BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hearts Awakening

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    Unusual take on romance makes it stand out from the pack

    Hearts Awakening by Delia Parr is a very unusual entry in Christian fiction, Ellie Kilmer knows that her dreams of having a husband and raising children of her own will never come true. At thirty-one, with an extremely plain face, she's placed her faith in God that she will find a life that will make her content. Jackson Smith has a proposition that just may fit the bill. He needs a housekeeper and caretaker for his two sons while he cares for the apple orchard on the family island just outside of town, but after just a few days, he realizes that he needs a more permanent position and proposes a marriage of convenience. Jackson is haunted by the scandal of his first wife's death, as well as by the memory of his one true love, and his suspicious nature threatens their business arrangement, but Ellie's strong faith and loving heart just may change both of their hearts. Most romance novels spend plenty of words gushing about the heroine's beauty, and the hero is often head over heels in love from the first glance. Ellie doesn't have that advantage, yet she is a heroine readers will fall in love with from the first page. Fiercely loyal and faithful, she has an beautiful heart. Parr has written a stellar romance that is truly of the heart and raises, through Jackson, the question of what true love really is.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    definitely a 5 star read

    A spiritual book that uplifts.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    A wonderful read!

    I read this wonderful historical story over two evenings and just loved it! It was hard to put diwn and I would highly recomend this to anyone!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Great story!  Great ending too!

    Great story!  Great ending too!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Highly Recommemded -

    I am almost finished reading this book and love it! I am not familiar with the author (Delia Parr) but this is an excellent book. I will definately look for her other books. This one is a real page turner!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Lovely

    This was a really sweet love story. I really enjoyed it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    A WONDERFUL TOUCHING STORY OF LOVE AND TRUST!

    HEARTS AWAKENING by Delia Parr is a wonderful, touching Inspirational Historical Romance set in 1840 Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. It is fast paced, page turning written with depth and details. It has hope, despair, hurt, anger, betrayal, secrets, mistrust, misunderstanding, faith, hardship, forgiveness, courage, love and strength. The characters jump off the page, they same so real and true. What an enduring story of love and faith. This is a sweet tender love story and the hardship, and devotion two small boys, their father and their new mother endure and come out on top. The hero,Jackson, is a widow of six months, has two small boys, is ridden with scandal of his wife's affair and death.The heroine, Ellie, is a spinster, needs work, is plain, longs for a family of her own and a home of her own. Although, Ellie is plain, has no outer beauty, she has an inner beauty of faith and spirit. Jackson asks Ellie to marry him after only knowing her for two days,She was sent by her cousin to work for Jackson as penance for learning something about her cousin. She agrees to the marriage, they set rules more for her to live by than Jackson. For he has trouble trusting her, due to the scandal around his first wife. What happens is short of a miracle. Jackson sees Ellie's inner beauty and how much she loves him,what their live together could be, his children and her undeterred faith. I would highly recommend this story, especially if you enjoy a beautiful tender love story. This book was received for review and details can be found at Bethany House Publishers and My Book Addiction and More.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    A MUST READ

    This was a unique story, well written, with good research. I enjoyed the easy read and I will recommend to my friends.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Great!

    Enjoyed the characters although i thought Jackson was really self absorded good christian message!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great book about faith, trust, and finding out that a beautiful

    Great book about faith, trust, and finding out that a beautiful heart is more to be treasured than physical beauty. Loved this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Very good

    This one evolves gtadually. Makes it more interesting. Good story and is clean reading. I like that in a book. You don,t have to skip bedroom scenes to enjoy the read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    What a wonderful love story! I loved the characters and my hear

    What a wonderful love story! I loved the characters and my heart broke for the little boys who missed their mom so much. Jackson is a wonderful father haunted by his first wife's scandalous death and trying to raise his sons. Ellie is a Christian woman who dedicated her life to taking care of her parents and when they die, she eventually takes on the role of caretaker and housekeeper on a remote island for Jackson Smith. Plain on the outside, but beautiful on the inside, Jackson marries her in an arranged marriage and by the end of the book, he finds himself head over hills in love with her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Yes!

    I loved this book! Just enough romance and just enough spiritualness. Its a clean book too. Its just overall amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Excellent

    Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Great

    Thia was a great story about faith and love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    Good story!

    I have not read anything by this author before, but I will read more by her. This story reaffirms that the beauty within is far more than the outer beauty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Page turner

    Delightful to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    Highly Recommended-good Christian story

    I could not put this book down and didn't want it to end. You will get caught up in the lives of these two and know them as you know yourself. They will become part of you. I will read the entire series and follow this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Flowing and inspiring

    Characters are warm, situations fully developed, and the message of Godly intervention in the lives of those who trust Him, are readily apparent. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    Goood

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7