Customer Reviews for

Hearts Awakening (Hearts Along the River Book #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    Unusual take on romance makes it stand out from the pack

    Hearts Awakening by Delia Parr is a very unusual entry in Christian fiction, Ellie Kilmer knows that her dreams of having a husband and raising children of her own will never come true. At thirty-one, with an extremely plain face, she's placed her faith in God that she will find a life that will make her content. Jackson Smith has a proposition that just may fit the bill. He needs a housekeeper and caretaker for his two sons while he cares for the apple orchard on the family island just outside of town, but after just a few days, he realizes that he needs a more permanent position and proposes a marriage of convenience. Jackson is haunted by the scandal of his first wife's death, as well as by the memory of his one true love, and his suspicious nature threatens their business arrangement, but Ellie's strong faith and loving heart just may change both of their hearts. Most romance novels spend plenty of words gushing about the heroine's beauty, and the hero is often head over heels in love from the first glance. Ellie doesn't have that advantage, yet she is a heroine readers will fall in love with from the first page. Fiercely loyal and faithful, she has an beautiful heart. Parr has written a stellar romance that is truly of the heart and raises, through Jackson, the question of what true love really is.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    A MUST READ

    This was a unique story, well written, with good research. I enjoyed the easy read and I will recommend to my friends.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Enjoyed this book very much

    I have never been much of a reader until recently. Needing a distraction from current events, I turned to quiet moments of reading books and am glad I came upon Hearts Awakening.

    I was not able to put this book down and spent the most of my weekend with my Nook in my hand.

    I found my self laughing out loud; my ears burning with anger; nervous with fear; crying with joy; and especially, praying for and with Jackson, Ellie and the boys.

    Hearts Awakening is the first book by Delia Parr that I have read, but it won't be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Enjoyable

    ---

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Lovely book.

    This is a very lovely story, I loved the pace of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Good Story, worth reading!!

    I enjoyed this book. It's a family &love story, written so it keeps your interest until the end!! It left me with a good peaceful feeling. I'd definetly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have just started reading Hearts Awakening, so far I am liking

    I have just started reading Hearts Awakening, so far I am liking the book. I have just read the part where the two girls meet for the first time in the field. Can't wait to read the rest of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Hearts awakening

    Very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Lovely

    Very enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Nice story

    Except for the fact that Jackson is a dense duffus when it comes to relationships & being able to love, this is a nice story. No sex, which I appreciate.

    Easy ready -- recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Lovely................................................. Heartwar

    Lovely.................................................
    Heartwarming story.  Ellie had character to spare.  Jackson was a mess but you know she'll straighten him out.  While I don't mean to nit pick why is in in every Christian book there is always one scene where the heroine is being insulted by some witchy women---usually from the church by the way and she just stands there like a  dummy and takes it.  Don't Christians have back bones.  Just once I'd like to see  the heroine tell the harpy to drop dead or go read a bible or something.  But that aside it is a well written story.  However it practically cries out for an epilogue. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    I highly recommend this book

    I loved this book. I hated for it to end, which to me indicates that it was a good book. It kept my interest all the way to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Love it

    Wonderful romance story just right read in one day 282 pgs Thank you for it was beautiful. Ms. D from Bronx,NY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Warm and tenderhearted story.

    Hearts Awakening was a tender story with an appropriate title. It delved into what real love is and whether or not it's possible to develop marital love from friendship and not mere attraction. It also went into how you can't commit to someone if your heart is connected to someone else and the ramifications to everyone in your life when you close off your heart for fear of being hurt and abandoned.

    I enjoyed this story because it really does show how the human heart works when an attachment to another person develops and blossoms into more. We all get less attractive as we age, but if we have a spouse who loves us deeply, that doesn't make the love dissipate, but it typically grows stronger if their is honesty and openness in a relationship. This story also shows how true intimacy cannot occur when there are secrets between people.

    My only complaint about this story was how slowly the romance developed. The relationship that Ellie had with the boys was precious, and I enjoyed how their family slowly began to knit together. I would recommend this book even though it's not your typical romance or marriage of convenience story. It has a different, more heart-warming feel as their hearts awaken and bond in a marriage until it becomes more than just friendship.

    What I enjoyed most about this story was how it shows that a solid friendship based on mutual respect and trust is an excellent foundation for marriage. Plus, the author's writing style was easy to read and follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hearts Awakening

    Spinster Elvira Kilmer's life has been dictated by others for as long as she can remember. Now, at the age of 31, she finds herself as a housekeeper and nanny to two motherless children. When the handsome widow she works for proposes a marriage of convenience, she sees it as a way out of the life her family intends to inflict upon her. But will this marriage truly bring the freedom she seeks or will it tie her tighter to her unhappiness? She always dreamed of a loving husband and children of her own. This marriage will offer her two young boys, but it is quite clear widower has no interest in ever loving her.

    Hearts Awakening by Delia Parr is a good read. Although it is somewhat predictable, the plot is enhanced by little twists and unique scenes that keep the story moving and appealing. The one complaint I have about this book is the lack of romance. Although it is certainly a love story, the romance department is severely lacking. This is particularly strange to me because the story has a basis that seems like it would make some romance easy to incorporate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Hearts Awakening by Delia Parr

    Ellie Kilmer is basically homeless, depending on cousins to give her shelter after her parents are dead. Plain in looks, a spinster at 31 years of age, and in need of a letter of reference to be able to find a position, she takes a temporary position suggested by the minister. Cooking, cleaning, and caring for 2 small boys, ages 3 and 5, while their father, Jackson Smith, tends his orchards. The youngest boy, Ethen, hasn't spoken since his mother's death, several months earlier.

    After a few days, Jackson asks Ellie to be his wife, in name only, so that she doesn't have to travel the several miles back and forth daily. Insulted, she first refuses, but rethinks his offer, and they go that day and marry. She finds herself falling in love with her new husband, though she never says a word. Shortly afterward, she discovers that Jackson is still in love with Dorothea, who married someone else, but who is now a widow, and returning to the area. Will Jackson have their marriage set aside, and marry his first love?

    This is a very enjoyable book, easy to follow story, and I'm glad I got a chance read it. It is wonderful for a rainy day, when you just want to sit and relax.

    I was given a free copy of this book to read and review. The opinions expressed here are my own. No compensation was given for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    Will Hearts Awaken?

    Ellie Kilmer has spent her life caring for her parents. In her thirties and well past marrying age she finds herself being shuffled off to her cousins house. He finds her a temporary job with a widower Jackson Smith caring for his two boys. After being hurt by his first wife he decides that love isn't the answer but Ellie is good with the boys and trustworthy. So he proposes a marriage between them in name only. He would have someone care for his boys and she would have a home to call her own. Can two hurting people find love together with God's help or will fear, pride and an old flame get in the way?

    I loved this story. The chemistry between the main characters was totally tangible. The emotions and feelings of Ellie and Jackson were right-on. The dialog seemed true to life. I loved the inner strength Ellie displayed and the way she trusted God through everything. She was honest with Jackson even when he didn't want to hear it but she did it lovingly. Jackson was a wonderful tortured hero. He had so many buried hurts that affected how he reacted to Ellie. But he really didn't set out to be cruel. Another thing I appreciated about this story was the fact that Ellie was a plain girl but beautiful in heart. This story kept me turning page after page. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2