Customer Reviews for

Heartbeat

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    I'll be honest, when I first started this book it felt wonky. I

    I'll be honest, when I first started this book it felt wonky. I wasn't getting into it right away and Katie was a little too naive for my liking. She kind of gives off the "I can't even help myself at ALL" vibe and anyone who knows me this is the type of girl I'd like to kick in the girl parts. Like, grow a set of balls you hot mess. But then like any die hard romance novel fan, I pretty much start to love it. I see where it's going and I know there are two more books so I'm thinking this is going to be an epic love story. 




    AND THEN THE ENDING HAPPENS. 




    Again, I was *thisclose* to firing off an email to the author asking her what in the bloody hell is happening? Mostly because as we've discussed before, I read at night before bed. But I was so close to the end I stayed up well past midnight and then that ending happens and I am waving my fist in the air. The dog mistakenly thought I was like, "let's go pee" and so I'm angry, holding a dog's leash at 12:45 a.m. hoping he pees fast, because it's freezing. Like for real freezing out, and I'm talking to my dog Twinky about this ending. 




    Immediately, I had to start book two because what in the mother hell is happening?? 




    *word to the wise: buy all 3 books at once. You'll thank me later.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    It never ceases to amaze me how books that I really don't relish

    It never ceases to amaze me how books that I really don't relish for the majority of the book will sometimes redeem themselves towards the end of the book. I honestly don't know what it is that feeds this phenomenon, but it has happened so many times in the past year or two that I should no longer be surprised. But I am. And this book is one that fits this pattern completely.

    For three fourths of the book, I really could have cared less about the main characters, Adam and Katie, and their relationship. I found the writing style clever since the author wrote from both perspectives, alternating between the chapters. I will say she was an expert at this style of writing. I have read other books where this literary device was used, and it was a horror! I would find myself getting lost, but not so with Faith Sullivan. Notwithstanding, I found the relationship between Adam and Katie too good to be true and much too hackneyed.

    Another issue I have is the fact that Adam and Katie broke the rules. Okay, maybe they didn't do anything illegal, but they refused to acknowledge authority in favor of the love they had for each other. I am one who does no espouse the view that the end justifies the means. I was of the opinion that Adam should have followed protocol at work, and Katie should have not subversive in going to meet Adam against her father's wishes.

    One other thing that bothered me was the profanity and implied sex scene. I am glad that the author did not go into detail in the bedroom, but I was actually more bothered by the profanity. However, rest assured that I did not mark down the book for either of these things per my review policy. I realize the author's target audience is college age, but it would have been nicer if Katie had kept her morals intact.

    I can imagine what you might be thinking--why did I rate this book four stars? It sounds like I hated it! Actually, I did not hate it. Because of the last fourth of the book, I actually want to read the next book. Suddenly, everything made sense. While Katie and Adam may have broken some rules, those in authority over them broke laws. I don't sanction what the couple did, but the others were much more at fault. I actually wanted everything to work out! And then the abrupt ending came. I will not spoil anything for potential readers, but know that the ending will definitely leave you hanging and hungry for the sequel.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a sweet story about love, but not your typical girl mee

    This was a sweet story about love, but not your typical girl meets boy, girl and boy fall in love, girl and boy live happily ever after kind of love. Rather Heartbeat is the story of what could be (hope) and what might have been (regret).

    After a chance meeting, Katie and Adam continue on with their own lives like they would normally do with any other person. The only thing is, each cannot stop thinking about the other. I think what I liked most about this book is the author made Katie and Adam seem realistic. Real people do not fall in love at first sight (well, not usually anyway), and that did not happen with these two. Rather, they were captivated and curious about each other. Adam berates himself for not saying hello to Katie when he passed by her in the hospital and for not asking for her number when he had the chance, and he spends his time wondering if she thinks he's good looking, or if she's thinking of him at all. Likewise, Katie is confused about Adam – does he think I'm pretty, should I say something to break this awkward silence, why am I thinking of him at all after one short meeting? These are thoughts real people have. Remember that awkward stage after first meeting someone and wondering what they are thinking, wondering if there is a chance there could be something more? The author got that stage down perfectly in this book, and through her writing we learn about Katie and Adam as individuals before they ever meet up again.

