Customer Reviews for

Heart of the Ocean

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    In this 1840's mystery/romance, Eliza Robinson flees the gossip

    In this 1840's mystery/romance, Eliza Robinson flees the gossip of high society New York to go live with her Aunt Maeve in the Puritan town of Maybrook. During a storm, a ghostly voice, which only she can hear, urges her to jump off the cliff into the ocean. She rushes home to the safety of her aunt, but trouble follows her. During the night, she hears a noise, discovers her aunt is dead, and rushes into the night for help. She runs into a strange man near her house and faints. When she and the man who found her, Jonathan Porter, both end up in jail on suspicion of her aunt's murder, Eliza's peaceful world she's created in Maybrook crashes to pieces. 

    Thus begins Eliza's intense and startling journey to discover the truth about her aunt's death and the ghostly voice that haunts her. She discovers a journal belonging to Helena Talbott, who died 20 years earlier of a broken heart and left behind a 3 year old son, who happens to be Jonathan Porter, the same man who saved and helped get her out of jail. Can she trust him?

    This book pulled me in from the start with that ghostly voice on the cliff and haunted me until I finished and solved the mystery of Helena's death. The historical background is well done, and gave me glimpses into life in America and England during the 1800's without weighing the story down with too much detail. The main and side characters were rich and easy to connect to in this story. Their insecurities, pasts, weaknesses, strengths were all brought to life within the pages and had me engrossed in their lives. The romance is clean, yet made me hold my breath, wondering if the obstacles barring love would ever be overcome. I was hooked and carried away into another time and place, and look forward to reading more from Heather Moore in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Heart of the Ocean is a historical tale that grips your heart an

    Heart of the Ocean is a historical tale that grips your heart and has you on the edge of your seat from the first sentence to the last.

    Due to the fact that she has landed in the gossip columns of New York City for refusing to marry a man she doesn't love, Eliza Robinson has been sent to live with her aunt in a Puritan village in Massachusetts. Walking along the cliffs one night, she hears the whispers of Helena, a woman who disappeared without a trace years before.

    A horrible tragedy befalls Eliza, and she becomes more involved in Helena's story than she could have ever imagined. Eliza finds Helena's journal and learns the story which set events in motion that would span decades and continents. After months of turmoil, Eliza helps Helena finally rest in peace as she learns the truth of Helena's past and finds love with the son Helena left behind.

    If, like me, you love to read haunting historical romance books, this is one for you! The characters are easy to get to know, and the flow of the plot is so smooth that you feel like you have stepped back in time and are watching the story unfold in person.

    And, by the way, who wouldn't love that cover! It's beautiful!

    I look forward to reading more of Heather Moore's books. I received this book from the author. I was not required to leave a positive review. All thoughs are my onw.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A riveting read of 1830's in New England. We live among the earl

    A riveting read of 1830's in New England. We live among the early Puritan settlers, and experience some of what it was like to come on the Mayflower! Somehow they had managed to keep a lot of their ways of life, while some of the country has been prospering and changing.
    Eliza Robinson has grown up in a privileged life in NYC. When the story opens she has spurned her father's partner, a rather stout, older man, who had the desire to marry her. Can I say Yuck! Anyway society is in an uproar about her treatment of Thomas, and she decides to go her Dad's sister, Aunt Maeve. There she steps into another world of the Puritan's in the town of Maybrook.
    We are about to begin a journey of two Continents and a struggle for the truth. Did a young mother abandon her young son, or was she murdered? Will Jonathan ever be able to claim his inheritance? There are links between the property that Aunt Maeve owns and Jonathan's mother Helena. Why is Eliza felling this close connection to Helena?
    Then there is Jonathan's coming to terms with the station of his birth...you will be shocked at the treatment of Olivia by her Puritan town. Which path will Jonathan find himself on? You hope he will end up with Eliza, but then there is Nathan. He loves Eliza, and seems to want to do anything that would make her happy.
    Once you start on this book, you will not be able to put it down...you need to know the ending. I so enjoyed this!!

    I received this book through I Am A Reader, Not A Writer Book Blast, and was not required to give a positive review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Heartrendingly tragic and wonderfully beautiful all at the same

    Heartrendingly tragic and wonderfully beautiful all at the same time.

    Eliza goes to Maybrook after her reputation is damaged by the man she refused to marry. While there she get's involved in a mystery of a young woman's death and the spirit that cries out for peace. Also, during that time, she meets the young woman's now grown son and it becomes the story about the struggle to find peace from turmoil and finding love with the right person before it's too late.

