BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heartbroken: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Such a good story!

I loved this srory! There was such drama and intensity... the characters were wildly imaginative.

posted by 8241510 on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Two and a half stars

The outcome of this story was nothing in comparsion to what I had expected. The author spent a lot of time building the characters which robbed this book of an interesting climax. I was hoping for more mystery and suspense. There were some slow areas within the plot; ho...
The outcome of this story was nothing in comparsion to what I had expected. The author spent a lot of time building the characters which robbed this book of an interesting climax. I was hoping for more mystery and suspense. There were some slow areas within the plot; however, it eventually took off when the climax begun, which was near the end of this book. Wouud not recommend this book to someone who is trying Ms. Unger's books for the first time. Try Blackout. It was far more interesting than this novel.

posted by DiamondTN on August 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Such a good story!

    I loved this srory! There was such drama and intensity... the characters were wildly imaginative.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Three women. Three lives. All come together on an island where

    Three women. Three lives. All come together on an island where things will never be the same. Everything comes back to the choices one makes and in this emotional and suspenseful tale those choices leads to a trek both past and present with repercussions that will be long lasting. The frenzy pace of this drama quickly became a page. There were some tense moments that had my heart pounding as the story moved towards an adrenaline-charged conclusion. With a well-developed plot, a dynamic cast of characters, from the matriarch Birdie to the mysterious man, and a mesmerizing setting, this was an excellent read and I look forward to the next book by this talented author.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Unger's best!!!

    I have read all of lisa unger's books. This one is my favorite. Could not put it down!!! A definate keeper!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Good read

    Could not put it down. The charters are engrossing...very entertaining novel. Looking forward to reading more of this author soon.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Jess

    I just got my heart broken *weeps*

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Great story

    Fast paced and interesting characters. I recommend this book for a gripping summer read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Good story.

    I mistook the name of this story for another one I was looking for, but it held my interest anyway. Good look into the various character's psychologies, and a nice mystery to solve.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Exciting Thriller!

    By far, one of my favorites by Lisa Unger. Especially enjoyed how the separate story lines converged at the most unlikely time. Great read:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Two and a half stars

    The outcome of this story was nothing in comparsion to what I had expected. The author spent a lot of time building the characters which robbed this book of an interesting climax. I was hoping for more mystery and suspense. There were some slow areas within the plot; however, it eventually took off when the climax begun, which was near the end of this book. Wouud not recommend this book to someone who is trying Ms. Unger's books for the first time. Try Blackout. It was far more interesting than this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Sorry

    I dont like to put stars on the book. Just the idiots who claim to rate them while talking about thier stupid cats. How sad for readers and authors who care about ratings and reviews ? Idiots, use e-mail, face book, whatever else you useless people use, stop taking up my oxygen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    .......no idea if the title.........by Therearealwayshappytimes

    Gillean's pov.<p>
    There i was. Sitting right next to by bestfriend, Mitch, in the auditorium. I had my layered brown hair flowing over my eyes, as usual. The best part is this one kid is talking and talking while all of us are on our electronics, huh, well unless we arn't sleeping of course.<p>
    Our principal, Mr. Noriss was nodding listening to the kids every word.<p>
    I check my phone and try not to laugh. 'Yo, everyone who gets this go to the roof after school. And make sure to bring some friends.' The text read, it was from Daniel of course. The mt populated person at school. It could be from his black hair that always was over his eyes r swiped over then or mabe just that he was on the football team. Who knows. But eveyone knew that he through great parties at the roof.<p>
    Mitch rolls his head onto my shoulder and continues to snore softly, i roll my eyes and put in my wierless earbuds and tuck them behind my hair and listens to some Linkin park songs.<p>
    Finally we alk get up from what it feels like, 8 hours. Well it was, four kids spoke then the prisipal lead some people in a chant. I slowly shake Mitch, giving him a nuggy.<p>
    "No, Mr. Lee sir. I had my homework done. Don't bring out the frog venom again for class.........." he slurrs hugging me. U shove him off me and help him back up. "Lamest thing ever." I mutter and walk with him twords the parking lot.<p>
    "Hey Gile!!!!!" Oh snap, no no no. I can not be in my situation right now, i lean agianst Mitch causual as posible and preten not to hear the what some girls say, sweetist voice ever, of my exBoyfriend, George Mills. It's bad enuff he's brothers with Daniel, but dose he have to call me that. Only my closest friends call me that.<p>
    Mitch notices and takes my hand, "Just talk to him all ready." He wispers and squieses my hands for enuragement. I just shake my head, this was too soon. My cat just died, we broke up yesterday, i just can't do this.<p>
    I keep walking along dragging mitch twords the tunnels to the roof. The clicking of many peoples heels and the stomp of the males feet tell me that we are not the only ones who got the envite. I slip through the tunnel first and take a right with Mitch and George fallowing. The tunnel leads to a hall way of small rooms were we deorated them with our party stuff. Food, cds, anything. I go into my room and cola on the couch.<p>
    Gettig up i look at my closet, i swiftly pick out a black mini skirt, with red leggings and a grey tank along with a deniem jacket. Changeing an put on my black Jokers wild converse and walk with mitch to the party.<p> <p> <p> <p> ..............<p>N0M /}m /}m <p> <p>



    Plz comment and leave charators d aplications in comments. I acept hate.........Therearealwayshappytimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    I am a Lisa Unger fan, so of course I loved the book. Perfect e

    I am a Lisa Unger fan, so of course I loved the book. Perfect escape for me. I do think you can enjoy her books more if you read them in order. I couldn't find anything written that it is a sequel but the stories overlap, character show up again in other books.