    When Katie and Adam do meet again, that connection is there, and it is beautiful. They don't know each other well but are willing to risk everything to be together, to take a chance at love even though it may just end up in heartbreak. That's really all I'm going to say about this book because anything else will give too much away. Though, I do have to mention the ending. I will admit that I read some other reviews before deciding to read this book, and some people have no problem with giving away everything about a book (ever hear of spoiler tags people?), so I knew what to expect. Still, even with knowing, I was floored with the ending. It did not really happen like I expected it to. It was heartbreaking and beautiful and a bit confusing. What really happened?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After buying this book Amazon, I sat back and finish it pretty q

    After buying this book Amazon, I sat back and finish it pretty quickly. It was all that I expected till I got to the end...

    Plot: Let me start off buy saying the plot is pretty much what I thought it would be. After an accident, Katie meets Adam and sparks fly. They begin seeing each other. It goes on pretty much like this throughout the story. Life and struggles come along, but these two work it out together. I enjoyed watching their relationship growing and learning to work together.

    Love: Their love is again, what I expected. It sort of a insta-relationship/insta-love. Even though they barely knew each other, they went through the motion of getting to know each other pretty quickly, moving to the next step. From there it all goes up hill. They have dates, do the whole reveal the pasts to each other and then...

    Ending: Seriously!?!!? I mean, are you serious? After reading that last line, I find it hard to see how this relationship is going to work out. And I'm sort of nervous. The ending, I DID NOT expect. AT ALL! I mean, at all. That really was a surprise. I plan on reading the next book and I guess I'll just have to see what happens. Or rather, how the author will fix what happen.

    Overall, this story has me intrigued. Especially with the ending. Heartbeat is great story of love and friendship. A very good story that I'm anxious to see what happens next, Heartbeat is wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Heartbeat was an emotional and powerful novel. It¿s a story abou

    Heartbeat was an emotional and powerful novel. It’s a story about two broken souls, and the time of a single heartbeat changes their lives forever.

    Admittedly, I found the first half a bit dull. Adam and Katie only meet for a short time in the first few chapters. From there, the reader experiences each character through their separate lives and how that one moment had affected them. But as interesting as learning about the character was, all I wanted was them to finally be together! I kept waiting and waiting . . .

    But it was so worth it! In the second half of Heartbeat, the plot turned into a spinning whirlwind of emotions and action. They were finally together, but not everything was well and dandy. Actually, I loved the realistic challenges both Adam and Katie had to face and how their love was continually tested.

    It was the ending that stopped my heart. The last two chapter complete threw me for a loop. At first, I was just in complete shock, then in complete disbelief, and finally, a day later, in tears. But as gut wrenching as the ending was, I felt it’s still an amazing novel, especially if it could affect me as strongly as it did.

    If you haven’t added Heartbeat to your list, I highly recommend it, along with a box of tissues as you near the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    MY REVIEW I was asked by the Author if I would like to read and

    MY REVIEW
    I was asked by the Author if I would like to read and review her e-book. Faith kindly sent me a free e-book in exchange for my honest review. I chose to read the book after reading it's blurb.
    I love the cover, it gives you the idea that this book is a chick lit type of book or perhaps it could fall into the New Adult category or Coming of Age genre. I'd say the couple on the cover are good depictions of Adam and Katie.  I like the straight forward clear fonts for the book title and author name.
    So they book begins with a car accident, Katie and her Grandmother are in the car. One person doesn't walk away from the wreck. We then see what type of home life Katie and her grandmother have at the hands of Katie's father. Katie's father is very much in charge and hold s the family purse strings extremely tight. Initially you think the abuse if "just verbal" without realising how much verbal abuse can affect someone.
    We then go on with the story from Katie's point of view, where she is checking out the paramedic guy, and imagining what a romance and a future with him would be like. Katie's father doe's not like Katie dating, she should be at home catering to his every need as her grandmother does. Katie's father does not hesitate to use underhand tactics such as removing financial support to Katie or terminating her mobile phone contract.
    I really enjoyed reading this book, I began thinking I'd read a chapter or two and then I thought Just one more chapter and by the time I realised it I was at the end of the book. I like Faith Sullivan's writing style her descriptions etc make her books so easy to read and picture the imagery she is giving you too. 
    So did I enjoy the book? Yes, loved it. Would I recommend the book? Yes, I have already recommended the book to my mum and my teen daughter, this book is a story that in my opinion would be read and loved by a wide age range. Would I read a BK#2? I'd like to read a bk#2. I'd like to know more about the characters I met in Bk#1. Would I read other books by Faith Sullivan? I would certainly check out any book by Faith Sullivan closely with a view to reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Have you ever met someone for the first time, and felt a deep an

    Have you ever met someone for the first time, and felt a deep and intense connection? It happens instantly, and as you talk to that person, you can't help but think to yourself, maybe this is the person you've been waiting for your whole life. You can't explain it, but all you know is what you feel, and the more that you talk to and get to know each other, the stronger that connection grows, and confirms that you two were meant to be together. This is what occurs between the two main characters, 18 year old Katie, and 19 year old Adam when they meet. Their story is told in alternating point of views, and will leave you utterly captivated, and entranced.



