Customer Reviews for

Heartbeat

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

In this poetic novel by acclaimed author Sharon Creech, Annie, a twelve-year-old girl, is trying to find out who she is. A lot happens in this short one-hundred-and-eighty-page book.

Annie's mother is pregnant, her grandfather is beginning to forget things, an...
In this poetic novel by acclaimed author Sharon Creech, Annie, a twelve-year-old girl, is trying to find out who she is. A lot happens in this short one-hundred-and-eighty-page book.

Annie's mother is pregnant, her grandfather is beginning to forget things, and her friend Max is extremely moody. Annie loves to run, and throughout the book there are "thump, thump, thump" lines where she can hear her heart beat in rhythm with her feet, which are running hard. Hence the title of the book.

In Annie's art class, the students are asked to take an apple and draw a picture of it for one hundred days. At the end of the project the students are to turn in one hundred drawings. There are poems in the book devoted to the one apple.

I love Ms. Creech's writing and admire her poetic style. The characters come alive as if you knew each one of them personally. I love reading books like that; they seem so real. HEARBEAT is a simple, fun, fast read.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The book Heartbeat was really easy to understand. Even though there wasn¿t that many words and not very much to the story the author still did a good job of really describing things in the book. I think the character in the story Annie is really sweet and is understandi...
The book Heartbeat was really easy to understand. Even though there wasn¿t that many words and not very much to the story the author still did a good job of really describing things in the book. I think the character in the story Annie is really sweet and is understanding. She is always there for her best friend Max through the good and the bad. She and her Grandpa both seem like they have a strong connection too. She is very helpful and kind to him. Also she doesn¿t seem like a person that complains a lot, she seems pretty laid back and easy to get a long with. She is always helping her neighbor Ms. Coober when she needs help cutting her grass and of course her pregnant Mother. Annie is always running, which is one thing I really like about her in this book. I think that whenever she is upset she just goes running barefoot outside and it brings her to this different world that she has. Annie sounds like a really great girl.

posted by Anonymous on January 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    A Must Read!

    This book is my favorite of Sharon Creech's masterpieces. I have read almost all of her stories and this one was INSPIRATIONAL. I probably read this about 7 times through. I cannot get enough! Creech has this graceful way of writing that is just irresistible. I DEFINITELY recommend this book to readers of all kinds. I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Incredible book!!!

    When I opened the first page to read and saw the style of writing the author used- I will admit, I was fairly hesitant. But as soon as I started READING, I couldn't stop! Don't be fooled! If you really love to read and have little distractions, you can read the book quickly: I read the book in 40 minutes. But the content in the book makes up for length. One of the best books Sharon Creech has written. Overall, amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    great

    awesome read, good for any age!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    this is a MUST READ!!!

    i couldnt put it down but i knew i had to because if i kept going i would want to know what happens next and then end up finishing! great book for poetry! usually i wouldnt bother reading a poetry book but now thats changed thanks to this amazing book! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    the best book ever

    this is a must read book. a true work of narrative poetry. it is great for all ages!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    GREAT

    its simple in a beautiful way

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    this was an amazine book

    this book is a very good poetic way of writing about a girl and her new life with her new baby sister coming along. while she i having triuble with her best friend an runnning friend. i rate this book five out of five stars. i have read this book 19 times and never get bored of it whenever i read it over i find new things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I am reviewing Heartbeat, by Sharon Creech. I really enjoyed this book. My favorite character in this book would probably have to be Annie. She's my favorite character because she loves to run, and she doesn't understand anything about her mom being pregnant. Or how the baby was going to act like and look like. I also liked Annie's grandfather. He was very kind, giving, caring, and trustworthy. I really like this book and I strongly recommend anyone and everyone to read it. I don't think I disliked any parts of this book. But my favorite two parts were when the baby was born dead and they gave it oxygen for fifteen minutes and it came back to life. Also, when Annie's grandfather, gave Max (Annie's best friend) his sixty year old running shoes, because Max could not afford them. Again, I strongly recommend this book. __ Jazmin

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Heartfelt and Beautifully Written

    I love books by Sharon Creech, especially the ones she writes in poetry. This is definetly one of my favorite books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was awesome

    This was a really good book. But only if you reading it for fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    Heartbeat

    Heartbeat is a quick read but a great book. You should definetly buy this book if you need someting to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Wonderful

    It is awesome. I can't explain how good it is. I love Sharon Creech's books. Not one have I read and not read the whole thing. Sharon Creech is my favorite author by far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    In this poetic novel by acclaimed author Sharon Creech, Annie, a twelve-year-old girl, is trying to find out who she is. A lot happens in this short one-hundred-and-eighty-page book. Annie's mother is pregnant, her grandfather is beginning to forget things, and her friend Max is extremely moody. Annie loves to run, and throughout the book there are 'thump, thump, thump' lines where she can hear her heart beat in rhythm with her feet, which are running hard. Hence the title of the book. In Annie's art class, the students are asked to take an apple and draw a picture of it for one hundred days. At the end of the project the students are to turn in one hundred drawings. There are poems in the book devoted to the one apple. I love Ms. Creech's writing and admire her poetic style. The characters come alive as if you knew each one of them personally. I love reading books like that they seem so real. HEARBEAT is a simple, fun, fast read. **Reviewed by: Taylor Rector

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    A must read for any age!

    this book is an outstanding book to read for a book response or report. At first I was turned off by it but soon enough my nose was stuck in it! It is very easy to understand and is great for any sort of day, but it is kind of hard to find the plot. Even so, I definently reccomend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    Read it in a Hearbeat

    I really love this book. Usually I'm scared about reading poems because I don't understand them. But this was different and I read it in 2 hours. I'm jealous of Annie. I wish I had a friendship like she does with he best friend. Even if I did I wouldn't be able to run that much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    Read

    If you like a book about poetry than you should read this book. This is a book about a girl named Annie and her best friend Max and how they love to run barefoot together. This is a fantastic book by Sharon Creech who gives many life lessons in this book!! READ this bool!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    The Heartbeat of Heartbeat

    The book Heartbeat is about a twelve-year-old girl named Annie who loves to run run run. The school's track coach wants Annie on the team, but Annie won't join. She considers the team a 'herd,' and doesn't understand why anyone would want to run and have to worry about winning or losing. Annie would rather run barefoot and free. I liked how Sharon Creech developed the characters. I felt like I knew them. I also liked how the book was written in poetic form. Every book seems to have a message. Heartbeats message is that you don't plan life. You have to go with the flow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    Couch Potato Alert

    Heartbeat is a gentle read with many profound messages. I cherished the free thinking spirit of the 12 year old girl. My 11 year old daughter wanted to run, run,run after reading the book in one sitting. This is a book that will appeal to girls and women of all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This is the best book in the world get it now get it get it get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Amazing

    I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH! If anyone tell yon this book is dumb ,they are wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4