Customer Reviews for

Hearts in Atlantis

Average Rating 4
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Most people find this book hard to read. Let me explain. You r

Most people find this book hard to read. Let me explain. You read the first part of the book and get into the story then all of a sudden the second part of the book switches on you. Leaving you going what the heck? Did he just decided not to finish the first d*mn pa...
Most people find this book hard to read. Let me explain. You read the first part of the book and get into the story then all of a sudden the second part of the book switches on you. Leaving you going what the heck? Did he just decided not to finish the first d*mn part? Bare with this one folks!!! I am not kidding you this book is such a good read if you keep with it. It is actually my second favorite book by King. I've urged my friends who gave up on this one to give it another try. Wonderful work.

posted by Kari11 on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Huh?

I didn't really think this one had a plot. It just seemed to have a story that was never finished. I felt like I was left hanging at the end... maybe that was the point. It wasn't a total waste of time though, I love SK's vivid descriptions and enjoy his writing aside f...
I didn't really think this one had a plot. It just seemed to have a story that was never finished. I felt like I was left hanging at the end... maybe that was the point. It wasn't a total waste of time though, I love SK's vivid descriptions and enjoy his writing aside from the story.

posted by Mamajenns3 on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    I'm not a child of the '60's,,,,

    so maybe that is why this book left me saying 'WTF??' I didn't tie everything together very well, and the book dragged on after 'Low Men In Yellow Coats.' Not my favorite King novel....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2001

    This book is terrible, not worth it.

    For fans of the 'old' Stephen King, don't bother even picking up this book. It is a bunch of jumbled mixed babble. It truly doesn't do him justice. The first story with the low men in yellow coats was slightly interesting, but it was all downhill after that. I kept having to put this book down, and convicing myself that i did not waste my money. By the end that idea was as fictional as these stories. After reading the book, there is no way I would go to the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2001

    Two Good Beginnings, No ending

    This book had a good beginning, but never carried it through, the second storyline was also compelling, but should have been save for a sequal or a totally different story. I was disappointed I put time into reading this through, I expected some great tie in ending but it never happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2001

    Heart of horror stopped beating!

    When it comes to Stephen king, I'm his numba one fan (move over Annie Wilkes)and have collected all of his novels in hardback. I've loved reading King's tales of horror for many years now, my first of his was Skeleton Crew, and fell in love with such works as The Stand, Salem's Lot, The Shining, Misery, It, and my all-time favorite, Pet Sematery. With each new King novel which hits Barnes & Noble (greatest bookstore in the world) I have faithfully stormed in and grabbed my copy. Now comes the hard part: Is it me, or has King gotten very boring?! It's as if he's changed into a different writer and has forgotten his old style. Can someone tell me what Hearts in Atlantis was about? I started reading it just about a year ago and finally put it down after 200 pages, still waiting for the book's first scare. Nope, not here! I then went back to King's Desperation and read that reread that, enjoying every page. Well, I recently tried reading Hearts in Atlantis once more, this time understanding that it is NOT a novel about things that go bump in the night. With that mindset, I got further, having gone back and reading the entire 200 pages again and finally finishing Low men in yellow coats. Although I still haven't a clue as to what I read, I liked reading about Ted and Bobby -- but it wasn't enough. I'm currently wading through the second half of the book, and wondering how the King of horror could stomach writing such a sleeper. He did the same thing with Bag of Bones and Insomnia. Mr. King, if you can hear me, please come back. I want your dark tales of horror. I want to read about the Undead and haunted houses. I would have preferred a sequal to IT or Pet Sematary, not Low men in Yellow coats who couldn't scare my cat. Where are you? The last true King book was It, and what a scare that was! Stop wasting the paper on such things as Hearts in Atlantis. I hope his new novel, Dreamcatchers, was written in his old style. Maybe Richard Bachman should come back from the dead -- now there's a story! Thank God for Dean Koontz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    Not Worth the 8 bucks. Big Yawn.

    Horrible!!! I love Stephen King's work, and when I saw this book on the shelf, I was excited. I bought it and took it home. I fell in love with 'Low Men with Yellow Coats', the first story. It was nice, no horror, a sort of fantasy tale. 'Blind Willie', was okay, no horror, not bad. There's no horror in this whole book, which didn't dissapoint me, but his other stories did. The stories are very loosely connected, and take place in the 60s. EVERY OTHER STORY WAS BORING!!! I read every word, and felt cheated. It was boring. It had its moments, but this is one book that's going to the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    First S.K. read

    After watching the Green Mile I decided to read one of S.K. books, while he is an outstanding writer, I was dissappointed in the way the book switched from story to story. I wanted to hear more about Ted & Bobbie. Most of the stories were somewhat interesting, but I kept hoping it would return to the original one. My next read will be Bag of Bones and I hope it will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    What Happened?????

    I really like Stephen King and his writing but this book made no sense to me. It was very hard to follow with the three different stories. I was actually quite disappointed in this book after reading Mr. King's Bag of Bones. I personally do not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    Hearts In Atlantis

    I really enjoyed the first story in the book, but it never seemed to finish the story. What ever happened to Ted? The second story was pretty good too but it got boring in some parts and it just seemed like the next two stories were really un-related to the rest of the book. The end was kind of interesting though. Anyway, I guess it's an ok read, but I wouldn't recommend buying it... it is not worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    A boring disappointment ....

    I have been a lifelong Stephen King fan and have read every one of his books. Regardless of what you may have thought about his books or his writing, he was never boring. Unfortunately, that can not be said about his last two offerings, The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon, and Hearts in Atlantis. It seems that Mr. King has given up his storytelling skills in an attempt to be considered a 'serious' writer. Well, I read his books to be entertained, if I wanted serious writing there are other authors who fit the bill better than Mr. King. Stephen, you are the master storyteller and thrill writer, please focus on the talents that made you the successful writer you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1