    Katie has lived her whole life with her controlling, domineering, verbally abusive, shrewd, and cold-hearted father. All her love, and nurturing has come from her grandmother, who tries her best to protect Katie from her father's heartless words, and actions. Katie shares a special bond with her grandmother. The two are inseparable, and look out for one another. Katie is also very close to her cousin Jen, a newlywed, with two small children, that does her best to look out for Katie. Unfortunately, Katie is an extremely introverted person, and doesn't have any friends, she's never even had a boyfriend. This is partially due to her controlling father, (he acts more like her prison warden) and her quiet personality. She lives a very lonely, and secluded life.



    Ryan is 19 years old, 6'4, blond haired, blue-eyed, lanky, and a great person. He grew up in California with his parents and decided to move to Pennsylvania, when his first love, April, broke his heart. He drives an ambulance, and works with two great guys, Charlie and Tommy, who are his friends, mentors, and they look out for him. Adam attends school so that he can become a paramedic one day. He has one brother, Brian, who he is very close to. Brian often gives Adam advice, even when he doesn't want it. Brian loves Adam, wants to protect him, but it often comes off as if he is butting in to Adam's business.



    Katie, and Adam meet one day, when Katie and her grandmother get into a car crash. Adam is the ambulance driver, that escorts Katie's grandmother to the hospital. Katie get's in the passenger seat, as Adam drives and instantly these two feel a deep connection. From this point on, they cannot get each other out of their minds, will continue to think about one another, and try to reconnect.



    Heartbeat was such a fascinating story. It was unique, and had a crazy plot twist that I never saw coming. One of those twists that's not exactly straightforward. It will leave you with questions, and contemplations. At first, I was doubtful of Katie and Adam's connection. I thought that it was going to be a case of insta-love. However, I think there was a larger theme of fate, destiny, and soul mates in this story. Katie and Adam were both genuinely warm-hearted, caring, loyal, and struggling. They were both so lonely, and carried heavy burdens in their lives. I wanted them to both have a happily ever after, and rooted for them throughout the story to get what they both deserved. Ms. Sullivan did a great job with her characterizations! I was so angry and frustrated with the antagonists in the story, Katie's father, and Adam's co-worker, Chuck. Both were such horrible men. I really connected with the main characters and my heart hurt for them. They were so well-developed, that I felt like I knew them on a personal level.



    What I appreciated most about Heartbeat was Ms. Sullivan's courage to step outside of the box. I'm tired of reading romances that have a set formula for how the plot plays out from beginning to end. I get bored with the predictability of these stories. Ms. Sullivan gave us a realistic portrayal of life. She did not take the safe approach. She took a chance, and I admire her for that. That is why I believe some readers will love her story, and some will dislike it. I for one, appreciate the refreshing, authentic, emotional, and realistic portrayal that Heartbeat. If you are tired of the monotony of a predictable story, with the typical plot "formula," I suggest you venture outside of the box, and take a chance on reading a story that is clever, touching, imaginative, and real!



    I give Heartbeat, by Faith Sullivan, 4 Stars filled with fate, fantasies, friendship, and frenzied feelings! Read this story for a unique New Adult Contemporary Romance. You will be engaged in the story, and be desperate to find out what happens between Adam and Katie. After reading this story, who knows, maybe you'll believe in fate!


    ***To read more reviews, visit A Bookish Escape!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    Who is the rock in your life when it seems like everything aroun

    Who is the rock in your life when it seems like everything around you is spinning? Katie is a woman who has always been sick her whole life, but when she goes to the movies with her Grandmother that car accident seemed to have a bigger impact on her life than anyone would have guessed. Adam is just a student trying to become a paramedic who shows up at a car accident to help a certain Grandmother to the hospital. Katie lives with her emotionally abusive father and Adam is running from a past he rather forget. These two are in each other's lives to help the other survive.




    Faith Sullivan wrote an easy to read story of two people who just happened to meet because of fate. The story is well written, but also uses dialogue's from text messages and online chats to help develop these realistic characters. The readers will be-able to relate to Katie and Adam's need to find that comfort that they desperately need. Faith also has good vocabulary, but the language still flowed, which was nice to read. Heartbeat will have readers on the edge of their seats so that they need to keep reading with an ending that will have readers needing to quickly get to the second book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1