Customer Reviews for

Heart of the Witch

Average Rating 3.5
( 1279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(325)

4 Star

(347)

3 Star

(343)

2 Star

(140)

1 Star

(124)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This isn't Kansas, Dorothy!

It's Oklahoma. Debut author Alicia Dean creates a world of witches, a serial killer--The Tin Man--and a broken man looking for his heart. This tale is scarier than the flying monkeys. The homage to the Wizard of Oz is a deft touch and Dean's words and plot are evocative...
It's Oklahoma. Debut author Alicia Dean creates a world of witches, a serial killer--The Tin Man--and a broken man looking for his heart. This tale is scarier than the flying monkeys. The homage to the Wizard of Oz is a deft touch and Dean's words and plot are evocative and entertaining. This book has a permanent place on my keeper shelf.

posted by Silver-J on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

If you don't like it...walk away

Hey, quit complaining, its free....if you don't like it try again next week. I think its great BN offers this!

posted by Rainbo on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Eh . . .

    Not my thing. The writing was pretty mediocre, although that seems standard in this genre. I'm not a fan of romance novels either, and there was way too much of the OMIGOD he/she is sooooo hot I can't keep myself from ripping their clothes off. It all went down pretty predictably. This is the kind of thing I wrote in high school and would never have dreamed of publishing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Meh

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Hard to slog through

    Kinda feels like a college student essay. Not sure if I'll even finish this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    Don't expect too much

    If you want fluff, this is ok. I found it to be a ridiculous combination of cliched plotlines from multiple genres, none of them done well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Not exactly bad, unless you are pagan or wiccan! Ouch!

    This is not a bad story. If you like paranormal romance, then you are probably going to gobble this up with a spoon. I won't even say I dislike it. I read it almost all in one sitting. My problem is the setting.

    My religion is a very private thing with me, so I feel weird pulling it out now in a book review. However, when someone chooses to make my religion part of their "fantasy" setting and distorting it to make money, then yeah, I'm a bit pissed off.

    First, as in all things in life, paganism and wicca are about balance. Every person has both light and dark aspects to themselves. Most of us don't believe in trying to disconnect them.

    Second, every sane wiccan or pagan I know doesn't believe they have special powers, and while we believe in the power of personal energy, or prayer, or magic, or the Blue Eyed Newt, we also believe in locking our doors and not going outside to look for cats in the dark.

    And most covens want married couples in the High Priest and Priestess roles. Coven is supposed to be the family you make for yourself, not some rigid cocktail party with weird rules and expectations.

    I apologize for ranting like that, but really, how much more wrong could she be?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Glad it was free

    I could never really get into the book even though the storyline sounded interesting. I never cared enough about the characters. It wasn't even a satisfying detective story because almost no detective work was done at all to solve the case of the Tin Man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Predictable and Trite

    There's nothing new here, really. Except for the made-up witch culture, which is close enough to modern Wicca in so many ways that I was puzzled the author had to make up a holiday called "Lammenth" when she could just as easily have used "Samhain."

    The characters are formulaic and difficult to care about, and the plot is fairly predictable.

    And I wonder why witches refer to the rest of us as "mortals" when they can obviously die, too. That smacks more than a little of lack of imagination and borrowing from Bewitched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    I've Read Better

    The story line was compelling with good twists and interesting characters but it was choppy and underdeveloped. I liked the premise and hope Ms. Dean writes more in this genre. She has a unique thought process and future books could be interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Not a bad plot, but writing could use some work...

    I thought that the main idea of this story, there being a serial killer and Ravyn after escaping helps Nick catch him, was a good plot but the author could have written it better. I thought that the tin man plot was wrapped up too quickly and felt that the reason why he killed the women and how he chose his victims was not explained properly in the book. Also, the love story between Ravyn and Nick moved rather quickly. It seemed that she disliked him one moment and loved him the next. It even seemed to me weird how after all these years of lamenting his wifes death, it was all too easy for him to move on after he met Ravyn. I know that Ravyn used magic to help him forgive what happened with his wife, but after that it feels like it should have taken a bit longer for him to heal. I next thought that more details and background information were needed in the story, especially when it came to the witchcraft and Ravyn's coven. The author merely glossed over Ravyn's powers and how the coven worked; as well as differences between good and dark magic. Kayne's background and plans in the story could have been fleshed out in the story as well. So, overall not a bad plot, but the writing could use some work.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Ok....

    It was free, so I won't rag on it too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    Disappointed

    The book was disorganized and it was hard to relate to the characters. Their personalities seemed superficial. The story jumped dramatically from an adventure/mystery to a sex scene...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heart of the Witch has a mediocre beat.

    I have to say, I got what I expected from Heart of the Witch, a mediocre story with mediocre writing. The main character, "Ravyn" (and there's an entire review that could be written on the name choices in this story...) is a Mary Sue. She's too beautiful, too powerful, too convenient with her abilities. If there's a new problem that can't be solved, Ravyn will magically "see" what needs to be known, a la Dues ex machina. Of course, her one flaw, her cold, stand-offish heart, provides a convenient excuse to introduce the love interest. This of course leads to strained tension, sudden and unexplainable attraction, the inevitable, if seemingly uneventful sex scene, and final confrontations with the villains- a showdown between true love and the ultimate evil... wrapped in a bulging loincloth. There are a few laughs, a few clever turns of a phrase, and at points, some entertainment value. Though, overall, the characters are too shallow, the emotional reactions too predictable, the plot- had promise but was degraded by the somewhat elementary writing. Honestly, this is not the worst book I've ever read, not by far, but not something I'd bother to recommend to anyone else. I truly appreciate Free Fridays. I just hope I'm able to enjoy the next offering more than this one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Free Friday

    I so didnt know about 'free Friday'. Love it!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7