Customer Reviews for

Hearts in Atlantis

Average Rating 4
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Stephen King Short Stories

Heart in Atlantis was published in 1999.The collection's first story, "Low Men in Yellow Coats", formed the basis of a 2001 film entitled Hearts in Atlantis, starring Anthony Hopkins as Ted Brautigan, Anton Yelchin as Bobby Garfield, and Hope Davis as Liz Garfield. Majo...
Heart in Atlantis was published in 1999.The collection's first story, "Low Men in Yellow Coats", formed the basis of a 2001 film entitled Hearts in Atlantis, starring Anthony Hopkins as Ted Brautigan, Anton Yelchin as Bobby Garfield, and Hope Davis as Liz Garfield. Major story elements are common to the film and the story, but many of the details were changed.

This book was great!!!! It was a lot better then what I expect. The first story in the book. Low Men in Yellow Coats sets the stage of the whole entire book.The first story also allow you to meet some of the characters that will appear in the followering stories.

Anyone looking for a good book to read....please check out Heart in Atlantis!!!

posted by MaGicAllyGeNuisJ on December 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Huh?

I didn't really think this one had a plot. It just seemed to have a story that was never finished. I felt like I was left hanging at the end... maybe that was the point. It wasn't a total waste of time though, I love SK's vivid descriptions and enjoy his writing aside f...
I didn't really think this one had a plot. It just seemed to have a story that was never finished. I felt like I was left hanging at the end... maybe that was the point. It wasn't a total waste of time though, I love SK's vivid descriptions and enjoy his writing aside from the story.

posted by Mamajenns3 on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 245 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Most people find this book hard to read. Let me explain. You r

    Most people find this book hard to read. Let me explain. You read the first part of the book and get into the story then all of a sudden the second part of the book switches on you. Leaving you going what the heck? Did he just decided not to finish the first d*mn part? Bare with this one folks!!! I am not kidding you this book is such a good read if you keep with it. It is actually my second favorite book by King. I've urged my friends who gave up on this one to give it another try. Wonderful work.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Stephen King Short Stories

    Heart in Atlantis was published in 1999.The collection's first story, "Low Men in Yellow Coats", formed the basis of a 2001 film entitled Hearts in Atlantis, starring Anthony Hopkins as Ted Brautigan, Anton Yelchin as Bobby Garfield, and Hope Davis as Liz Garfield. Major story elements are common to the film and the story, but many of the details were changed.<BR/><BR/>This book was great!!!! It was a lot better then what I expect. The first story in the book. Low Men in Yellow Coats sets the stage of the whole entire book.The first story also allow you to meet some of the characters that will appear in the followering stories.<BR/><BR/>Anyone looking for a good book to read....please check out Heart in Atlantis!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great book

    This is one if the most underrated King novels. Captivating.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    J.D. on February 28, 2012

    It can't be said enough, there's nothing like a Stephen King book! Found this book to be very interesting. Very well written.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Living In The 1960's

    For those of you who lived in the 60's remember want was going on with the war and how life around you was that's in the second part. First you need players that's were you start reading. Mr. King puts a little bits of the Dark Tower series in this a great read by all means.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Different kind of Steven King

    Reminiscent of "Stand By Me". Classic Steven King characters - without the scary. Great for anyone who was around in the 60's - or who wishes they were.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Hearts in Atlantis is a Have to Read book

    Hearts in Atlantis, Stephen King, Pocket Books, 1999, 672 pgs, $7.99, 0-7434-3621-0 Have you ever loved someone so much, you never want them to leave? Bobby was put in a situation to either let that someone go or have them stay with the chance of being found. Bobby lives with his mom and never knew his father. His mom and him live in an apartment and the other room was put up for rent. When Ted came to live there, Bobby¿s mom didn¿t like him from first glance. For him it was different. Ted and Bobby started to get real close when Ted told him to watch out for everyday things. A kite stuck on a telephone wire, hopscotch drawn in sidewalk chalk, or ordinary things that normally go unnoticed was a ¿sign¿. Whenever you saw these things, it meant ¿they¿ were near. Bobby struggles as he goes through things with the love of his life, Carol and his best friend Sully John. Worst of all is his choice of whether or not to save Ted and have him leave, or to keep Ted and put him in danger. This book keeps you excited and wondering as you go through Bobby¿s feelings and thoughts. It¿s funny and enjoyable and not a waste of time. It made me look at life in a different perspective and has an ending that keeps me guessing still. If you like adventurous and funny, yet romantic, you¿ll love ¿Hearts in Atlantis¿.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 1999

    Review excerpt from Curled Up With a Good Book

    In HEARTS IN ATLANTIS, Stephen King gets in a few more pokes and jabs at his detractors, the ones who consider him a schlock-meister. They are the 'legitimate' literary establishment, 'book snobs,' but ol' SK still seems to be trying to break into their ranks. He may have done it with this collection of two long and three short stories bound by recurring characters, the lost cause of a certain police action in Southeast Asia, and that horrible, beautiful decade that defined King's Boomer generation, the Sixties. His faithful readers will recognize his New England landscape and theme of innocence lost, but these stories offer little resistance to novice King readers. HEARTS IN ATLANTIS might be considered King's magnum opus; time will tell. He's a prolific guy, sometimes brilliant and sometimes not, but man, does he know how to tell a story. There are times between this book's cover that you can almost touch the difference between the Stephen King who wrote CARRIE and the one who wrote this. It's not just fun and games and a good clean scare anymore; there's a depth to King's writing here that, while hinted at in some of his early works, has revealed itself fully in HEARTS IN ATLANTIS.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    A must read for any King fan

    Especially fans of the Dark Tower.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Excellent Read

    One of King's best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Another excellent book

    another excellent book by Stephen King. He is the master of horror. He gets into your mind and you can't stop thinking about what is coming next. In the end he leaves you wanting more. You can't beat a Stephen King book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Huh?

