Customer Reviews for

Heartbeat

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

In this poetic novel by acclaimed author Sharon Creech, Annie, a twelve-year-old girl, is trying to find out who she is. A lot happens in this short one-hundred-and-eighty-page book.

Annie's mother is pregnant, her grandfather is beginning to forget things, an...
In this poetic novel by acclaimed author Sharon Creech, Annie, a twelve-year-old girl, is trying to find out who she is. A lot happens in this short one-hundred-and-eighty-page book.

Annie's mother is pregnant, her grandfather is beginning to forget things, and her friend Max is extremely moody. Annie loves to run, and throughout the book there are "thump, thump, thump" lines where she can hear her heart beat in rhythm with her feet, which are running hard. Hence the title of the book.

In Annie's art class, the students are asked to take an apple and draw a picture of it for one hundred days. At the end of the project the students are to turn in one hundred drawings. There are poems in the book devoted to the one apple.

I love Ms. Creech's writing and admire her poetic style. The characters come alive as if you knew each one of them personally. I love reading books like that; they seem so real. HEARBEAT is a simple, fun, fast read.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The book Heartbeat was really easy to understand. Even though there wasn¿t that many words and not very much to the story the author still did a good job of really describing things in the book. I think the character in the story Annie is really sweet and is understandi...
The book Heartbeat was really easy to understand. Even though there wasn¿t that many words and not very much to the story the author still did a good job of really describing things in the book. I think the character in the story Annie is really sweet and is understanding. She is always there for her best friend Max through the good and the bad. She and her Grandpa both seem like they have a strong connection too. She is very helpful and kind to him. Also she doesn¿t seem like a person that complains a lot, she seems pretty laid back and easy to get a long with. She is always helping her neighbor Ms. Coober when she needs help cutting her grass and of course her pregnant Mother. Annie is always running, which is one thing I really like about her in this book. I think that whenever she is upset she just goes running barefoot outside and it brings her to this different world that she has. Annie sounds like a really great girl.

posted by Anonymous on January 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

    In this poetic novel by acclaimed author Sharon Creech, Annie, a twelve-year-old girl, is trying to find out who she is. A lot happens in this short one-hundred-and-eighty-page book. <BR/><BR/>Annie's mother is pregnant, her grandfather is beginning to forget things, and her friend Max is extremely moody. Annie loves to run, and throughout the book there are "thump, thump, thump" lines where she can hear her heart beat in rhythm with her feet, which are running hard. Hence the title of the book. <BR/><BR/>In Annie's art class, the students are asked to take an apple and draw a picture of it for one hundred days. At the end of the project the students are to turn in one hundred drawings. There are poems in the book devoted to the one apple. <BR/><BR/>I love Ms. Creech's writing and admire her poetic style. The characters come alive as if you knew each one of them personally. I love reading books like that; they seem so real. HEARBEAT is a simple, fun, fast read.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    You Have To read this book

    This is a great book. Sharon Creech did a very good job. It's about a girl going through different changes through her life. YOU have to read it

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Phenomonal

    Graceful
    Passionate
    And overall fantastic

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Heartbeat is a awsome book!!!!!!

    Heartbeat is an amazing book you can really tell whats going on through the whole story and the characters are really descriptive. my favorite charecter would have too be annie, she is the main character and she tells you about this really nice boy named max and how they both like to run barefoot and also how her mom is having a baby and they cant find a room for the baby too stay in so her papa is saying that he wants to just kick the bucket( DIE )so the baby can have his room. and i just think that it is a very emotional story and i think everybody should read it because it is also very funny.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Altime fav

    Warm and heartfelt must read

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book Heartbeat was really easy to understand. Even though there wasn¿t that many words and not very much to the story the author still did a good job of really describing things in the book. I think the character in the story Annie is really sweet and is understanding. She is always there for her best friend Max through the good and the bad. She and her Grandpa both seem like they have a strong connection too. She is very helpful and kind to him. Also she doesn¿t seem like a person that complains a lot, she seems pretty laid back and easy to get a long with. She is always helping her neighbor Ms. Coober when she needs help cutting her grass and of course her pregnant Mother. Annie is always running, which is one thing I really like about her in this book. I think that whenever she is upset she just goes running barefoot outside and it brings her to this different world that she has. Annie sounds like a really great girl.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    This is a great book for peple of all ages

    Perfect read for anyone

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Poetry mixed with a twisted tale about a runner.

    This unforgettable story of a girl who runs free with etch into your heart and stay there forever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Jojo

    I read this book in my school lisbon falls maine and its a very good book you NEED TO READ IT NOW TAKE MY WORD 4 IT DO IT

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Sydney

    I have read this book befor at the begining of 4th grade but good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Wasn't the best

    I was looking for a quick read and luckily this book fit those expectations. It is a novel written in verse so i read it in about 3 days. This book was kind of slow paced & didnt really have that great of a plot. It could've been better. It wasn't terrible but it wasn't good hence why i rated it 3 stars.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Whoa

    A great book but a fast read.... 8)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    I love this book! must read

    i read this book at school in 5th grade because i was bored during indoor recess. when i started reading it, i couldnt take my eyes off this book! i was even late for lunch because i was so into this book! my teacher had to shake me!haha!



    THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    Heartbeat

    The book I am reviewing is Heartbeat written by Sharon Creech. I think this book deserves five stars because it is terrific and I enjoyed reading it. This book is about a girl whose name is Annie who likes to run barefoot with her best friend Max. Annie has a mom, who is pregnant, and a dad. Also, Annie has a forgetful grandpa. A problem that occurs in this book is that Max, joins the track team. He can¿t run barefoot, so he has to buy running sneakers. Max doesn¿t have enough money to buy the sneakers he wants. Also, Annie wants to buy colored pencils, markers, and special paper. Annie doesn¿t have enough money to buy the supplies she wants. I would recommend this book to girls. Other books by this author are Love That Dog, and Walk Two Moons.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Y

    Tgis amazing book full of rythem is always going to be new and undesoved over each page. Tgoughts turned to feeling. Feeling turned to words. This book made me want to be more poetic than i already am. Be prepared to be amazed. Madness

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Nursery

    A spacious cave with room for several queens & their kits.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Thhwy

    Bbghbhshh

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Mip

    I got very confuzzed

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    !

    Ahh. This ones good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Best

    "Best book eva!!!!!!!!!!"" A Very very very very good book u will never ever put it down!!!!!"!!!"""

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6