Customer Reviews for

Heartless

Average Rating 4.5
( 202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

fans will enjoy Alexia's pregnant pause as she sets out to protect the Queen

Alpha of the Woolsey werewolf clan, Lord Maccon worries about his eight months pregnant wife Lady Alexia. He is unconcerned about her crankiness and complaints of bunions growing in her womb. His trepidation is whether her Metanatural unborn may be the second known so...
Alpha of the Woolsey werewolf clan, Lord Maccon worries about his eight months pregnant wife Lady Alexia. He is unconcerned about her crankiness and complaints of bunions growing in her womb. His trepidation is whether her Metanatural unborn may be the second known soul stealer. He persuades her friend vampire Lord Akeldama, who's relative Queen Zenobia is the first, to adopt the baby.

When Alexia learns an assassin stalks Queen Victoria, she waddles over to protect her Highness. However, her quest is dangerous as she dodges quills from zombie porcupines, vampires who want her dead, Biffy the werewolf still howling for her mentor Maccon, and the worst her clueless sister Felicity.

The fourth Parasol Protectorate Victorian fantasy (see Soulless, Changeless and Blameless) is a fun at times jocular (especially when the married couple discuss her "bunions") investigative tale. The heroine escorts readers through a different London filled with eccentric otherworldly species not found in a Dickens' novel. Although the story line is thin even with several subplots that never fully gel, fans will enjoy Alexia's pregnant pause as she sets out to protect the Queen.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Weakest of the Series

Heartless was a letdown. I enjoyed the last three books, and though I did find enjoyment this one, it left me more annoyed than satisfied.

My biggest issue with the book was with Lord Akeldama. I'm sure I'm in the minority when I write that I don't like him; I never...
Heartless was a letdown. I enjoyed the last three books, and though I did find enjoyment this one, it left me more annoyed than satisfied.

My biggest issue with the book was with Lord Akeldama. I'm sure I'm in the minority when I write that I don't like him; I never did. Yet, I tolerated him because he was never such a prominent character. However, he is in Heartless. Even that wouldn't bother me so much if he weren't used as deus ex machina. Sure, his drones scour London and discover much, but sometimes, what he knows is ridiculous, and the only explanation we're ever given is "I'm Lord Akeldama." Later in the book, his drones happen to be at the right place at the right time with exactly what Alexia needs. How? Because he's Lord Akeldama.

The way the whole ordeal with Alexia and the vampires from the previous book was resolved also felt too convenient, too quick, and too clean to be anything but lazy writing.

The red herring was a waste of time and words, and it's bound to make things messy in the next book unless Carriger decides to just brush it away as she did with the vampire threat.

It's not a terrible book, and if you enjoyed the last three books, you might as well continue with this one. Just keep in mind that it is the weakest book in the series. Hopefully, Timeless will be better.

posted by Merciel on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    More Lord Maccon Please!

    Lady Alexia Maccon, soulless, is at it again, only this time the trouble is not her fault. When a mad ghost threatens the queen, Alexia is on the case, following a trail that leads her deep into her husband's past. Top that off with a sister who has joined the suffragette movement (shocking!), Madame Lefoux's latest mechanical invention, and a plague of zombie porcupines and Alexia barely has time to remember she happens to be eight months pregnant.

    Will Alexia manage to determine who is trying to kill Queen Victoria before it is too late? Is it the vampires again or is there a traitor lurking about in wolf's clothing? And what, exactly, has taken up residence in Lord Akeldama's second best closet?

    Through all of Lord Maccon's brooding manner, Professor Lyall's shocking revelations, Lord Akeldama's sweet talk, Felicity Loontwill's sisterly nagging, Madame Lefoux's odd experiments, and Mr. Rabiffano's (aka "Biffy") unsettling transformations, Alexia is about to pop due to the 'infant-inconvenience'. Plus, if she's is not using her "condition" to her advantage among her's husband's pack or having tea & sweets with her friend, Mrs. Ivy Tunstell, Alexia is out collecting spectral samples, investigating Kingair assassination attempts, and jaunting about on BUR business with her trusty "harmonic auditor resonance disruptor" (pg. 74) Yet, can this 'Alpha Female' handle a supernatural death treat thrown into the mix with all the daily chaos already going on in her life full of Westminster Hive and Woolsey Pack troubles?