    I didn't really think this one had a plot. It just seemed to have a story that was never finished. I felt like I was left hanging at the end... maybe that was the point. It wasn't a total waste of time though, I love SK's vivid descriptions and enjoy his writing aside from the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    Love + Peace = Good Book

    Overall, this book was very good. The title, Hearts is Atlantis, is somewhat confusing, and would make an unsuspecting reader think that the book is a romance novel. This, after reading the book, is not the case.<BR/>Personally, I prefered the first story about Bobby, Carol, and Ted. The third story could have been eliminated entirely, as I thought that is was mainly a prelude to the fourth story. The second story was very interesting and the use of the word 'Hearts' from the title becomes more clear. The fifth and final story is simply a conclusion to the events of the other four.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Something Different

    It seems that nobody is quite sure what type of book Hearts in Atlantis is. A novel? A short story collection? What? Well, I¿ve come to the conclusion that it is a novel divided into five parts. Each part is related to the others by recurring characters. I liked most of the 5 parts, although one of them (Why We¿re in Vietnam) was odd¿ But overall, it¿s a well-written departure from Mr. King¿s usual works. I say ¿departure¿ because this book hardly contains any scary or supernatural elements. Instead it focuses on the Vietnam War and the lives it touched. However, the first part - ¿Low Men in Yellow Coats¿ - does have Dark Tower references and paranormal themes. I¿d read that part before reading the last Dark Tower installment, too. It¿ll help clear things up later on down the road. All in all, a great read, but unlike anything Mr. King has written before. That can be good or bad depending on you, the reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    Things to Consider

    My favorite Stephen King book is still 'The Stand,' and I say that only because I understand there are a lot of like minded folks out there who feel that is Mr. King's best work. For entertainment value, for an eye opening panorama of a world gone wrong, sure. It's great. But, of all the other King titles I've read and enjoyed, I would have to say that this is his most important work. I envy those who read it having read nothing else by him, particularly his Dark Tower series. The interweaving that takes place in Hearts is amazing. But for a few blatant references, the book almost falls into that category of universal that some might even consider a classic. The title story in particular. It's so simple, but it says so much. Others here have referenced 'Low Men in Yellow Coats,' as their favorite. Certainly there is no piece in American fiction that makes the reader want to pick up a copy of 'Lord of the Flies,' and start reading. I say that because I had to read 'Lord of the Flies,' of my own volition, mind you, before I could feel right about reading Hearts. Definitely worth reading if you haven't yet, and, like some of King's best, perhaps worthy of a re-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Incredible read, but with shortcomings

    This book was incredible, and the stanza 'Low Men in Yellow Coats' was some of my favorite work by King, but Atlantis disappoints me with the dropout of action after the dizzying climax of 'Low Men.' The other stories are on par with King's other work, all including his great characterization and imagination, but I felt the plot of each story and the interconnected story was dwarfed by the struggle of loyalty and self preservation by Bobby in his first appearance. Either way, this story earns 4 stars. I recommend it for 'Low Men' alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    It Stole My Heart

    I listen to alot of audiobooks due to my commute, but I found that this story put me into a time machine each time that it started. Even though I was born in the 80's, the rememberances of the 60's up through the end of the 90's struck a profound chord in my heart and even made me a bit nostalgic for a time that I had never even known. I have read almost all of Mr. King's works and this one soars above a great many of them. With the author reading a large part of this story I think it makes it even more moving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    Whoever says King can only write Horror, this book proves them wrong.

    This book was amazing. I found myself getting hooked on the characters' emotions as the impressions of joy, love, sadness, confusion, hatred, and terror sank deep into their lives. Although very different for Stephen King, it hooked me and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    Brilliant...

    Though it may be true that the 'children of the '60's' will get a little more out of this book than the rest of us, this book is a masterpiece. The opening story 'Low Men in Yellow Coats' is undoubtedly the novella we would all come to expect from King; equal parts suspense, supernatural occurances, mystery, and just plain story it's an entertaining read. However the greatest parts of this book are the stories that follow. King draws on the emotions and uncertainties that we all experience at one time or another in our lives and creates characters that seem not only real, but actually part of ourselves. This book also includes what may be one of King's greatest stories, 'Hearts in Atlantis.' There are no imaginary monsters, no made-up psychological forces - only the real ones that show up in real-life coming of age. Be warned though, it's an emotional rollercoaster of a story that will leave you smiling and crying at the same time. If you're a die-hard King connoisseur, a casual King reader, or just someone who loves an engaging story well-told - this book should be at the top of your list. Highly Recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    A great read for deep thinkers

    It was a great book, it left me thinking long after I finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 245 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13