Customer Reviews for

Hearts in Atlantis

Average Rating 4
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Stephen King Short Stories

Heart in Atlantis was published in 1999.The collection's first story, "Low Men in Yellow Coats", formed the basis of a 2001 film entitled Hearts in Atlantis, starring Anthony Hopkins as Ted Brautigan, Anton Yelchin as Bobby Garfield, and Hope Davis as Liz Garfield. Majo...
Heart in Atlantis was published in 1999.The collection's first story, "Low Men in Yellow Coats", formed the basis of a 2001 film entitled Hearts in Atlantis, starring Anthony Hopkins as Ted Brautigan, Anton Yelchin as Bobby Garfield, and Hope Davis as Liz Garfield. Major story elements are common to the film and the story, but many of the details were changed.

This book was great!!!! It was a lot better then what I expect. The first story in the book. Low Men in Yellow Coats sets the stage of the whole entire book.The first story also allow you to meet some of the characters that will appear in the followering stories.

Anyone looking for a good book to read....please check out Heart in Atlantis!!!

posted by MaGicAllyGeNuisJ on December 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Huh?

I didn't really think this one had a plot. It just seemed to have a story that was never finished. I felt like I was left hanging at the end... maybe that was the point. It wasn't a total waste of time though, I love SK's vivid descriptions and enjoy his writing aside f...
I didn't really think this one had a plot. It just seemed to have a story that was never finished. I felt like I was left hanging at the end... maybe that was the point. It wasn't a total waste of time though, I love SK's vivid descriptions and enjoy his writing aside from the story.

posted by Mamajenns3 on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Huh?

    I didn't really think this one had a plot. It just seemed to have a story that was never finished. I felt like I was left hanging at the end... maybe that was the point. It wasn't a total waste of time though, I love SK's vivid descriptions and enjoy his writing aside from the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    shomanchristian

    it was a very mixed book. it was good overall, but very confusing at time of what you are reading. i liked the story about bobby, the low men and ted the best. was interesting and mixed the other real short stories were bland and not realy interesting. could not keep me entertained enough to make me want to read more though. that was kind of depressing because thats what i look for in a book. a book to keep me reading and interested. over all it was ok some stories good some bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    decieved

    i was decieved by this book. yes i was because the story has a huge influence by the Dark Tower books. moreover to understand this book in total we have to read another book named 'regulators'. however the story about Billy i guess was Brilliant. and the writing style is also brilliant. SK is really great in that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2001

    Its OK

    I have liked most of the Stephen King books that I have read (11) except Gerald's Game. This one however wasn't among his best. The fault was with the last segment where things didn't tie in together and really strange things, such as kitchen appliances falling from the sky, was over the line. On the whole I like the novels that King writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    Not quite

    Read Evolution by Jennifer MacDonald intstead. Not King's best work, parts were good, the first half was great but it just didn't go anywhere. I still love King though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2001

    Not soo good

    Stephen King has for a LONG time been my favorite author and I have only been disappointed with one other book of his, Gerald's Game. Hearts in Atlantis is a good book, but poorly put together. It skips from one story to another and while it somewhat comes together in the end it still leaves you wondering. It had a good first story but just it just ENDED in the middle of the climax, you don't even get to find out who the low men were or where they were from, and in the end I don't think it was really relevant to the other stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2000

    What was this book about?

    As a huge fan of King, I look forward to any new book that he puts out. And after spending many late nights reading this book and not being able to put it down, I must say, as a story it was surely lacking something. However, I realized that I had just been mesmerized by one of the greatest authors of all time. For he was able to hold my attention for over 500 pages filled with a story.....about nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2000

    On Vietnam

    While I enjoyed Low Men in Yellow Coats immensely the rest of these stories, while imaginative and well written - did not have a legitimate ring. For excellent reading on Vietnam, I recommend 'Gunning for Ho' by H.Lee Barnes. Low Men in Yellow Coats is by far, the best story in this collection. Though, King seems to be getting slightly campy lately. Overall this was a not-unpleasant read. If you are a King fan, it should be on your list. If you want to read entertaining and well-written stories on Vietnam by an author who was there, read 'Gunning for Ho'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2000

    Losing His Touch..

    I've read a hoard of Kings books.. but this one lost me. I guess since I wasn't a child growing up in the sixties and hippie days, hearts and peace signs were not a part of my geographical setting. I've had this book since December, and I still haven't finished it.... It just doesn't grab me. I'm hoping his next book will take me to the places his characters go since this book certainly has not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    Clever story telling, but a bit whiney at times

    While I found it Heart to be cleverly told, King's description of his character's reaction to Vietnam is a little annoying. If one wants to read about Vietnam, one should read the The Things they Carried by Tim O'Brien. I've read several accounts of Vietnam Vets reaction to Vietnam, and by comparison, King's accounts is a little pretentious. However, I liked the supernatural element in the story, and King does a good job of weaving it throughout the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2000

    Good, but the magic is gone!

    The title says it all. I began reading King in the 70's and started with The Stand. Since then I have read every new book of his, but nothing ever came close. (except The Shining). They are all good reads but there is something missing and I can't pinpoint it. Everytime there's a new one I hope to find the magic again but to no avail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2000

    this is my review

    This book took me a while to get into it. It was interesting but he kept switching characters and it was kind of confusing. I really didnt get the point that he was getting at untill the very end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2000

    Interesting

    Maybe it's true that there are only so many good books in an author, no matter how good he is. Stephen King is one of the most prolific authors of all time, but quantity is starting to take its toll on quality. Although not a bad book (like his recent 'The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon'), Hearts in Atlantis just seemed to miss the mark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2