    Lady Alexia Maccon is at it again. . . being her usual nutty, obsessive, and constantly-on-the-go self but now eight months pregnant. She's back in London and spending lots of time with her yummy Alpha husband, something I sorely missed in the last couple of books. Expect lots of silly scientific references and proper Victorian-era mannerisms that really spice up Carriger's Protectorate's world as well as getting a glimpse of the newest member to the Woosley pack near the end of the book. Plus, many past characters make appearances throughout the tale and many past stories are revealed from more than one pivotal figure. Overall, good fun!

    Likes: Alexia has really grown into her role as 'Alpha Female' in commanding the pack as well as being a loving wife to Connall, something that's sweet to see since witnessing her less-than-confident spinster self from Book #1

    Dislikes: Ugh....Lord Akeldama PLEASE lay off some of those nick-name endearments, it's almost too sickeningly sweet!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Alexia Pregnant!

    Really enjoy this series, now I have to wait until March 2012 for Timeless. Alexia is amazing as always even with the infant inconvenience slowing her down. Not my favorite book in the series but definitely enjoyable. I'm still partial to Blameless. There are some big surprises unintentionally uncovered in her ongoing investigation that caught me totally of guard. As always the characters are wonderfully charming. So just read it already, because you have to meet her baby!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Fun

    Surprisingly, enjoyed this more than the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Loved it!

    Heartless is so much more than the first three.
    This series just gets better. Alexia and her werewolf husband are having a conflict.
    These two strong willed characters drive the plot as we all learn more about their world.
    Alexia can be a dominant female and she is great for a this time period.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Exciting Steampunk

    The fourth volume in Carriger ' Parasol Protectorate series is a fun and exciting romp. I love how Carriger ties up loose ends from the previous books, as well as events from the prequel Finishing School series; she's even laying the groundwork for the next generation's adventures.

    Recommended to fans of the previous books in the series. I can't wait to read Timeless. -- lyradora

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Fun premise

    Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    The Victorian Ms is at it again

    Now eight months pregnant, Alexia Tarbotti, Lady Maccon, is still protecting Queen and country with her fancy, yet practical parasol. You see a mad ghost was inconsiderate enough to pop up in her house and relay a death threat against the queen. Unfortunately, the only clue focuses on her husband's past and no one in the pack wants her to investigate. But practical and dedicated, she searches in the past for the perpetrator of the current threat.

    Full of interesting twists and betrayals, Heartless is another great book in the Parasol Protectorate series. The spotlight of treason shines on everyone from friends, family and pack and the truth is downright inconvenient for Alexia and the babe she carries. I loved the zombie porcupines, the dirigibles and especially the rampaging octomaton. My small compliant is once again, the alpha, Lord Maccon doesn't act particularly alpha-ish and I miss the witty banter between Conall and Alexia so wonderfully done in Soulless. That small personal preference aside, Heartless is quite well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Had trouble w/pre-order download......

    I had pre-ordered this book and it wasn't available on the publish date even though I received an email stating it was. I wasn't able to download the book until about a week later. Once I was able to download it, everything seemed to function ok.

    I loved the book. Read it within a few hours and enjoyed the plot twists. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Carriger has done it again.

    This book has the charm of the other titles in the series. When Lady Alexia Maccon receives a warning from a ghost that the queen is in danger she sets about trying to figure out the source of the latest threat to the queen despite being hampered by her advanced pregnancy. The depiction of Alexia waddling about may occur too often for some readers, but having been around pregnant women I can't take umbrage. Several different story threads may be wrapped up too tidily, but it doesn't take away from the over all enjoyment of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4