fiction, but could easely be someones life. Touching and worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    Fast read

    Really enjoyed.... lazy and fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    luv emily

    i loved something borrowed and something blue and i was not disappointed with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 436 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 22