Customer Reviews for

HeartMate

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    A Really Great Book!

    It was a pleasent shock to pick up the first book from Robin Owens, and find it so well written. Not only was the book different from other books, but it was fast paced, had GREAT characters, and had such a unique idea for a story line, that I was very excited to run out and buy the other two in the series. I do read a lot of romance books, and this one stands out from all the rest. It is not just a quick read that blends in with a hundred other romance books that you have picked up in the past. It stands alone, and I do believe it will find a quick place in your favorite shelf.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Excellent Start to a Series!

    This book brings a fantasy world to life. It was exciting, romantic, and addictive. I can't wait to read more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Excellent World

    The story is slow moving at times, but the world is hands-down one of the best I've ever read.

    Celta is a place I want to live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Slow

    Slow plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect!  This is hands down one of my favorite romance series a

    Perfect! 
    This is hands down one of my favorite romance series and this first book is wonderful. I love this book because it straddles the
     genres of science fiction romance, fantasy romance, and regency. 

    The magic system in this world is compelling. The world building excellent and anthropological. The character development superb.
    The heroine and the heroine always grow. And then there are the talking cats. I LOVE THE TALKING CATS! They are great comic relief. 

    I have read this book at least 10 times. Every time a new book in the series comes out, I read it and then the entire series again.  
    These a fated mate books but the love is always earned. 

    The hero is this book is great. He wants a family and love. I adore that in a hero. He is fairly clueless about how to court and get what he
     wants. He is an big strong alpha artist warrior and lord.  He is also tortured and grew up in the streets. 

    Danith is of a different class and was treated as if she had little value most of her life as an orphan and someone with little apparent
     magical talent.  She goes through a major adjustment in status during the novel. 

    The love story is sweet, sexy, compelling, and reread able

    I love it each time I read it. Dang. I want to go read it again.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Thumbs Down

    The story had a interesting plot, but the female main character was way too dramatic and annoying. She kept giving the same excuse over and over and over. It was overkill. I skipped pages just so I could finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    Interesting story lines, good character development, both male and female characters show emotional depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Do Not Miss This Book!

    Heart Mate is a great story, filled with humor, romance, danger and plenty of fun. The characters are so real, so well developed that you can see them easily. The world Owens creates is a brand new, wonderous, undiscovered place for us to play in. It is no wonder this book won awards. Definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    READ THIS BOOK!!!

    This is a great book, it has really believable characters and is the best book in the whole series. Robin D. Owen usually writes Sci-fi but she did a great job on this book. I can't say it is very original because Jayne Ann Krentz has written another series called the Ghost Hunters Series that is similar. Both of the series feature people that have abandoned earth and settled on an unknown planet. They also have people on that planet that have physic abilities and the longer they stay on that planet the bigger their powers become.But all in all I like this book and I like this series. Robin creates a wonderful land that makes you forget about your life for a while. Enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Heartmate Makes The Match!

    Wonderful for Sci Fi romantics. Thrilling and passionate. Great escape book. You won't be disappointed and will find yourself captivated by the characters and the magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2001

    HeartMate is a keeper

    Robin Owens has created a wonderful world in Celta with charactors who are so magical, they're reminiscent of old world sorcerers. T'Ash and Danith are the perfect imperfect hero and heroine and T'Ash's Fam cat, Zanth will leave you laughing with his true to life cat antics. This book definately has a spot on my keeper shelf along with any others Ms. Owen writes in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2001

    Fantasy Romance Readers, Hooray! Here's a Keeper

    Those of us who love the fantasy romance have been begging for more. At last here it is, a wonderful book by a new author. T'Ash is a wonderful, brooding and touching hero in his quest to win his heartmate Danith. You're not going to want to miss this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2001

    Very Fun to Read

    This book is lots of fun to read. The world created is so rich in detail, that I can see, hear and smell it. I enjoyed the stubborn hero and heroine as they grew into people worthy of great love. The secondary characters are also three-dimensional -- I adored Zanth - the telepathic cat. I am sure that my cats often think the same way. This book has it all. It made me laugh out loud at times, while other times I felt frustrated by the characters' actions and still other times I felt like crying. I recommend this book highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2001

    This book is not to be missed!

