Customer Reviews for

Heart of the Witch

Average Rating 3.5
( 1283 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(326)

4 Star

(349)

3 Star

(344)

2 Star

(140)

1 Star

(124)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This isn't Kansas, Dorothy!

It's Oklahoma. Debut author Alicia Dean creates a world of witches, a serial killer--The Tin Man--and a broken man looking for his heart. This tale is scarier than the flying monkeys. The homage to the Wizard of Oz is a deft touch and Dean's words and plot are evocative...
It's Oklahoma. Debut author Alicia Dean creates a world of witches, a serial killer--The Tin Man--and a broken man looking for his heart. This tale is scarier than the flying monkeys. The homage to the Wizard of Oz is a deft touch and Dean's words and plot are evocative and entertaining. This book has a permanent place on my keeper shelf.

posted by Silver-J on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

If you don't like it...walk away

Hey, quit complaining, its free....if you don't like it try again next week. I think its great BN offers this!

posted by Rainbo on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This isn't Kansas, Dorothy!

    It's Oklahoma. Debut author Alicia Dean creates a world of witches, a serial killer--The Tin Man--and a broken man looking for his heart. This tale is scarier than the flying monkeys. The homage to the Wizard of Oz is a deft touch and Dean's words and plot are evocative and entertaining. This book has a permanent place on my keeper shelf.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    his is a fast-paced fun to read serial killer romantic urban fantasy,

    In Okalahoma City, the Tin Man serial killer abducts witch Rayvn Skyler planning to rape her before he kills her. Irate, she breaks the prime rule of her coven by setting his crotch ablaze before escaping. He survives her counter assault, but is outraged that his chosen prey harmed him and escaped before he could inscribe on her corpse in blood his moniker The Tin Man, irate he vows vengeance.

    Meanwhile mortal former homicide detective Nick Lassiter knows he finally has the bait to run down the Tin Man whom he obsesses over ending the psychopath's terror. He plans to use Rayvn who wonders about this Nick who seems to be nearby every time she blinks. At the same time her former lover Kayne has become apparently insane as his soul is filled with ambitious evil plans for world domination. Between Kayne and the Tin Man ruining her life and anyone close to her like her sister and mom, Rayvn fears most for not so mundane Nick.

    This is a fast-paced fun to read serial killer romantic urban fantasy, but has too many major subplots that lead to abrupt transitions. The readers and Rayvn know the bad guys from almost the beginning, but that enhances those two thriller threads as the audience anticipates confrontations. With a deep look inside the politics of a coven on top of the non-stop action, sub-genre readers will agree with Nick that the Heart of the Witch is captivating and bewitching.

    Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Fun read

    A bit of mystery, a bit of magic, and a lot of love. For the price well worth it! I would have even paid for it.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    Great read!!!!

    I picked this book up on Saturday and read it in one sitting -- well, two with a dinner break. The writing is superb, the mystery taut, and the characters will tug at your heart as they race to take down a vicious killer. Can't wait for Alicia Dean's next novel!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Great read!

    A great page turner. Something for everyone, murder mystery, and romance. Not for young readers, swears and grafic descriptions. A great new author!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very cool book

    Everyone is looking for the big major production. It is a great story to read and enjoy , so that you can escape from the every day realities we have to face. Although for those of you with limited imaginations, you definetly should watch out for the witches around you...

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the book!

    Paranormal with a huge dose of reality. I will be checking out this author. Recommend for ppl that enjoy paranormal books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thank You

    Thank you for the gift of Free Fridays. I love my Nook Color. My mother told me when given something to say thank you graciously, and if it wasn't to my taste, keep it to myself. It goes along with if you don't have something nice to say, don't say anything. I appreciate when concrete information is given, but not just a rant. Civility needs to be a guiding emotion so that we can make a change in our world. But it is also interesting to see the differences in people. I have not read this book yet, my 5 stars are for the gift of a free book. Sincerly, Melody Lema

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Have to love free fridays

    I agree with some ofyou out there. It is nice to have the oportunity to try something new and maybe a new author. Why complain afterall it is free. If you don't want it don't download it. Please don't ruin this free opportunity that many of us like, enjoy and look forward to. Thank you BN for these opportunities.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    Loved this book was pretty long and really enjoyed that actual story and witch craft...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Attn: the_curious_reader

    Looks like you like cats. That explains your ignorance for good books. Perhaps you should stick to FUN WITH DICK AND JANE books. Those may be a little easier for you to read and comprehend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This was a great read. Well worth the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked this book.

    This is a very good murder mystery and love story combined into one book. Ravyn is a beautiful witch who almost got murdered by the tin man. She useses her powers to save her own life. Sorina Ravyn's beloved sister ends up getting kiddnapped and killed by the tin man. Nick the cop ends up working on this case to find the tin man. He ends up falling in love with Ravyn. He ends up telling her that he use to have a wife but she was murdered by the tin man. Ravyn helps Nick with the case and Ravyn uses her powers to kill the tin man.

    Kayne the evil witch who used to be Ravyn's boyfriend wants Ravyn to join him and become a dark magical witch just like him. Ravyn trys tricking Kayne into thinking that she will join up with him so she can kill him. Kayne finds out and ties her up. Nick comes to save Ravyn's life not caring what happens to his own life. Kanye tells Nick that he wants Nick's soul so he can live forever. The two men fight with each other and Nick wins with the help of Ravyn's magic.

    I think anyone would like this book if they like witches, murder mysteries, and romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    Couldn't put it down! The story line was good, the read was fun, not too much sex and the violence was left mostly to the imagination of the reader. The characters were believable, even down to the bad cop (there's always one rotten apple in every barrel). Good verses evil always makes for a good read. I plan to check out other Alicia Dean books since this one is a keeper!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Loved it

    I will definetly look for more books by this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Great

    Great

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    great book

    Enjoyed the book could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    Ensorcelled by Alicia Dean┬┐s Imagination! Heart of the Witch m


    Ensorcelled by Alicia Dean’s Imagination!

    Heart of the Witch mesmerized me, starting with the first page. Judging by the dark, lovely cover, I assumed the book to be a paranormal. To my surprise, it was the strong suspense element that gripped me and ran, moving the story along so quickly the pages practically turned themselves. Pages filled with heartbreak, murder, and fascinating supernatural realms. Oh, and a cauldron-hot connection between solid main characters Ravyn and Nick, so fiery, the beautiful witch considers trading powers for passion.

    I recommend Heart of the Witch by Alicia Dean to all readers who love edge-of-your-seat suspense and spellbinding romance. You won’t be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Better than ecpected

    Excellent story line from beginning to the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Enjoyed

    I really liked this story. A little romance and suspense. I recommend it. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17