Customer Reviews for

Hearts That Survive

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

How 1912 Titanic Sinking Impacted One Nova Scotian Lawyer

HEARTS THAT SURVIVE: A NOVEL OF THE TITANIC begins Friday April 12, 1912 out on the chilly North Atlantic. Several weeks pregnant Lydia Beaumont, a 21-year old Englishwoman, stands on deck waiting for her lover, train designer John Ancell to come on deck. When he learns...
HEARTS THAT SURVIVE: A NOVEL OF THE TITANIC begins Friday April 12, 1912 out on the chilly North Atlantic. Several weeks pregnant Lydia Beaumont, a 21-year old Englishwoman, stands on deck waiting for her lover, train designer John Ancell to come on deck. When he learns that Lydia is carrying his child, John sets in motion a Sunday evening shipboard marriage by the Captain. Also a poet, John is drowned below decks, having completed a sonnet to his wife and unborn child and sealed it in an empty champagne bottle. *** Decades later that bottle is found and makes it way to Lydia's new husband Craven Dowd (whom Lydia hastily marries after both survive the catastrophe). For years Dowd had assumed or at least accepted that Lydia's son Beau was his, not John's. Craven is President of a great U.S. railroad company created and owned by Lydia's father. Lydia is sole heiress. *** There are, of course, real life survivors of the real sinking of the RMS Titanic. Notable is Mrs Molly Brown, "the unsinkable." She played an active role in the shipboard marriage of socially prominent Lydia and John Ancell but is never heard of again in the novel after her rescue. Her inexplicable public silence is decidedly crucial to ambitious Craven Dowd's immediate cover up of the wedding -- for business reasons (he does not want the remaining Ancell family to claim a portion of the Beaumont railroad empire). *** Lydia's good English friend, wealthy Caroline Chadwick, survived the Titanic, with her maid Bess. Husband Sir William Chadwick, like so many men, was not permitted to find his way into the often underloaded rowboats. Much of this Christian Romance novel tells what happens over the next fifty years to Lydia Beaumont, Caroline Chadwick and Bess, their new loves, including Caroline's romance with Halifax lawyer Armand Bettencourt. Tragically widowed Bettencourt is persuaded by Craven Dowd to help with legal affairs newly widowed Caroline Chadwick. *** In her lifeboat in April 1915 Caroline had tended the shortly to be orphaned noble children Henry and Phoebe Stanton-Jones whose widowed father and grandmother, Titanic passengers would go down with the ship. Their father was a distinguished novelist. *** There is room in HEARTS THAT SURVIVE to wait patiently for the later lives of Phoebe and Henry, both raised by American relatives in Caifornia. Henry turned out badly but by novel's end his son found love with the granddaughter of another Titanic survivor. *** HEARTS THAT SURVIVE is complex, even sprawling. Its strongest passages describe the panic, courage and male cowardice (including Craven Dowd's) in the hours after the unsinkable Titanic scraped along an iceberg. The narrative's weaknesses include a general failure to indicate clearly the nationality of some of the key characters, compounded by the fact that Britons, Nova Scotians and American all sound alike. This is, nonetheless, a notably better than average effort and is a good sign that within another novel or two North Carolina novelist Yvonne Lehman may produce a long work of fiction even better. *** DISCLAIMER: Yvonne Lehman and I live in the same small town of Black Mountain, North Carolina, near Asheville. We are friends, although, in general, I am not a fan of Romance fiction, Christian or otherwise. -OOO-

posted by Ausonius on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Long and drawn out..... The first 100 pages or so of this book w

Long and drawn out.....
The first 100 pages or so of this book were very good and I thought I was really going to enjoy the book, however the last 226 pages were so drawn out...not sure what happened....I felt the author rushed through the first 100 pages and then decid...
Long and drawn out.....
The first 100 pages or so of this book were very good and I thought I was really going to enjoy the book, however the last 226 pages were so drawn out...not sure what happened....I felt the author rushed through the first 100 pages and then decided she needed to write more and didn't know how to write it. Half the time I had no idea what decade we were in and I was so lost...I hate to buy a book and not finish it however this book really had me skimming the pages just to get it finished. I enjoy reading books of the Titanic but this was just to long and drawn out.

posted by 2579838 on September 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Anonymous

    A great story of survial and love after a great tragedy. I loved the story it also gave us a glimpse of life whenn you have to go on without the ones you love. Trust in gods love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Good Book

    I thought it was well worth the read even though it was somewhat predictable. It was nice to read a book without crude language. Nice message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Very good highly recommend

    love to read books that are fictional but contain important info of historical facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Beautiful

    Loved this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Boring

    The beginning if the book was good, then it seemed as if the author either gave up, got tired or just didnt care. The story dragged on and on. It got very preachy almist as if a different person took over the writing. Got so boring i just skimmed pages until thankfully it was over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Good read.

