BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heartbreaker

Average Rating 4.5
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I want Nick for myself...

This was the first romance novel I had ever read. Not only did this story make me fall in love with the genre, but I also went on to read every book Julie Garwood has ever written. This book has suspense, romance, and well developed characters. Garwood starts the story ...
This was the first romance novel I had ever read. Not only did this story make me fall in love with the genre, but I also went on to read every book Julie Garwood has ever written. This book has suspense, romance, and well developed characters. Garwood starts the story strong and keeps you guessing until the every end. One of my favorite books from one of my favorite authors. If thrills and romance is what you want then this book is for you.

posted by Multifarious on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wanted more...

Thisis the first contempory I've read by Julie Garwood, love her historical romances. This left me wanting more. I wanted more suspence and romance, it wasjust a story to me. Not and great suspense and not a great romance, but good story.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I want Nick for myself...

    This was the first romance novel I had ever read. Not only did this story make me fall in love with the genre, but I also went on to read every book Julie Garwood has ever written. This book has suspense, romance, and well developed characters. Garwood starts the story strong and keeps you guessing until the every end. One of my favorite books from one of my favorite authors. If thrills and romance is what you want then this book is for you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    totaly awesome!!! can't stop reading this once you started!!! you will never regret this!!!

    this is my first book of Julie Garwood. First, i thought it was kinda boring because of the title "Heartbreaker" so it means this is all about love? (lol) but then if i hadn't read the word Thriller in the cover, i wouldn't try to read it. So when i start reading it, you will feel the crave for wanting it to finished the pages. Gee, cant put it aside. Actualy ive realized that after reading this book i haven't got time to spend to talk to my sister, brother, and to my parents!!! ive been busy reading!! can you believe that wow!!!ive been in my room the whole 3 days since i started reading this. it hooked me, really!!!

    Soo thrilling, the more you read it the more you will crave to know who was this heartbreaker!!! and the romance wow and all the characters!!! Noah is a funny guy, really. All of them, i really love Nick and Laurant!!! How i wished there would be more story about them. I wished that Julie will write a story about them after the Heartbreaker. Im longing to know how does they're life really was after that.

    I want to thank Julie for this novel i really thanked her. And to my Mom also coz she brought this home. This is the book you must read and shouldn't miss because you would never ever regret reading this over and over again :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    LOVE THIS BOOK

    I love this book, the title says it all. I have read it over, and over, and over again. Then I read it to my husband while he was driving, and he loved it, too.<BR/><BR/>I love the writing of the characters. You can picture them in your mind. I love the description of Laurant when she was doing her seduction dance for the camera before the lights went off. It was so funny the thoughts, and feelings of Nick. I would love to see this one made into a movie, and have them keep to the book as much as possible.<BR/><BR/>I recommend this book to everyone. I lost my copy, and promptly went out, and got another one. I cannot get enough of this book. <BR/><BR/>Great writing. My favorite by far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2004

    Best Ever

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It was a real page turner. I'm not a big book reader but I've read this book 3 times since I've bought it. I've recommemded it to 4 of my friends and they all loved it. It's a great mystery and the ending was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    My favorite book of all time!

    I loved this book so much I gave it as a birthday present to a friend of mine. The characters were real and Laurant was a gutsy woman. There is comedy, mystery, and romance as the attraction between Laurant and Nick grows. Everyone will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    WOW!

    Heartbreaker is one of the best books I have ever read. My eyes were glued to the pages, stayed up all night reading this!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    Incredible Story!!!

    I am used to Julie Garwood's novels being set back in the times of Kings and Queens and warriors. I am convinced now that she can write books set in any time in history. This is an amazing, modern, suspense novel. It kept me guessing until the very end. She adds new characters and gets your suspicions arroused... but you still can't figure out the big question. 'Who is it??' Wonderful book. I hope anyone who reads my review buys this book right away... you won't be able to put it down! If you would like some more suggestions or input... just E-Mail me anytime!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2002

    OMG!!

    This book is one of the best books ever! I loved every minute of it. The romance was great, and there was also a little mystery going on with it. It was the right combo of everything! The Characters were believable and weren't totally perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2002

    Page Turner

    Heartbreaker had me hooked at the first chapter! It is so different from Julie Garwoods other books. I love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2001

    The Greatest Book Ever!

