Customer Reviews for

Heartless (Heartless Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2001

    I lost a lot of sleep! I could not stop reading!

    Ariel Summers had a drunk father that delighted in beating her. So at age fourteen Ariel made a deal with Edmund Ross, Fourth Earl of Greville. Edmund was to send Ariel to a ladies school for an education. Upon graduating, she would become his mistress. Ariel never knew that Edmund died two years after the bargain was made. She graduated after four years of school. Being older and wiser, Ariel fully understood now the bargain she had made and hoped the Earl would allow her to pay her debt in a different way. She had recently met Phillip Marlin and dreamed of marrying him to become a real Lady. <BR><BR> Justin Bedford Ross, Fifth Earl of Greville, never told Ariel of his father's death. Justin had been called to Edmund's sick bed and told about Ariel. There was no love between father and son. Justin's mother had been one of Edmund's mistresses. Sick and with no heir, Edmund had adopted his son. Even though he loathed his father, Justin paid for Ariel's schooling until she graduated. He planned to meet her and help her decide her future. But when he found her kissing Phillip, his worst enemy, Justin's plans changed! <BR><BR> ***** With Ariel between these two formidable men and Justin's evil half-sister also involved, things got hot quickly! I found the story so engrossing that I was startled whenever reality broke into my reading, such as the phone ringing. An excellent story with enjoyable characters that combine to make this book a winner! *****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2001

    Great Read!!!!!!!

    I picked up the book because I found the synopsis rather intrigueing but i was suprised on how good the book was. I usuall tend to stay with more renown authors but Kat Martin has won a place in my library. I can't wait until Clay & Kitt's story comes out. I hope is turns out to be as good as Justin & Ariel's. peace

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good!

    An enjoyable read...typical Kat Martin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    Good Read and Then Some

    Kat Martin has a way with words. Heartless is the first book I have ever read by her and it also stands as a well enjoyed book. I have read it easily more than three times while it has been in my posession. If anyone is looking for a Kat Martin read I definitely reccomend Heartless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2004

    brilliant

    this was my first ever kat martin book and i loved it!ive been a big fan ever since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2003

    Delightful Romance

    I so enjoyed this book, it was so interesting I could not put the book down. I do look forward to reading the continuation of the story Reckless with Ariel and Justin's friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    You have to read this one!!

    I love historical romances and this one was no exception! I just couldn't put it down! There were times when you alternately wanted to cheer for the characters or just kick them for being so blind. I would recommend this to anyone -- avid romance readers or those just starting out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2002

    Great!!!!!!!!!!

    This book by Kat Martin was great to read. Soooo interesting that i couldnt put it aside for a second. The hero is charming and as usual a rake. The heroine is beautiful and catches the hero's attention. This book was full of such exciting situations that i think i can read it again and again and never get bored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    This one is definitely a WINNER.

    Kat Martin continues to write such beautiful love stories. The characters are very likable and the story has a great plot. I could hardly put it down. It's a must read. And I look very forward to reading her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2001

    WONDERFUL!

    Justin and Ariel's story kept me from putting the book down! I love all of Kat Martin's work. She is an extrodinary writer and I would recommend this book to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable Regency romance

    In 1880 England, Ariel Summers, the farmer¿s daughter, dreams of being a lady. However, she realizes that all she has to look forward to is endless days toiling and giving birth to little farmers and little Ariels. Desperate, she offers herself as a mistress to the Earl of Greville. In return, he teaches her how to comport herself as a lady. <P>However, in 1802 before they can complete the bargain, the Earl dies with his legitimized son from the wrong side of the sheets, Justin Ross inheriting the title and estate. As a matter of honor, Justin plans to finish his father¿s deal without making Ariel his mistress. She also hopes to complete the transformation without becoming Justin¿s mistress. However, neither one expects the attraction and allure that quickly turns to love because neither one trusts the other. <P>HEARTLESS is an enjoyable Regency romance filled with heart because of the strong lead characters that break out of the sub-genre¿s stereotyping. The story line is crisp with some suspense, but the villain is flat and never strikes fear in the heart of the audience. Still Kat Martin¿s latest historical shows why she is an award-winning author as the key protagonists turn this into an enticingly powerful reading experience. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2001

    Enjoyable Historical

    Ariel Summers, a peasant girl living in nineteenth century England, decides that she wishes to better her lot in life. She offers to become the mistress of the Earl of Greville in exchange for his providing her with the schooling to become a proper lady. Upon completion of her education, she plans to be his mistress. <br><br> Unbeknownst to Ariel, the old Earl dies prior to the completion of her schooling and the new Earl, Justin Ross, the newly legitimized son of the late Earl, inherits his father's soon to be mistress. <br><br> In the years since his father's death, Justin has relished the letters sent by Ariel, and something in those correspondances touches his hardened heart. When Justin meets Ariel, he wants her for his own. But she will not be any man's mistress, having decided that she want to try to repay Justin in some other way. <br><br> Justin deliberately hurts Ariel thinking that she has betrayed him with another. Tensions arise as she must learn to trust him again, and he learns the meaning of real love. <br><br> Kat Martin has written a well-pleasing historical that holds the reader's interest with the constant tension between the hero and heroine as they discover that their mutual attraction leads them on a journey filled with misunderstandings that ends when they find enduring love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2001

    A Wonderful read!

    Ariel Summer is the 14 year old daughter of a poor tenant farmer. She works from sunup to sundown helping her drunken father in the fields and also tends their small vegetable garden. In order to escape her poverty stricken life Ariel comes up with an interesting and naive plan. She asks her father's landlord, the elderly Earl of Greville, to provide her with an education so she can become a lady and in return... she will become his mistress. Of course the dirty old man agrees and sends Ariel off to school on the provision she becomes his mistress when she finishes her schooling. Over the next four years, Ariel writes weekly letters to the Earl about the progress of her studies. Little does she know that a couple of years after the agreement was made between the elderly Earl and herself, the Earl dies leaving all his possessions, his name and their agreement to his adopted, illegitamate son, Justin Bedford Ross. Without telling Ariel about his father's death, Justin continues his father's payments for her education and reads her letters. Through these letters he feels he knows Ariel better than anyone else he has ever met. When Ariel reaches eighteen, her studies are finished and she is ushered to the Earl's London, England home. Ariel who hasn't seen the elderly Earl since threir arrangement was made years earlier is delighted to learn he is out of town for a few weeks on business. This enables her a wee bit of freedom. While out sightseeing the gorgeous London streets she meets her Prince Charming. She is courted by him for a week and plans to ask the Earl to release her from their agreement. When Justin returns home from his business trip he is shocked and disgusted to find Ariel in the arms of his mortal enemy. And Ariel is dumbfounded that this handsome hunk has taken over the agreement. And this is only the beginning of the story! Kat Martin's Heartless serves up a wonderful historical romance and a must read for all regency fans. Reviewed by Jan Springer, Romantic Suspense Author ~ A Romantic Interlude

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1