Customer Reviews for

Hearts That Survive

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome. Worth the money!

Awesome. Worth the money!

posted by danilos on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Long and drawn out..... The first 100 pages or so of this book w

Long and drawn out.....
The first 100 pages or so of this book were very good and I thought I was really going to enjoy the book, however the last 226 pages were so drawn out...not sure what happened....I felt the author rushed through the first 100 pages and then decid...
Long and drawn out.....
The first 100 pages or so of this book were very good and I thought I was really going to enjoy the book, however the last 226 pages were so drawn out...not sure what happened....I felt the author rushed through the first 100 pages and then decided she needed to write more and didn't know how to write it. Half the time I had no idea what decade we were in and I was so lost...I hate to buy a book and not finish it however this book really had me skimming the pages just to get it finished. I enjoy reading books of the Titanic but this was just to long and drawn out.

posted by 2579838 on September 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Started out great... then sunk

    This book had such a promising start; the story line and characters were well defined and interesting. But about 2/3 of the way through the book, I had the feeling that the author lost interest. It seemed like it became more of a junior high book report..... this happened, then this happened, and then this happened.

    In fact, as new generations of characters appeared there was very little character development. I found myself having trouble understanding who everyone was, how they were related, and why they were doing certain things.

    I finished the book, hoping that it would go back to its earlier details and descriptions, but was disappointed. Too bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    It's an ok book

    The story starts out slow, part 2 gets interesting and part 3 has multiple situations that are resolved in 2-3 sentences. Part 1 is what you will expect from a book around Titanic but the rest of the plot is interesting. Try your luck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    With the hundredth anniversary of the Titanic disaster, books an

    With the hundredth anniversary of the Titanic disaster, books and movies about the event are again popular. Hearts that Survive: a Novel of the Titanic by Yvonne Lehman is one of the many new fiction titles. Among its strengths, Hearts that Survive focuses on an under-covered aspect of the tragedy – what happened to survivors after they left the lifeboats, boarded the Carpathia, and landed in New York City. In Lehman’s ambitious novel, young heiress Lydia mourns a young love, but buries her grief to make a calculated, necessary decision to marry Craven, her railroad tycoon father’s top assistant. Meanwhile a budding friendship with Caroline and her servant Bess, born on the luxurious ship and solidified on the lifeboat, grows into a true kinship. Author Lehman places much of the action in the Halifax, Nova Scotia community which undertook the gruesome task of retrieving floating bodies and possessions.



    Just as the tragedies of 9/11, Pearl Harbor, and the recent tsunamis have evoked shocked questioning of God’s presence from some, while fortifying the deepest beliefs of others, the novel’s characters voice similar reactions. Especially strongly developed was Caroline’s decision to change the focus of her life from pampered wife (now widow) to a life of service and caring. Her new life in Nova Scotia, thanks to a gentle lawyer, Armand is another of the book’s strengths. However, since the novel covers a 50-60 year span, I felt the progression of the story jumped ahead with “telling” or “relaying” of information instead of actually showing it. This was especially true in the story of Lydia and her family. The narration style of the book let’s us see or understand the thoughts of all the characters except one – Craven. It is always through Lydia’s thoughts and heart that we see Craven. Therefore many of his actions remained unclear to me. Did he love Lydia and her son unconditionally, or were his actions always calculated measures to ensure his financial and social success? In a novel which centered only on that one couple, such mysterious confusion could be a strong writing element, but in a book which covers so many different people and generations, I felt not showing us Craven’s own perspective was a flaw. I will admit that the author gave us plenty of actions and clues to consider.



    As I’ve said already, I really enjoyed the new information (new for me at least) about Nova Scotia’s role in the aftermath of the iceberg. However, on the whole, I felt the novel tried to do too much within the framework of the story. The relationship between Caroline and Bess hints at the social class shift that took place in the early twentieth century, but then Bess becomes Caroline’s housekeeper and marries. Is a change from personal maid to housekeeper really a significant social change? Later the author tackles the dark side some survivors suffered, but she does it in the span of a few pages as the life of one young survivor is pieced together by an adult son. This revelation was an important part of the “Hearts that survive” theme, but it comes too late in the novel and seems to be another add-on, not a true component of the book.



    Using the familiar 5 star rating, I’d give this a strong 3, possibly a 3.5 – certainly worth the reading time, but not my favorite read. I received an e-copy of this title for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.



    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Enjoyable despite the tragedy of rhe Titanic Enjoyable

    I don't like most "christiam" novels because they tend to be much less well written and too preachy but I emjoyed thos one very much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1