    I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It hooked me right at first and the intensity of the book didn¿t let up through the whole thing! This is not a light read. It is rich in details and the characters are fabulous. Zanth, the telepathic cat, absolutely stole the whole show! T¿Ash has finally discovered his Heartmate. Now all he has to do is meet her and give her his Heartgift and she¿ll fall right into his arms. He has no way of knowing what a battle it will be for his Heartmate to accept him. Danith Mallow wants a family. Her parents died in an accident many years ago and she had to go to an orphanage. She knows just who the man is she will accept if he will just ask her. Then she walks into T¿Ash¿s shop and notices him. He¿s tall, dark and looks extremely dangerous. He senses right away that she is his Heartmate but it doesn¿t work the other way. She runs from him and keeps running. Action and adventure abound until he finally gets her to realize that they belong together. This futuristic is full of magic, rogue warriors looking for trouble and lots of danger. I avidly devoured this book. I eagerly look forward to more from Robin D. Owens and have added her to my list of automatic buy authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2001

    HeartMate by Robin D. Owens

    Robin's debut novel is a combination of Futuristic, Fantasy, and romance. She's woven an incredibly fascinating world of magic and complex society into a tale of one man's determination to claim his HeartMate despite all the obstables placed in his way. Rand T'Ash is strong willed, stubborn and sometimes too impatient, and very determined to convince Danith Mallow that she's his HeartMate and they should marry. Danith has doubts, and her lack of 'Flair' (psychic magic) makes her feel she's not Rand's equal. Robin has woven the unique talent of psychic abilities into the entire plot line of this story and the futuristic society in which Rand & Danith live. Its a fast paced, page-turner, read and I loved the whole 'soul mate'(HeartMate) concept where love eventually triumps over all other obstacles. After reading this one, you'll be glad to know there will be sequels to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    HeartMate is a delight

    It is hard to believe that this is Robin's first published book. Her characters are so rich in life, and her world so well drawn out. The humor is well done, nicely balanced with the adventure and romance. Overall, a well done and delightful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2001

    Exquisite

    If you loved the world of Shield's Lady, if you love the Matrix of Destiny series, well settle down and enjoy a world equally as powerful and fascinating. A world of psychic powers, interesting and funny characters, and a love so deep it can only be found in one person...a heartmate. Revel in T'Ash and Danith's story, of physical fights won and inner worlds conquered. Ms. Owens just made my 'Must Have' list. I can't wait for sequels. And there are so many possible heros to choose from. All I can say is more, more, more!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Amusing fantasy romance

    In Druida City, Celta, Rand T¿Ash, a renowned jeweler, is lonely until his psi power, the Flair, informs him that ¿Today you will meet your HEARTMATE¿. Suddenly his adrenaline flows to extreme levels as Rand anxiously awaits the arrival at his shop the Phoenix of whom he has dreamed of forever. As he anxiously awaits her arrival, Rand pulls out of his safe his HeartGift, a special necklace for his beloved. <P>However, instead of falling into his arms as he has fantasized, Danith Mallow seems frightened of the over eager and clearly ardent Rand with his brooding sensual dark looks at her. She flees his shop and while he falls into in self-pity, someone steals his HeartGift. Now Rand must show the patience of Job (minor anachronism) while courting his reluctant beloved and seeking the stolen necklace that symbolizes everything he cherishes in life. <P>HEARTMATE is a jocular fantasy romance with a touch of mystery that showcases Robin D Owens¿ ability to combine the varying elements into an entertaining novel that engages fans of all three genres. The lead couple is a delightful duo and his familiar Zanth (don¿t even go there) adds humor and feline advice to the mix. The amusing one-sitting story line works on all levels as readers from the different genres will want Ms. Owens to return to Celta for more tales of heartmates. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2001

    Not to be missed!!!!

    For those of us who have been bemoaning the lack of new Dara Joy's Matrix books, this is the perfect book. Robin Owen's debut is outstanding. I fell in love with this strong hero and I feel that Danith, the heroine, is his perfect match. Not only was this the perfect romance for me, but Zanth (T'Ash's cat) had me in stitches. Jove please,please hurry up and publish HeartMate's sequels. I will be lining up outside my local bookstore for my copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4