    I loved this book. I have read the ending three or four times now. The 'Heartbreaker' was funny, thrilling, and romantic. I'm looking for another book just as exciting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    'The Best'

    This was the best book that I have read in a very long time. I hope that the next book will be just as good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2001

    ABSOLUTELY MUST READ...THRILLING

    My friend turned me onto Julie Garwood and I have not been disappointed. This is her best murder mystery book. I could not put it down. It really had you wondering actually who was the 'Heartbreaker'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2001

    Take Cover

    This book will blow you away. This is the first Julie Garwood book I've read. I loved it from the beginning to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    I loved this book!

    The characters were 3-dimensional and you get the classic JG humor. The sparks simply fly between Laurant and Nick. The one liners in this one were hilarious and so was Noah Clayborne. For JG's first contemporary I believe she did a beautiful job. I can't wait until Mercy comes out and we'll get to read all about Theo Buchanan!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    Kept me wanting more

    This is the first book I've read by Julie Garwood, and after reading it I'm looking forward to reading her other novels. From the moment I opened this book I didn't want to put it down. I can't wait to pass this around to my freinds and family. I recommend this book wholeheartedly to anyone who loves a good book that keeps you guessing throughout the whole thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2000

    I couldn't put it down!

    This the first book I have read by this author. The first chapter alone keeps you rivited. Then she included not only mystery, but humor and romance. It doesn't get any better. I can't wait to get more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    Garwood Does It Again!!

    When I first heard Julie Garwood's 'Heartbreaker' was a contemporary novel, I was a bit skeptical. An avid Garwood fan, I bought it. The first few chapters were slow but after that, it was classic Garwood--full of suspense, romance and the humor that always makes me laugh out loud. A definite must read and as with all her books, I'll read it over and over!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    Julie Garwood does it again!!

    Heartbreaker is a fabulous book!! Julie Garwood has wowed me with this new novel that is just as great as Ransom. Her attention to detail is astonding. For instance she had Nick carrying a sig sauer. The FBI has changed from the glock to the sig sauer and as a FBI agent Nick was carrying the right gun. Ms. Garwood characters are very believable and she has successfully created a contemporary novel that is full of intrigue. Heartbreaker is a must read that you won't be able to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2000

    A MUST READ!!!

    It's a rare author who can combine a knockout of a romantic suspense with humor. NY Times Bestseller, Julie Garwood does just that in spades with this blockbuster novel, HEARTBREAKER. For anyone who enjoys a good scare, fast paced action, plot twists along with love and laughter, this is a MUST READ! Things are usually pretty quiet in Holy Oaks, Iowa but that's about to change. A psychopath has confessed to Father Tom that he has found a new infatuation...Father Tom's sister, Laurant. Enter Tommy's best friend, Agent Nick Buchanan, a member of a special elite FBI unit that tracks down missing children. Only Nick has met his match in Laurant. She won't sit quietly by while Nick saves the day. She sets herself up as bait to the killer by pretending she and Nick are lovers...only the pretending becomes real. As the love affair grows hotter, the killer draws closer. HEARTBREAKER has engaging narration, believable characters and constantly pulls the rug out from beneath the reader's feet. Once you've started this awesome novel, you won't be able to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    taut suspense thriller

    He sees them; he wants them; he stalks them; he takes them; finally, he kills them. The dangerous psychopath HEARTBREAKER enjoys murdering his victims. He has already chosen the next woman to add to his demonic list. Father Thomas is in confessional when HEARTBREAKER admits he plans to go after the holy man¿s sister Laurant. Tommy is so frightened he calls his FBI friend Nick Buchanan for help. Nick promises to serve as Laurant¿s bodyguard until the monster is caught. <P>The savvy Laurant realizes her situation could go on indefinitely. She offers to use herself as bait to draw out HEARTBREAKER, but a ballistic Nick rejects the notion because he refuses to allow her to take such a perilous risk. Instead, with the FBI involved, Nick and Laurant pretend to be lovers to make HEARTBREAKER jealous. While danger stalks them, the pair falls in love with one another even as the killer sets a trap to destroy Nick and Laurant. <P>Among romance readers, Julie Garwood is renowned for her lighthearted Medieval and Regency romps. HEARTBREAKER is different, as the author¿s first contemporary is a taut suspense thriller that never eases up on the throttle. The charcaters are very complex accepting their current situation in a grave manner, but remain likable. Reminiscent of Brown and Hoag, HEARTBREAKER is heading to all the bestseller lists with Ms. Garwood expanding her already impressive fan base. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7