    I've always had a thing about ghosts and history and when both were brought together in this book, I knew that I was going to end up enjoying this book. And, I was right, I did. I haven't read many books based in Puritan times, but this book made my heart bleed at the narrow-minded unfairness of it all. For a group of people who lived their lives religiously, they didn't show an ounce of kindness - at all. Poor, poor Helena and her poor son, Jon. 

    Still, as sad as her death was, it was what started this journey into finding a killer and for two people finding love - the right kind of love - not the superficial, political version of it. There was something amusing and frustrating about how the two main characters kept missing each other. One, who didn't want to get married to the wrong person, the other only too willing to in this weird belief that he didn't want to end up like his father. I couldn't help feeling that he continued with his actions, he would have been worse.

    I loved how the conflicts were resolved in this book and how it all came out in an ending I adored. There were surprises and I had a theory at the beginning of the book which was totally on the wrong path. I was seeing conspiracies that weren't there. I love it when books can do that to me. 

    The characters were something special to me too. Each had their own pasts which was behind the choices they made. I felt connected to both of them, but especially Eliza. I couldn't help, but identify myself in her - some of her beliefs echoing mine. There was a good 'feel' vibe to the book which the characters helped to create. And the secondary characters only built on that too. Gus and Ruth. Both very complex secondary characters.

    The only thing that I could mention that was even remotely negative was that near the very end of the book there is a description of a gravestone for Helena that was wrong. If the dates had been right, Helena would have been seven or eight when she had Jon. But considering it was a proof of the book I was given to review, it can be very easily overlooked.

    I would recommend this to anyone who likes historical fiction and mystery.  

    Book Review from Sandy at Magical Manuscripts

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    It is my first read of this remarkable author's work and definit

    It is my first read of this remarkable author's work and definitely not the last. Heather B. Moore has penned down a wonderful story set in New England and the Puritan reign in that area. Familiar with the believes and in some ways an admirer of this group that landed in North East America making this their new home away from home. Forsaking the heretics in England in search for a new life. Their deep believe in the Almighty and His hand upon their lives is remarkable. But then they were also extremely religious and anything apposing to their believe were heretic. Learned nothing of what they fled from in the first place. Allowing no room for grace and mercy from a Redeeming Father. 




    In Ocean of the Heart this issues is dealt with sufficiently. We meet a young woman's ghost seeking revenge, Helena Talbot who was banned because of an unwanted pregnancy at the very tender age of seventeen. Placed in jail and after her trail placed in house arrest so that her condition could not be seen by the towns people.
    She fled to a Lighthouse where she remained until her death. Leaving behind a little three year old boy and many questions. Ostracized and judge leaving her in turmoil long after her untimely death.
    The story begins with our main character Eliza Robinson running from a controversial break up in New York landing up in the same house young Helena lived. Helena reached out to the young woman and so began the interesting plot to this great historical christian read.
    We meet Jon Porter, the disregarded little boy now a grown man seeking his own footing in life, engaged to Apryl. A pretty ornament that clung to him for what he could give while flirting with another man Thomas Beesly. An evil rich man with his own agenda, spreading gossip to suit his purpose almost destroying the Robinson family at the end.
    In search for legitimate papers to claim his inheritance the two young people met under dire circumstances.
    Murder, jail time, gossip, misunderstandings and the persistent voice of the ghost kept them apart and you glued to the pages. Dreams that tried to reveal the truth kept our young character tired, making wrong decisions. Almost costing her, her love.
    The budding romance between the two were constantly thawed with meddling parents, a flirting fiance, a insisting young Puritan and the search of belonging to a wonderful end. As they searched their hearts making way through all the nitty gritty's of life you learn to love and care for them both, seeking happiness for them in their journey which take them over the waters, discovering new places and in the process discovering their hearts.
    A Great read I can recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Very good read would recomend

    Enjoyed the book will purchase more ebooks from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Loved this book

    Historical novel that is a page turned. I couldn't put it down after I started reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

     I would recommend this book to anyone that likes mysteries and

     I would recommend this book to anyone that likes mysteries and a bit of the paranormal.  
    I was surprised that the book took place in the 1840's.  It was a mix of the high society and Puritan.  
    I received a copy of the book for my honest review.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When I first heard that this was a ghost story I was disappointe

    When I first heard that this was a ghost story I was disappointed.  I'm not a huge fan of ghost stories.  However, as you can tell by my rating, I loved this book.  Even though this book had a ghost, it was not what I consider a ghost story.  This story had mystery, romance, suspense and drama.  

