Customer Reviews for

Hearts Awakening (Hearts Along the River Book #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    definitely a 5 star read

    A spiritual book that uplifts.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Great story!  Great ending too!

    Great story!  Great ending too!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Highly Recommemded -

    I am almost finished reading this book and love it! I am not familiar with the author (Delia Parr) but this is an excellent book. I will definately look for her other books. This one is a real page turner!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    A wonderful read!

    I read this wonderful historical story over two evenings and just loved it! It was hard to put diwn and I would highly recomend this to anyone!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Lovely

    This was a really sweet love story. I really enjoyed it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    A WONDERFUL TOUCHING STORY OF LOVE AND TRUST!

    HEARTS AWAKENING by Delia Parr is a wonderful, touching Inspirational Historical Romance set in 1840 Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. It is fast paced, page turning written with depth and details. It has hope, despair, hurt, anger, betrayal, secrets, mistrust, misunderstanding, faith, hardship, forgiveness, courage, love and strength. The characters jump off the page, they same so real and true. What an enduring story of love and faith. This is a sweet tender love story and the hardship, and devotion two small boys, their father and their new mother endure and come out on top. The hero,Jackson, is a widow of six months, has two small boys, is ridden with scandal of his wife's affair and death.The heroine, Ellie, is a spinster, needs work, is plain, longs for a family of her own and a home of her own. Although, Ellie is plain, has no outer beauty, she has an inner beauty of faith and spirit. Jackson asks Ellie to marry him after only knowing her for two days,She was sent by her cousin to work for Jackson as penance for learning something about her cousin. She agrees to the marriage, they set rules more for her to live by than Jackson. For he has trouble trusting her, due to the scandal around his first wife. What happens is short of a miracle. Jackson sees Ellie's inner beauty and how much she loves him,what their live together could be, his children and her undeterred faith. I would highly recommend this story, especially if you enjoy a beautiful tender love story. This book was received for review and details can be found at Bethany House Publishers and My Book Addiction and More.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Great!

    Enjoyed the characters although i thought Jackson was really self absorded good christian message!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    GREAT read

    I realize that this book is based in a totally different time than the one in which we now live. That was a time when women were condidered beneath men when it came to business and making important decisions. As a single woman of seventy plus years, I am glad that I do not live in that period because I just can not see myself relying on a male relative to take care of me or make life decisions for me. However, as a Christian, I do feel that we, as a generation of "educated" people, of which I am one, have lost our faith to turn to God when facing life's difficulties. I am glad that as an author, she chose to show how we should depend on God to help lead us in making life choices. I did not feel that Ellie was "preachy", but rather that she was merely standing up for her personal convictions. YOU GO GIRL!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Enjoyable light read

    A good story and thoughtful look at how anger can cause us to hurt those we most love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    Made me laugh and even cry a few times. Love a strong woman who

    Made me laugh and even cry a few times. Love a strong woman who loves the Lord.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    A good read

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was a good story all about seeing the person within. The ending was good. I would recommend it as a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Betsy

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Loved it.

    I loved this one! Really wholesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    I loved it!

    Such a sweet and entertaining story. I loved all the characters and there was so much reality involved. Sometimes God allows situatiins to occur in our lives to bring us to a place and people we never would have chosen on our own. In the end we are stronger and better for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Great Book

    Wonderful, wonderful, book, I highly recommend to ones that enjoy these kind of books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Recommended

    I have not read this book yet, but I have been drawn to the writer's style of writing and purpose to begin reading this soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Amazing read

    Amazing brought tears to my eyes you wont be disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Excelent

    Had not read it yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    So lovely

    This book is written very well. Very different from other books that I have read. I truly enjoyed this book. I'm sad that I finished it because it was such a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Very good

    This one evolves gtadually. Makes it more interesting. Good story and is clean reading. I like that in a book. You don,t have to skip bedroom scenes to enjoy the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3