    This book brought to life what the passengers on the Titanic went through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Jonathan

    I call Lt. Shadow

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Feltz

    Alright, Smith. Where do i go?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Smith to Feltz

    Result 9

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Cassie/martin

    Cassie:(Fyi,we never met befor this) We were flying to england to see to olympics (martin wuz,i was going to for an archery compotition) when the planes enginge caught on fire. I jumped out of the emergancy exit cause it was low. When the plane crashed on the islands beach i looked for stuff that would be useful when i found martin. He wasnt hurt too badly,just a sprained ankle. We found a place to camp and...well...yeah.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Jacob

    Kk.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    It's an ok book

    The story starts out slow, part 2 gets interesting and part 3 has multiple situations that are resolved in 2-3 sentences. Part 1 is what you will expect from a book around Titanic but the rest of the plot is interesting. Try your luck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    I'm having a hard time finishing this book

    It just really bores me and not only is it slow but the characters pop up every once in 40 pages. Is it really worth finishing it? I mean I'm halfway through... but can't wait to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Fabulous book

    Greatly enjoyed every part...even knowimg that the Titanic was going to sink, the author kept the story alive and worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Only for history buffs

    Sorry, I cannot recommend this. Characters are weak, story is not that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    With the hundredth anniversary of the Titanic disaster, books an

    With the hundredth anniversary of the Titanic disaster, books and movies about the event are again popular. Hearts that Survive: a Novel of the Titanic by Yvonne Lehman is one of the many new fiction titles. Among its strengths, Hearts that Survive focuses on an under-covered aspect of the tragedy – what happened to survivors after they left the lifeboats, boarded the Carpathia, and landed in New York City. In Lehman’s ambitious novel, young heiress Lydia mourns a young love, but buries her grief to make a calculated, necessary decision to marry Craven, her railroad tycoon father’s top assistant. Meanwhile a budding friendship with Caroline and her servant Bess, born on the luxurious ship and solidified on the lifeboat, grows into a true kinship. Author Lehman places much of the action in the Halifax, Nova Scotia community which undertook the gruesome task of retrieving floating bodies and possessions.



    Just as the tragedies of 9/11, Pearl Harbor, and the recent tsunamis have evoked shocked questioning of God’s presence from some, while fortifying the deepest beliefs of others, the novel’s characters voice similar reactions. Especially strongly developed was Caroline’s decision to change the focus of her life from pampered wife (now widow) to a life of service and caring. Her new life in Nova Scotia, thanks to a gentle lawyer, Armand is another of the book’s strengths. However, since the novel covers a 50-60 year span, I felt the progression of the story jumped ahead with “telling” or “relaying” of information instead of actually showing it. This was especially true in the story of Lydia and her family. The narration style of the book let’s us see or understand the thoughts of all the characters except one – Craven. It is always through Lydia’s thoughts and heart that we see Craven. Therefore many of his actions remained unclear to me. Did he love Lydia and her son unconditionally, or were his actions always calculated measures to ensure his financial and social success? In a novel which centered only on that one couple, such mysterious confusion could be a strong writing element, but in a book which covers so many different people and generations, I felt not showing us Craven’s own perspective was a flaw. I will admit that the author gave us plenty of actions and clues to consider.



    As I’ve said already, I really enjoyed the new information (new for me at least) about Nova Scotia’s role in the aftermath of the iceberg. However, on the whole, I felt the novel tried to do too much within the framework of the story. The relationship between Caroline and Bess hints at the social class shift that took place in the early twentieth century, but then Bess becomes Caroline’s housekeeper and marries. Is a change from personal maid to housekeeper really a significant social change? Later the author tackles the dark side some survivors suffered, but she does it in the span of a few pages as the life of one young survivor is pieced together by an adult son. This revelation was an important part of the “Hearts that survive” theme, but it comes too late in the novel and seems to be another add-on, not a true component of the book.



    Using the familiar 5 star rating, I’d give this a strong 3, possibly a 3.5 – certainly worth the reading time, but not my favorite read. I received an e-copy of this title for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.



    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Great story

    A little slow to begin but really well developed characters. Even when you thought you didn't like someone, she develops them so well that you understand them. She also really brings it full circle so you feel that you know the ending. Overall - a nice story that provided real entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    GOOD STORY LINE

    NICE STORY LINE EASY READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Great read

    Loved the book. It made me care about the characters. I didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    A Great Read!

    I loved every word on every page of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4