Customer Reviews for

Hearts at Stake

Average Rating 4
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(224)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

great

Finished this book in less than half a day. It was a really good read. will read more

posted by danja on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fresh and fun new take on vampires

HEARTS AT STAKE, by Alyxandra Harvey, was a fresh and modern retelling of the story of Snow White, but with a *fang*tastic twist. This dual narrator book tells the story of Solage and her change into a vampire along with her best-human-friend, Lucy.

This book was tru...
HEARTS AT STAKE, by Alyxandra Harvey, was a fresh and modern retelling of the story of Snow White, but with a *fang*tastic twist. This dual narrator book tells the story of Solage and her change into a vampire along with her best-human-friend, Lucy.

This book was truly a great read. Harvey created a new history of vampires that was interesting and captivating. I liked reading this book with two narrators because they were totally different. Although most of the time I preferred to read Lucy's chapters versus Solage's. Lucy was fiesty, cheeky, and quite enjoyable to read. Plus there was the added benefit of the blooming romance between her and Nicholas. Their passionate outbursts to each other only made their sweet moments more swoon-worthy. Solage was a bit whiney at times and her changing did nothing to improve her unremarkable personality. But I did like the whole damsel-in-distress circumstance with the gorgeous and mysterious Kieran Black.

I highly enjoyed the background that Harvey created for these characters. She was very in-depth, although sometimes too much so. I found myself having to flip back and forth to distinguish the different types of vampires apart. But other than that I liked reading about the Drakes and their ancestry.

This book stands apart from other young-adult vampire books. The new lineage and history of these vampires living together and fighting humans will definitely sink its teeth into you.

posted by kittydanza on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 481 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Finished this book in less than half a day. It was a really good read. will read more

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    Just when you thought you were tired of vampire books!

    This story line has a lot of things young readers will enjoy. Action, smart wit, and family. It's so good to see the family dynamics play a big roll in this book, especially to see the mother kick butt! One that is real and not too mushy. Best friends Lucy and Solange are great and to get both their perspectives of what is transpiring is a refreshing change to the story line. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to jump in and have a good read. Can't wait for the next book.
    Taylor Raven

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible read!

    Anyone who is unsure about this book, just keep reading! When I first started reading it, I wasnt sure about it but the more and more I read it, I fell in love with this series as well as the characters; Lucky aka Lucy, Nicholas, Solange and Kieran!! I just completely love this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Action, romance, humor. . . What could be better?

    This book is an entertaininh balance of bloody battles, unforgetable kisses, and lmao humor. I read the first page and was imediatly addicted. Solange is probably the only girl that's not looking forward to her sweet sixteen.why?Because of the proficy. A girl will be born into an ancient family, that girl is to be our queen. Well, Solange is the one that fits the discription. Only, say she doesnt want to. She doesnt. To freaking bad. When she has been hunted since her birth, you would think shed be used to it. Shes not. And that is probably the worst mistake.

    Solange will have to make grave decisions in this epic battle for life. But when her life is entangled with her bff Lucy's, life over love? Friends over family? Gramma over me? Find the answers in the everlasting war of love, life, and blood.WARNING: this book cusses.ages 10+

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Great book/great series

    Love this book and the entire series. It is very popular at school too (6-8 grade). My 11 year old has read the first three and is starting the fourth soon. Vampires, friends, boyfriends, and danger. Enjoy.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I recommend anyone who loves humor; a little romance and a lot of vampire- give this series a try

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It had a different take on vampires than I've read before. There was a good amount of humor that made me laugh out loud and it had a great romance aspect. Hearts at Stake was told in a two person perspective between Solange and Lucy. I'd have to say that I enjoyed Lucy's prospective more. She was witty and fun and the tension between her and Nicholas was perfect. I found myself wanting to skip every other chapter just to read more about Lucy and Nicholas! If there were more of a connection with Solange and Kieran earlier in the book, I would have been more interested in Solange's point of view.

    It was interesting to learn the history of how the Drake family came into existence as vampires. Helena is an awesome mother and can totally kick anyone's butt who tries to mess with her family. Solange has 7 great bothers too who will do whatever it takes to protect her.

    The plot was interesting, which made for a very engaging read. I loved the humor, the romance and the kick-butt fighting from Lucy and the Drake family!

