Customer Reviews for

Heartbreaker

Average Rating 4.5
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I want Nick for myself...

This was the first romance novel I had ever read. Not only did this story make me fall in love with the genre, but I also went on to read every book Julie Garwood has ever written. This book has suspense, romance, and well developed characters. Garwood starts the story ...
This was the first romance novel I had ever read. Not only did this story make me fall in love with the genre, but I also went on to read every book Julie Garwood has ever written. This book has suspense, romance, and well developed characters. Garwood starts the story strong and keeps you guessing until the every end. One of my favorite books from one of my favorite authors. If thrills and romance is what you want then this book is for you.

posted by Multifarious on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

love all J G books! big fan

heartbreak was a ok read compared to some of julie's other novels. it was interesting and thrilling i just thought she could have spiced up the romantic connection between laurant and nick a little bit more. but it was still interesting i read in two days it was a easy ...
heartbreak was a ok read compared to some of julie's other novels. it was interesting and thrilling i just thought she could have spiced up the romantic connection between laurant and nick a little bit more. but it was still interesting i read in two days it was a easy read. overall it was enjoyable.

posted by Anonymous on March 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2002

    Very good!

    Great book! Couldn't put it down! Did anyone else want a few more romantic moments!!??? I sure did (that's why only 4 stars)! Garwood has done a great job with her first mystery novel. It actually gave me chills!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2001

    Sleep Deprivation Ahead

    This one keeps your attention, I could not put it down. Great cast of characters, a very believable story line. Truly enjoyed the romance angle, written so as to capture even the male readers imagination. I can hardly wait to pick up ' Mercy '.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Another good read by Garwood!

    This goes a little deeper into the mind of a killer. Keeps you guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Great book!!

    I read her book The Secret and liked her story line. This book kept me interested all the way through. I am now reading Mercy and like it just as much. Will definately read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Definately an edge of your seat read!!

    Really enjoy all of Julie Garwood's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Great RS...can't wait for the next

    This was my first Garwood book, but it will not be my last. The first part of this book was pretty slow to me, a lot of back story was given, and in my opinion it would have been better to scatter it around the book, which was done, so it was some redundancy. That being said, once I got to the dialogue, it was great. Laurent and Nick were witty and she gave as much as she got. She was strong but not in the alpha sense. I loved reading the struggle Nick was having when it came to matters of the heart. The secondary characters were great, I fell in love with her nosey neighbors almost immediately. I was almost certain there were more than one bad guys from the beginning, but then I second guessed myself and I kept guessing until it was all revealed. I loved being kept on my toes. The bad guy was one that could give you nightmares because it is something that could actually happen. Can't wait for the next in the Buchanan series, Mercy, starring Theo, who we met briefly in Heartbreaker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Wild Ride

    Very good. Great drama, mystery and romance, just in the right amounts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great read...

    This was my first book out of her contemporary novels and it was pretty good. The plot was pretty fast paced and kept me reading. I didn't want to put it down because I really really wanted to know just who the Heartbreaker was! I kind of figured who the Heartbreak was but not his connection to one of the characters. I prefer her historical books though but since she's taken up writing contemporary novels for the time being I'll just have to deal : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    More Love Makes a More Interesting Novel

    This was the first modern Julie Garwood I read since I finished all of her historical novels. I absolutely love them so I decided to try out her modern ones. It was pretty good and I enjoyed it. The beginning was kind of slow and I wasn't to sure if I was going to like it, but as the book went on I found myself like it much more. I would read it during my down time at work and after about an hour or so I found I had read over 100 pages. So it goes fast and is a real page turner. I would have enjoyed a little more romantic interaction with Nick and Laurant, like there is in her historicals. Thats what I love about her novels is the love. And not just the sensuality sences. The way the characters have unconditional love for one another. This book didn't really provide that. Other than that I really enjoyed it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    Wow

    This book was recommended to me by a friend and I read it in 2 days. It was so good I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    good read

    It was a good book,it has a good plot,i enjoyed it.I was a little dissappointed at who the heartbreaker turned out to be. There should have been more clues,at the end of the book I wasnt able to say 'oh my goodness it makes sense now, why didnt I think of Him'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    A Page Turner....

    This book was recommended to me by a friend and I am glad I read it! And if you think you have the plot figured out just keep on reading. The ending will suprise you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Great Book

    The ending was a surprise to me. It was suspenseful yet humorous. I really enjoyed how she kept you wondering. GREAT BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2001

    Excellent for her first contempory

    I love reading anything of Julie's work, many times. I couldn't put this down and I loved Noah's character. I hope there is a future book with him. I was a little disappointed with the ending but it works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    Who is this author again???

    Great mystery, I thought that the characters were well written, and we could feel for the characters in it. This was a very good story, but I had the feeling that she was trying to be Jude Devereaux.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3