    I read books fast, once Im on the the next I get titles mixed up with the stories and lose some of the details and names. I wish I would have realized in advance to jot down names and connection between people and some of the details of the Hollows. Because several stories take place there. my best guess on order is Fragile, Darkness my old friend and heatbroken.

    I think the only one I have left is sliver of truth. It looks like that may go with a set that I read a long time ago and may not remember much from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Bloodmoon

    Amberheart, come back to camp and tell us whats wrong. We arent trying to ignore you. Just come back and talk.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Amberheart

    She pads in safly....her eyes glazed with grief. She lays down alone and sighs sadly

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Anonymous

    Enjoy Lisa Unger's books and this did not dissapoint. A little wordy, her earlier books didn't seem so as much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Alex to older drake

    Im soo sry it is just u difnt talk to me for a day and i thought u were cheaten on me im very sry like really.......bye;(

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Graicee

    Sure. Ill be with my younger sisters. So yeah.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Leiana

    Leiana waits.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    I am two-thirds into this book and I still have yet to grasp the

    I am two-thirds into this book and I still have yet to grasp the &quot;thriller&quot; part of it. The seemingly major protagonist, Emily is dumb, dumb, dumb; but she has to be that stupid for the story to proceed. And, yet, as an adult, Emily can find an island that she last visited when she was a very young child and has not been back since, nor has she discussed it with her mother, who took her there. Where was the editor when this book was published? Emily's telling Dean about the island is out of sequence with Dean telling Brad. DUH! I have put the book down in favor of other more interesting authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    Elderly matriarch Birdie Burke came from old money. She grew up

    Elderly matriarch Birdie Burke came from old money. She grew up going every summer to vacation on an island, in the middle of an Adirondack lake, nicknamed Heart Island after her family’s last name. Birdie’s siblings grew up resentful and wary of one another and when their parents died, after a bitter battle for the inheritance, Birdie kept Heart Island, which was the place she loved most in the world.




    Birdie was an angry woman. Not only she was jealous of her parents’ affections for her siblings, but she also overpowered her husband and children in hurtful ways. Her tongue was like a sword. No wonder for the latest summer vacation her son Theodore didn’t want to visit the island. Kate, on the other hand, never said no to her mother’s request so she was always her victim, until now.




    Kate has been planning a family trip to Heart Island, as every summer. Because of work, her husband Sean can’t travel with Kate, her daughter Chelsea, and Lulu—Chelsea’s friend—to upstate NY. Sean stays behind at home with their son Brendan, who has had a foot injury.




    At the same time in New Jersey, the life of Emily, a waitress at a local diner called the Blue Hen, has collapsed due to her relationship with good-for-nothing Dean, a man with a rap sheet as a juvenile who hasn’t been able to keep a straight path since he lost his last job. Upon the visit to Dean of a criminal friend, they conceive a plan to rob the Blue Hen and bring Emily as an accomplice, only the robbery goes horribly wrong and now they’re running from justice.




    Unbeknown to Kate, Birdie and the girls, these two criminals and Emily intrude on Heart Island and knock on the front door during a stormy night. Their lives will collide in unimaginable ways and only the strong will prevail.




    I really liked Heartbroken by Lisa Unger. It is a fast read and completely absorbing. In fact I read the first hundred pages on the first day I started reading; it is that captivating.




    I think this story would make a very creepy suspenseful movie because there are Hollywood-esque elements very prominently featured such as a stormy night in the middle of nowhere, a group of females cutoff from civilization, a robbery gone wrong, restless ghosts and deeply buried secrets from a generation ago.




    As I said there are strong, good Hollywood-esque themes present in the plot, but there are corny ones as well, such as people popping up at “convenient” times in the story (e.g. a former FBI agent driving home in the night through a road in the middle of nowhere who gets carjacked and people who leave the boat keys in their boats), again, how “convenient”.
    The characters and their dynamics in the story are very strong, very well outlined, particularly Birdie, the relationship between teen girls Chelsea and Lulu, and Heart Island, which I believe is another character in the story.




    I liked the subplot involving a ghost but I don’t think that took a satisfactory turn in the end. I think that ghosts appear to finish a cycle and move on, not to linger aimlessly.




    In summary, Heartbroken by Lisa Unger is a very suspenseful read with very successful plot twists. I strongly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3