    I think this book is proof of how important blog book giveaways can be. Thanks to winning this book, I now have to read the rest of the series. Without winning this book, I may never have gotten the chance to discover this series by Alyxandra Harvey.

    I I really enjoyed reading this book. It had a different take on vampires than I've read before. There was a good amount of humor that made me laugh out loud and it had a great romance aspect. Hearts at Stake was told in a two person perspective between Solange and Lucy. I'd have to say that I enjoyed Lucy's prospective more. She was witty and fun and the tension between her and Nicholas was perfect. I found myself wanting to skip every other chapter just to read more about Lucy and Nicholas! If there were more of a connection with Solange and Kieran earlier in the book, I would have been more interested in Solange's point of view.

    It was interesting to learn the history of how the Drake family came into existence as vampires. Helena is an awesome mother and can totally kick anyone's butt who tries to mess with her family. Solange has 7 great bothers too who will do whatever it takes to protect her.

    The plot was interesting, which made for a very engaging read. I loved the humor, the romance and the kick-butt fighting from Lucy and the Drake family!

    I think this book is proof of how important blog book giveaways can be. Thanks to winning this book, I now have to read the rest of the series. Without winning this book, I may never have gotten the chance to discover this series by Alyxandra Harvey.

    I recommend anyone who loves humor; a little romance and a lot of vampire- give this series a try!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    READ IT

    this book is funny, it has action, romance.... if your a you vampire book this is definitely the book you should read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Not bad

    Intrresting tale being told from standpoint of 2 people.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    vampires

    this is a really good book. it's intresting and also it is vampire realated. i wold keep reading and reading it if i could. i cant wait for the other books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Age

    What age is it for? They really need to put the age number on!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    outstanding!

    this book had me hooked from beginng to end. with its inviting characters to it budding romances, it has heart and the since of family bonding, makes eveything seem almost unrealistic. other books are fantasic also. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Fresh and fun new take on vampires

    HEARTS AT STAKE, by Alyxandra Harvey, was a fresh and modern retelling of the story of Snow White, but with a *fang*tastic twist. This dual narrator book tells the story of Solage and her change into a vampire along with her best-human-friend, Lucy.

    This book was truly a great read. Harvey created a new history of vampires that was interesting and captivating. I liked reading this book with two narrators because they were totally different. Although most of the time I preferred to read Lucy's chapters versus Solage's. Lucy was fiesty, cheeky, and quite enjoyable to read. Plus there was the added benefit of the blooming romance between her and Nicholas. Their passionate outbursts to each other only made their sweet moments more swoon-worthy. Solage was a bit whiney at times and her changing did nothing to improve her unremarkable personality. But I did like the whole damsel-in-distress circumstance with the gorgeous and mysterious Kieran Black.

    I highly enjoyed the background that Harvey created for these characters. She was very in-depth, although sometimes too much so. I found myself having to flip back and forth to distinguish the different types of vampires apart. But other than that I liked reading about the Drakes and their ancestry.

    This book stands apart from other young-adult vampire books. The new lineage and history of these vampires living together and fighting humans will definitely sink its teeth into you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    good read

    I got this book on a whim and I really enjoyed it. it was a little disorentating at first switching between characters at first, but I ended up liking how it worked. I hope there is another book involving Lucy, she is my favorite!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    NOT HAPPY

    NEVER GOT TO READ THE BOOK
    I HAD TWO NOOK TABLETS
    BOTH QUIT WORKING
    HAD TO ARGUE TO GET MY $$$
    BACK LOST MY $$$$ ON ALL
    BOOKS AND APS ECT!!
    GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR NOOKS
    I WILL NEVER BE A BARNS & NOBLE
    FAN AGAN !!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    SUPER GOOD!!!!!!!

    This was a great book! The plot was great and so was the going back and forth from the two main girls. I think this book should be 13+ because it had A LOT of bad words. But, other than that it was great!
    DD
    Stay Beuitful:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    great book

    this was a great book. very easy to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    love it!

    love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    nice

    A good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    ****

    Best book I've read in a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Real Decent

    This came off as a different spin off of Vampire lore that really was not bad at all. The overall story was unique enough and as the narrative perspective changed between the two main sixteen-year-old girls, it approached the story well. The current day references also made for a good chuckle too. It isn't a die hard insant classic but definitely worth a good read or two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 481 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25