Customer Reviews for

Heartburn

Average Rating 3.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

portrait of a breakup...

Heartburn is an incredibly honest, poignant, and humorous portrayal of the breakup of a marriage. Although, the novel is based on the author's own story, it's a universal story of the demise of a marriage. You will cry. You will laugh! Enjoy...

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

????

I really wanted to like this book but found it unsettling. I know it was supposed to be funny but it actually came across more disturbing than entertaining or humorous. Sorry but I tried!

posted by 1201811 on January 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    portrait of a breakup...

    Heartburn is an incredibly honest, poignant, and humorous portrayal of the breakup of a marriage. Although, the novel is based on the author's own story, it's a universal story of the demise of a marriage. You will cry. You will laugh! Enjoy...

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very clever and interesting. One of the better summer reads I bo

    Very clever and interesting. One of the better summer reads I bought this month.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Excellent

    I love Nora Ephron's writing. I always feel like her newer essays and books are so short and leave me wanting more. I decided to dig up this book and loved it. I watched the movie afterward, which I somehow missed as a child; both were great.
    Reading this book with the perspective that it is at least 30 years since these things have happened in her life (it's heavily based on true events) is highly recommended if you are a Nora Ephron fan. I've read her lists of advice and going back to this book is the beginning of how she got there. It's good to read it and know that her life has a happy ending and that she is in a good relationship now. It's also important for women to know that they can give everything of themselves and that if someone doesn't love you, it's futile. I think it's an empowering book in a sneaky way. I don't think she wanted to be empowered, but was forced into it. It was still ultimately all the more gratifying.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Heartburn is one of the funniest books I have ever read. At the

    Heartburn is one of the funniest books I have ever read. At the same time, it is a very a very heart felt book. Buckle-up for a roller-coaster ride through the landscape of a marriage approaching its end; I could feel the mounting ' tension in the air' as each new revelation unfolded. By the end of the book I had heartburn. The story is peppered with Ms. Ephron's recipes. I highly recommend the recipe for vinaigrette dressing; this has been my 'go to' salad dressing recipe since I first read Heartburn in 1983. Heartburn is one darn good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    You hear a thump.....

    Comin outside.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Ash

    Wrong timing? *smiles*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Evan

    Evan shrugged. "Nothing much, just listening to a new track i just bought." He shrugged. "How about you?" <p> Of course! And okay, Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Ariel to aspen

    Keep writing!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Aspen

    "Nice, and nothing really." Aspen turned to look at Ash. "Haha, no it's fine." <p> Awe, thanks so much! You're all so nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Hunting grounds

    |Heartstar|

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    I really enjoyed reading this book, it will make you laugh out loud, this is my second book by Nora Ephron, love her humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1