    I thoroughly enjoyed the mystery and ghostly aspect of the story.  It was the backdrop and setting for the two main characters to experience their own story.  That part of the story was set in a Puritan town in Massachusetts.  It is not an area of the country I am familiar with and the author described the area well enough that I could picture the setting without the setting becoming the main focus.  

    This book brought two people together that from the beginning look like they are so different.  However, as we the reader get to know these characters we realize that they have more in common than we thought.  I liked seeing the two main characters working together and the wonderful, fleeting moments they had together.  There were lots of twists and intertwining of the two lives that was unexpected.  I was definitely routing for them and hoped that their fleeting moments would lengthen out.

    Warnings: Some violence described and some read/dreamed/remembered (including murder and rape)

    I would let my 16 year old read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Ghosts, Gossips, and Getting Ahead If you like ghost stories, t

    Ghosts, Gossips, and Getting Ahead

    If you like ghost stories, then you will like Heart of the Ocean by Heather B. Moore. Set in 1839, Moore’s recent novel throws a young, wealthy socialite from New York City into Maybrook, a village in the heart of Puritan country in New England. The ghostly voice of a troubled woman sets young Eliza on a quest to help a forgotten, disgraced woman.

    Eliza, who is slowly recovering from the recent social disgrace of breaking her engagement to a rich but repulsive man, feels compelled after the sudden death of her aunt Mauve, to seek recourse for the troubled ghost that seems to speak to only her. Fate seems to encircle Eliza as she encounters people who knew the ghost. Particularly, the woman’s son, Jon, who returns to Maybrook seeking information about his birth, creates a quandary for Eliza, and she for Jon.

    Moore creates believable characters in this book who are at odds with themselves and each other. Eliza wants escape from the gossips. Jon wants to step into the society Eliza fled. And the Puritan women so entwined in the story, hide secrets that will affect everyone.

    The tension between the characters and the evolving plot create an intense story of intrigue and unexpected turns. The historical content, aside from the setting of Maybrook, is somewhat weak but doesn’t negatively affect the story.

    If you like an interesting ghost story combined with romance, and troubles of all kinds, this is a fun book to read. I received a complimentary copy of Heart of the Ocean to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

     I just finished reading "Heart of the Ocean" for the

     I just finished reading "Heart of the Ocean" for the second time in one year. I really enjoyed this story and the characters.
     I felt like I knew who would be the "bad" guy in the story but was I ever wrong. I can usually spot a plot twist but was really surprised at
     the ending. Each character is fleshed out enough that I felt invested in their lives. Reading this was as if I was watching a movie and
     I could visualize the action in my mind. I could not put down the book and spent a couple of nights reading straight through. I can
     highly recommend this to both historical romance/regency readers and those who like a little mystery thrown in! Heather Moore is
     one of my favorite authors.  I buy anything she has written and have not been disappointed ever with her storytelling abilities. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    It seems that lately I am definitely reading books out of my typ

    It seems that lately I am definitely reading books out of my typical genre, and this one certainly is. Yes, I read historical romances, but I generally avoid "ghost stories." But since this was being offered for review by someone I respect, I figured I would give it a try. And I am so glad I did!

    First of all, the "ghost" bit is more like a Victorian ghost story. You never see the ghost, and though an important element, it is not scary. I can definitely say this book would not give me nightmares (though Eliza and Johnathan do!). There is also no sex (yay!), and the profanity is barely existent, i.e., very minimal it is hardly noticed.

    As for the story, I absolutely loved it! The romance is perfect, and the mystery had quite a shocking ending. I felt the characters were amazing, and the book was somewhat reminiscent of "Woman in White," at least in style (not story). There was never a dull moment in the story, and I struggled to put it down in spite of everything else I am reading at present. If you love historical fiction, romance, and even mystery, this is the ideal book for you. My meager words don't do this book justice.

    I also appreciate the Puritanical elements of the book. I was horrified to read the journal in the story that concerned an unwed mother--her treatment gave me chills. I was not aware of communities of Puritans existing during this time period in history, but why should I have been surprised? And Nathaniel did add a lighter element to this part of this story--quite delightful!

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1